Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 77 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 6.8
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food and dining 6.6
Sort by

Bart from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2010
Simple but Adequate.
Very close to the metro-station. right next to the entrance of the hotel.
Area around the hotel a bit dull, no shops or restaurants.
Simple but adequate hotel. Located next to the subway. The room has a good size and we had two big twin beds but still there was enough space for luggage and some chairs to relax on. Free internet available in the room and there where everyday 2 free bottles of water. The bathroom was a little bit out dated but in good working condition.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Lew from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2010
Hotel location is great, Easy Access to Subway
The location of the Hotel Zhao An is very convenient, just next to the subway. Staff are friendly. A good place to stay. Just two stops to people's square.
Appearance is bit old but clean.
The hotel which is situated next to the subway gives travellers the conveniences to move around to other locations for sight seeing and shopping. There is also a bank of China just across the street which is convenient to change $ notes. However, there is no good stalls for food but just bakery stall. Staff at Zhao An was very friendly, when I requested for a taxi to the airport, the bell boy went out to the street to get one into the hotel and of course helped to load the baggage. Importantly, there is an internet access for free. Hilton Hotel charged RMB 160 per day.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Pee from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Pleasure for Budget Minder
Close vicinity to the metro station, Helpful staffs and concierge
Faulty toilet door, old Furniture
Situated in a close vicinity to the Hanzhong Rd metro station makes it a very attractive choice. It is merely a stone's throw away from exit 4 of the station and thus very easy to locate. Helpful staffs who submitted to your request also made the stay very pleasurable. There is this roadside hawker which serves delicious lamb kebab. This made an excellent supper before you head up the hotel.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Pee from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2010
Pleasure for the Budget MInder
Close vicinity to the metro station
Faulty toilet door, Friendly staffs and concierge
Situated in a close vicinity to the Hanzhong Rd metro station makes it a very attractive choice. It is merely a stone's throw away from exit 4 of the station and thus very easy to locate. Helpful staffs who submitted to your request also made the stay very pleasurable. There is this roadside hawker which serves delicious lamb kebab. This made an excellent supper before you head up the hotel.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Pang from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Old hotel
Besides subway station 2 stations away from People's Square (Nanjing Road)
Old hotel No shopping area and restaurant nearby
Zhao An Hotel looks old and sounds old. When we checked in, the room's air conditioner rattled loudly. So we asked for another room and changed to a smoking floor. The new room somehow felt better, without any smoke smell. However, the toilet smelled like a shirt in sweat. The water shower shot out in straight line. This made it hard for shower. There were several big stain on the floor carpet too. Overall, the room has old design with several cupboards and a bulky old TV.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Raymond from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2010
Nice
Near railway station and Metro, clean and spacious
bit far from city centre
It was a lovely 2 night stay in Zhao An hotel. The room was spacious and the rate i paid was great for such facilities. Its nearby the railway station which is convenient for me to travel by train. Besides, the location just next to the Hanzhong Lu metro was excellent. The staffs were friendly. One only setback is there isnt any convenient store nearby. If you are hungry at night, u have to buy food back before going back to hotel as the Metro closes at 11pm so you are practically stranded in the hotel with no where to go
Reviewed May 09, 2010

Peck from Singapore
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2010
Good location for budget travel
Ideally located near to Shanghai railway station. About 15-20 mins walk. There is a metro exit(3 mins walk) behind the hotel. Staff are helpful and friendly. Room is clean and good.
I can't think of any weakness since i only stay one night.
I would comment that this is an ideal hotel to stay on a budget trip. Strategic location if you have plans to travel to other parts of China via railway trains. Even it's about <20mins walk to railway station, i still take a cab since i have luggages to carry around. Taxi is so cheap anyway. There are alot of restaurants, food outlet opposite the railway station for you to choose. You can explore nearby, there is quite long stretch of very old building, you get to see the traditional market.
Reviewed May 05, 2010

kowi from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2010
Reasonable Price & Convenient Location
Situated next to entrance of metro station
Not too many restaurant around
A local 3 star hotel that is reasonably priced for a budget traveler. Staff were friendly and the room was better than expected, reasonably clean but can be better with some renovation. It is definately value for money and it's a good bargain. Can consider if u have a tight budget
Reviewed April 06, 2010

Tomohiro from Japan
Business traveler
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2010
economy oriented hotel
right on the subway station. Basically clean
no food & drinks available after 23:00. Even no vending machine. No drink or snack in the room either. Very inconvenient at night. All the staff except the front desk disappear after 22:30. Also the interior is very old. Wall paper in the room is peeling off. The carpet has got many old stains in the room and hall ways everywhere. Although they seem to clean well, these old interiors made me feel no so clean.
The price is great. You get what you pay for. Although the location (right above the subway station seems convenient, there is no store open after 23:00 in and near the hotel. I checked in the hotel late in the evening. I had nothing to eat, but the water bottles left in the the bathroom. I was too tired to go out by taxi to get something eat. I wouldn't stay there again. I would rather pay $30 more, and stay at a more convenient hotel at a more convenient location.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Leong from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009
Great Hotel!
Directly above a metro station and value for money
Location - nothing of much interest and lack of food shops
The best feature of this hotel is its location directly above the metro station. The rooms are clean, with good amenities and facilities including television and cabled internet connection. However it is quite hard to find food outlets in the nearby vicinity and after dark there is nothing of much interest to do
Reviewed February 21, 2010


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: