Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1206 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Stephen from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Aceptable but dated hotel
location, club lounge drinks, starbucks
Great location if you like shopping. Hotel is OK, but the rooms are a little dated, even on the club floor. Only bath with shower head and curtain, no shower cubicle. Old fadhioned looking furniture and dark rooms. room service is fast. Breakfast was not very appealing, but there is a starbucks next door whuch i used instead of the hotel breakfast
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Margaret from United States
Family with older children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
We loved our stay. Thank you!
English speaking staff, internet, proximity to metro
Yes!
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Boon from Australia
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Amazing.
Fantastic staff, clean and great rooms!
I cannot rave on enough about how amazing the staff were at Howard Johnson. I would recommend them again and again. They helped us out with so much. I would not stay with anyone else in Shanghai.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Richard from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Our visit to Shanghai
The hotel is ideally located for access to the Nanjing Road shopping street. With every cuisine at our fingertips and the amazing bund river scenery just a short walk away
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Kian from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
convenient and comfortable
clean, friendly service, safe.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

JILL from United Kingdom
Couple
Club
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Fantastic
location, location, location
Great stay, room of a very high standard. Metres from Nanjing Road shopping.
Reviewed June 06, 2013

Thomas from Australia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
average
nothing was good
Hotel was a big let down, expected more, old and warn out.
Reviewed June 04, 2013

Mary from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Very nice hotel in middle of city
Near English language bookshop in Fuzhou St, near subway station, middle of city
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nigel from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Nice hotel & Staff, made my stay comfortable.
Staff , location , transport
Good stay overall. Pleasant staff who could accomadate a slightly later checkout. Central location, just 2 mins walk to shopping areas/food. Good place overall, recommanded !
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Maria from Philippines
Family with older children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Worth it!
location, fast internet, clean rooms
Our stay was very pleasant however there were just some miscommunications during the booking. Our flight arrived past 12 midnight, and it said that the earliest check-in is at 12am (12 midnight right?) however, they still counted it as the date before so we weren't set to check in until later that day which is at 12pm (12 noon). We booked a day short because of that incident, so we had to pay a regular room rate because how else will we sleep in Shanghai? The temperature was so cold. It was a good thing that the front desk was accomodating, even though they were fully booked, they arranged for us to sleep in one of the smoking floors instead for just the night, and we transferred to our real room at 12 noon that same day as well. I love the location, the facility, the free wifi in every room, and most importantly, the clean rooms. I will definitely stay here again once we go back to Shanghai!
Reviewed May 24, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: