Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1203 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Tjerlang from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Great location, one step to shopping area
Most staff speak reasonable English. Really luxurious hotel and room at great value.
Loved this place! The room was beyond comfortable; it was luxurious and a real treat to stay in. The food was wonderful and excellent value for money. Excellent internet and skype connection. Great set up for the business traveller with desk and comfortable chair to work with. Service was excellent. Attractive city as well.
Reviewed August 05, 2012

Michael from United States
Family with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Great Location by Nanjing Lu
Very nice lobby and executive lounge
Check in was flawless. We were greeted by a small duo siging in the lobbey when we arrived. Not a top notch group but nice to be greeted with a little activity. The room was slightly worn but still in decent repair and condition. The restaurant had a nice breakfast with plenty of international choices. Lunch was even better but you pay for it. Didn't try the dinners other than room service which was acceptable but not perfect. We paid for the club floor but there really was no benefit there other than the evening drinks and snacks. Not open for check in or check out during our stay and also not open for breakfast. If you have a couple of drinks there I suppose it would pay for itself since they do have international brands.
Reviewed August 01, 2012

Jaspreet from India
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed one night in July 2012
Great location with subway access
Crowded area
Rooms were excellent. Staff responded fast for any help. Rooms were free of smoke smell very good & rare to find in China.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Jaspreet from India
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed one night in July 2012
Superb hotel & excellent service
crowded markets
Superb hotel with polite staff. Staff talks fluently in English & helps for any information
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Gottfried from Germany
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
good value for the money
very central location
The Howard Johnson is located in the center of Shanghai and is a very good starting point for exploring the city (in walking distance to the Bund and other sights, near a metro station). Nanjing Road is bustling day and night, but the hotel takes away all the street noise and asures a relaxing stay. The staff is friendly and surprisingly familiar with English.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Cristina from United States
Family with older children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
great location and clean hotel rooms
free wifi and wired connection; clean and organized; great location
lovely hotel in a great location. located right by people's square and near a metro line. clean hotel rooms with free internet connection. i'd stay here again.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Susan from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Good Location and courteous staff.
Location and accessibility
We had a nice stay at the hotel. the location is good since it is near the subway station, park and shopping. We had an experience of trying to find a particular store and was searching for it for almost 2 hrs. We are all wet because of the rain. Its a good thing that the hotel is just parallel to Nanjing road and we were able to hurry up and change our wet clothes. The rooms are also clean and spacious. If I were to return to shanghai, i will still choose Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. I even recommended it already to my relative.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Paul from Hong Kong
Group
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great location
Nice location
Located In the centre of shanghai close to the shopping and eating places. Room size is great and toilet bathroom all clean. The draw back is that the bath towel provided is a bit worn out and yellowish. generally speaking I expect a bit more from this hotel.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

david from Australia
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in July 2012
great location and very helpful people
helpful and easy to get around from near underground
the place was very clean front desk was easy to check in and people showed to room and the gym pool was very clean and well managed for after work relaxation shopping close bye if you want and lots of places to eat at and easy to take taxi and a good place to have business meeting in hotel .
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stephen from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012
Good Location
Comfortable Rooms
On my previous stays at this hotel I commented that the internet turned off at 9pm. Well this time I was located on the Club Floor and had no problem with speed or connection. Either the hotel fixed the problem, they had fewer guests or this level had better service. I also found out that they keep the breakfast cereals in two places, so if you don't immediately see what you want then look over on the opposite side and you will find a different selection. Anyway it was a good stay and everything worked as it should and the limousine transfers all happened as planned. The Club lounge was not open for breakfast but I got free breakfast down on level 1. The reservations staff always follow up Airport limousine transfers via email a couple of days before and they are always pleasant to deal with.
Reviewed July 22, 2012


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: