Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1900 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

Chang from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in July 2016
Decent and convenient place for trip in Shanghai, good price
Close to subway exit, convenient for business trip which office is near Shanghai railway station and convenient for train to other cities.
Reviewed August 02, 2016

Shimhaz from Maldives
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Great hotel, great location
It was a short stay and I didn't use most of their facilities. Near to railway and metro. Food and shopping walking distance. Helpful and attentive staff...
Reviewed July 31, 2016

John from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Ideal hotel for Shanghai
I have stayed at other hotels nearby but decided to give this one a try for a weekend. It was great, very high standard, good room, facilities in the hotel are excellent. Conveniently located close to the main railway station, in fact Exit 5 of metro is within a few metres of the hotel entrance. I will be using this hotel on future trips.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

cheri from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
staff were so accomodating and friendly.
Hotel service is superb.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Bhavishya from India
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Excellent location and facilities
Located right outside the Shanghai Railway Station, this Grand Mercure has everything you would expect from a hotel of this class. No issues at all.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

Abhishekh from India
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
Minor Hiccups
I thought we made a mistake by choosing this hotel upon our arrival because there was no bell service to take our luggage into the hotel from our taxi, we took it in ourselves! And the bell boy servers when I walked in saw were very busy with their mobile phones. Anyways, we went in and were checked in by Liang Ying (Laurel) whom I informed about the problem and was quite apologetic and started getting things in order. But that I guess was just my bad luck because from thereon, all staff were extremely polite and friendly. Room service was quite swift and to my surprise the bell service was extremely efficient with Jerry being most helpful to us. I must also say that the bathrooms were excellent and the shower gel is really a detoxifying gel as stated on the bottle. Beds were very cozy for a good night sleep; though, I did have a hiccup with the heating and was advised that the air cons only gave out hot air, and therefore I would need to open the windows, but that just made the room on our 15th floor noisy because of the traffic and constant honking of cars (normal in china) on the nearby road. But I was able to take out a solution by leaving the windows open while we were out and closing them just before we slept. The hotel is next to an underground station which is good to know even though we didn't use it. Overall a good stay and would like to stay here if the above problems are taken in consideration and improved upon.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

Soyeun from South Korea
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Good
Except service
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Paul from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 9 nights in June 2016
Good, not great
Highs: Location (right above Line 1 subway), Very helpful front desk, concierge, and restaurant staff, accommodation for the price, decor Lows: Room cleaning could use improvement, small gym, pricey room service Summary: Enjoyed my stay - very convenient location and easy to get around from the hotel. Breakfast was very tasty, especially for the price. OK selection of teas in the room, very nice decor in the lobby, hallways, and room. However, I suspect there was mold in the bathroom ceilings of my room and the bed turn service didn't always result in the cleanest of bedding and pillows. Literally got to my stomach after a few days (I narrowed down other causes - definitely believe it was the bathroom cleanliness). Also, ventilation in the room left something to be desired unless I opened the windows - not a great idea in the rainy season with mosquitoes and such. Climate control adjusted to my liking quickly though. I'd recommend the property, with an asterisk. Please deep clean the rooms and improve quality control with housekeeping.
Reviewed July 09, 2016

Hadi from Indonesia
Family with older children
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Good but not a 5 STAR Hotel
Good location, especially the easy access to Metro Station and plenty of option for food & shopping around & across the hotel. The WiFi connection is great from my room. But for a 5 STAR Hotel I expected more. The TV didn't have many option for international channel. My room need a bit of maintenance care, especially for the furniture. For me it is a good stay & a good hotel but definitely not a 5 STAR Hotel.
Reviewed July 08, 2016

sukinanto from Indonesia
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2016
Very good place to stay
Nice place to stayyyyyyyyy
Reviewed July 06, 2016


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: