Very good 7.8
Based on 606 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 606 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food and dining 7.1
Sort by

Van from United States
Couple
Executive Club
Stayed 4 nights in August 2012
nice hotel near to shopping
Beautifullyu appointed hotel and conveniently located
We stayed at this hotel for three nights, four full days. It is a very nice hotel located close to Xientandi, the JingAn Temple and even the Bund. The taxi was relatively cheap and accessible. We reserved for Executive Floor privileges, which is a little bit more, but was well worth it, with free internet, drinks and breakfasts. The privacy and tranquility of the Executive Club was well worth the money.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Van from United States
Couple
Executive Club
Stayed one night in September 2012
Very Nice Hotel
Conveniently Located
I love the convenience of this hotel, which is close to most of the major attractions in Shanghai. I would highly recommend this Hotel for any business or leisure traveler, especially with the Executive Club Floor, which is a little more expensive but well worth the extra perks that will more than compensate for the value of what you are getting for. I would come back to this Hotel again the next time I am in Shanghai.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Christopher from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Hot Deal
Stayed one night in September 2012
Older luxury hotel
Location is great, train is right there, and many many options for food, drink, etc.
it's a very nice place, but priced lower than other '5 stars' because it's a little old. still well maintained, but has the older bathroom design and lighting, etc in the rooms. good gym. $20 for wi-fi in the rooms, is a joke though.
Reviewed September 08, 2012

Guan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed one night in August 2012
Centralised located in Shanghai city
Convenient for shopping, business meeting or food.
Continued ranked to be one of the best hotel in Shanghai after operated for so many years. Overall feeling are good when staying in this hotel. Excellence in customer service.
Reviewed September 04, 2012

Alexis from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Grand
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Good hotel in a busy area
Good views of downtown
Hotel is clean and efficient and once you're inside you could be in any western chain hotel group in the world.
Reviewed September 02, 2012

Nicha from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed one night in August 2012
Good location
Location
This hotel is located in very good area for our business trip. Easy to find restaurant and near shopping center too.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Robert from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Amazing layout big rooms
great feel, great gym, big
Everything beat expectations here. Big room, ritz carlton feel, helpful staff. definately worthy of 5 star status. Would stay here again on business, but for leisure i prefer to be closer to xin tian di. (this hotel is 5 to 10 minutes by taxi)
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed one night in August 2012
Beautifl hotel with friendly and helpful staff
Lobby, nice rooms, helpful English speaking staff
Really enjoyed staying at the JC Mandarin Hotel due to the staff who always over-delivered on everything. Rooms are well-appointed and room service was of a high standard. Would stay again!
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Khalifa from Qatar
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 8 nights in August 2012
Very friendly
friendly, generous with amenities, clean
I had a very nice experience at the hotel overall. The location is fantastic. I used to come to Shanghai twice a year and this was the first time I used JC Mandarin. I wish I had used them before! Of course the tipping point for my decision was the great discount through Agoda (seriously). Check-in was very slow though. They had two people in reception each serving someone, and it took ages... they need to speed this up. All staff always greeted with a good morning and good evening. Concierge tried to be helpful. A few annoyances. I upgraded to their 'new' refurbished rooms and I hate the bathroom. It's like an open bathroom. No doors and the shower is all glass. So if you're with someone, it's embarassing using the toilet. I was in the toilet when room service tried to enter and it was like a moment of panic. The hot water seems to be shut off late at night. (or there wasn't enough hot water to the room. I had ordered special Mandarin Moon-cakes, was told they'd be ready in 4 days. On the 4th day I was told I had to wait until the next month. I was very annoyed because I wondered how many guests stayed more than 2 weeks! I ended up getting a refund but that was after getting the manager, duty manager, then the director of F&B involved. They were all friendly and apologetic but it was just a shame. They did put a bowl of fruit in the room as an apology. Everything else though was very nice. Umbrellas in the room for when it rained, generous with amenities, and sometimes I'd get some free gifts. Overall, they're professional, great location, I got a great deal, and polite. I recommend this hotel without a doubt.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mathew from India
Family with older children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Very good hotel
Restaurants, spa and bar
we enjoyed our stay very well. the hotel is very good and neat and value for money.
Reviewed August 26, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: