Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1205 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

LOH from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Great location & service staff
Walking distance to Nanking Street
A good 4 star hotel which is located near to Nanking Pedestrian Street. Rooms are slightly aged but still comfortable though. I do feel that the rooms are not brightly lit. Bathrooms are spacious too.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Siang from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed one night in November 2012
Great location but hotel badly needs a refurb
Close to the Bund and shopping districts
The Howard Johnson hotel is a very affordable hotel in a great location. However, the rooms are quite old and are lacking compared to other 4-5 star hotels. Even though we got a free upgrade, we were disappointed with the quality of the room. Staff, however, are very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Prakrong from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
nice hotel with good location
good location just cross the road to Beijing Lu
This hotel is in good location. We can walk for a few minutes to Beijing Lu for shopping, seeing the local people's activities, such as singing, dancing, ect.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lihan from Taiwan
Business traveler
Business Suite
Stayed 6 nights in October 2012
Great local and good hotel
location and service
The hotel has very good location where only 5 min walk from the metro station. The room is quiet, clean and big. The staff are friendly and helpful. The swimming pool and gym are also recommended. Good hotel for business tavel and vacation. The price is not so freindly but it is worth.
Reviewed November 09, 2012

corazon from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
A hotel i n a great location.
Clean and accessible to all interesting places in Shanghai.. We were upgraded without charge and with. view of the Nanjing Road. Perfect!!!
Cons. We were made to ride a car rental limousine in the airport when we asked for the hotel's transportation. The hotel car for the two of us would have cost Yuan 400 instead of the 600 we were charged. Also the concierge gave us wrong information about the Big Bus Tour which was only 300 yaun and was persuading us to take their travel agency friends for yuan. We felt that we were were being ripped off. The male concierge was even telling us that theBig Bus is only for an hour and we will not be able to see anything. He was trying to make money at our expense and was unaware that we have traveled all over Europe and the Americas as well as Asia, using the BIg Bus for touring major cities.
Reviewed November 09, 2012

KIFAH from China
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed one night in October 2012
good
good
Pay the bit extra for a river view well worth it to be able to sit on the big balcony and watch Bangkok and ask for a high floor ! Very comfy well equipped room.
Reviewed November 06, 2012

Mark from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Great location, staff very helpful
Pool was warm gym was great
Stay was very delightful. Location is accessible and staff very helpful. Nanjing road is but a Stone's throw away. Other sites are minutes away. Mints at the counter were yummy also. Check in was fast and room service fast. Hotel is very safe and secure. Card key necessary to reach floors.warm pool is definitely a plus on a cold day.
Reviewed November 06, 2012

Kate from Australia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2012
Great location, very comfortable
Location
This was in an ideal location - close to an MTR station and adjacent to the hustle and bustle of nanjing Road. The staff were friendly and helpful whilst staying in the background. The room was large enough to be comfortableand had everything I needed.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Edna from Canada
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2012
Nice hotel in a great location
Good service
Good service from attentive staffs. Location is centrally to everything. Hop on hop off bus stops in front of hotel. Restaurants everywhere. 20 mins walk to the bund.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

philippe from France
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
superb hotel, lovely rooms
perfectly located, very helpful staff
a high end hotel, nicely located in Shanghai (10 minutes from Huangpu River, 5 minutes from People's square, by walk) front desk staff speaks good English and is very helpful Rooms are nicely decorated, big and comfortable Indoor swimming pool is huge and very clean Price is reasonable
Reviewed October 30, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: