Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 821 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.3
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.3
Sort by

John from United States
Solo travelers
Double Bed Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2014
Acceptable guesthouse
location, price, cleanliness
My stay was acceptable. I never saw the owner at all; he has turned the daily operations of the guesthouse over to non-Chinese immigrant assistants. They were nice, but were constantly socializing on the phone in the guesthouse(loud!) which made it hard to rest/concentrate in my room.
Reviewed November 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Ollie from Australia
Business travelers
Triple bed room (1 Double + 1 Single)
Stayed one night in November 2014
Cheap in a good location
Location, price, quiet.
Well, we originally booked with New China Yan Yan, but ended up in a different part of the building in a place called New York Guesthouse. I assume the both were owns by the same people. The rooms would be the same. The only drawback worth mentioning is the lift access, which takes a bit of queuing to get in. Beds were pretty hard, which included the pillows. After all the price was at the bottom of the Hong Kong scale so one shouldn’t expect much at that level.
Reviewed November 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Luke from Australia
Solo travelers
Single Bed Room
Stayed one night in October 2014
Good place for a short stay
Easy Access to public transport, food, close to avenue of stars
It was nice but the local people that are trying to sell you watches and asking if you could make a suite and such.
Reviewed November 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Margaret from Philippines
Families with young children
Triple bed room (1 Double + 1 Single)
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
accessibility
clean, accessible, near commercial center
plesant stay
Reviewed October 31, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Sibin from India
Solo travelers
Triple bed room (1 Double + 1 Single)
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Suitable for solo travellers!
Cleanliness, Location and staff
Gr8.....value for money.
Reviewed October 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Eroll from Philippines
Solo travelers
Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
LOCATION & VALUE FOR MONEY
Location, Value for money, Air-conditioning
Over all it was okay, we arrived 10am in the morning of sunday but the guy told us that every sunday the check in time is at 5pm, they secured our luggages and we roam around the city for 7 tiring hours. the elevator was a disaster, it would take you 10 to 15 minutes in rush hour going up or down because the elevator can only accommodate 6 to 9 guests at a time, but if you're lucky it only takes 2 minutes to do so. but overall in terms of cleanliness and safety it was okay, location is superb because it's in the heart of the city, all in all our stay was great, comfortable and affordable, but if you have extra money for accommodation, don't choose any hostels in chungking mansion, there are lot of cheap hotels along nathan road you just have to add a little more.
Reviewed September 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

ashpak from India
Business travelers
Double Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
nice but small
location, value for money
Reviewed September 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

sai-kuen from Hong Kong
Business travelers
Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Convenience , good service
Servise, location, timing
Reviewed September 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Grace from Taiwan
Solo travelers
Twin Bed Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Totally fine.
Location is great. The service people is very kind and helpful. Toilet is small but clean, that's OK.
Reviewed September 05, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Tauney from Canada
Couples
Double Bed Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
a place to sleep, shower, and keep your stuff
location, cheap price, cleanish
It was one of the cheapest places I could find in Hong Kong without resorting to a hostel. The room and bathroom were clean enough but our bed had a strong urine smell (the mattress, not the sheets). I felt safe enough there,since there are two locked doors between the hall and the bedroom.we weren't really sure what to do at check-out, since we left quite early and no one answered the office door. A sign on the wall said to leave the key in the room withheld door unlocked, so that's what we did. This place is OK for people instead budget but definitely not anything special.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: