Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 4667 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.1
  • Service 5.8
  • Value for money 7.0
  • Food/Dining 5.1
Sort by

Maricar from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
clean, homey usa hostel
at first we find it difficult to look for the usa hostel because it is housed on mirador mansion where there are other hostels owned by other properties. but once we opened our room, we feel like "home away from home"
we liked so much the view from our room, the busy streets of nathan road. hot and cold water is available when needed. despite there was a queue at the elevator, we managed to beat our sightseeing schedules. along the corridors going up lined up newly washed clothes, but once you are at the usa hostel floors, it feels good since the place is safe and clean. for tourists on a budget this hotel is a place to go.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Steve from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Single Room
Stayed one night in January 2012
Poor Service and Dirty - Highly Not Recommend
None
The service is poor - staff is unfriendly and unresponsive. The place is dirty and have seen roaches in the area. There appear to have some bed bugs. I have difficulty of sleeping that night on the bed - appear something was bitting me the whole night. The general vicinity is dirty where sewer pipe are exposed. The pipes (either sewer or water) have rust on the outside. The pictures look clean but the quality of room various from floor to floor - they have a few apartment units which they modified them to 10 small rooms within each unit. Each room is no bigger than 80sf for single. You can stretch your hand and touch both side of the wall - not kidding. The receptionist ( a young woman) have us waited for nearly 30 min to check us in. She appeared annoyed and incompetent and borderline being rude. Of course this is not 5 stars but this is still not the way to treat any customer even this is a zero star hostel. I suggest put up another $30 to $40 per night and check into places in North Point. Do your self a favor - avoid this place. It not worth the while if you bring back home some bed bugs or some disease. The only thing good is the central location to all MTR subway.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Carmie from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Quadruple Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
complete review of usa hostel, hong kong
great location (1min walk to mtr), very near airport express free shuttle station (holiday inn golden miles)
recently stayed in usa hostel's quadruple room with the whole family (5 adults). the room has a small refrigerator, 2 queen sized beds, 1 outlet on the dresser, a working television, small air condition, and a small bathroom. the hostel provides towels and thick blankets, a huge roll of tissue and 2 glass cups and 2 mugs. there's also a water dispenser on the hallway. the room we stayed in is big enough for a family of 4. and although we paid for an extra bed for 3 nights (around per night), they only gave us a mattress because the owner insisted there won't be space for an extra bed. they didn't give us a refund for the extra bed we never got to use. so i suggest not to get one. the blankets and bed covers are a bit dusty. the towels have minor stains. if you're feeling a bit obsessive compulsive, just bring your own. the ceiling is missing 2 styro covers, but you can use the beams for the hangers if you have a lot of things to hang. there's also a foul smell coming from the bathroom drain so don't turn off the exhaust. there's no bidet and you have to hold on to the shower head since there's no place to place it in. when you check in, they'll inform you that hot water for the shower is available at 7am-1pm and 7pm-12mn. but for 2 nights, hot water was still available at 3am - yay! the bathroom only has a magnetic lock, which is not that bad if you're staying with your family. overall, nothing beats the hostel's accessibility. rooms are clean enough and the staff are not as bad. you get what you pay for. tip: turn off the air conditioning when you leave the room if you don't want the staff stepping on your beds when you're out. also lock your bags when you leave. some local friends told us that tsim sha tsui is not the safest place to be when in hk.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Jin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe double room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
good location, but hong kong
clean, near to mtr station, good for getting around
was great. no complain, good location, service ok, clean place, affordable price.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

YANG from China
Couple
Deluxe Triple Room
Stayed one night in December 2011
nothing but convenient in shopping
good place in shopping
it's just so so.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Richard from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe double room
Stayed one night in January 2012
Small rooms with no hot water
Location
we stayed for a night. arrived late at night and had some difficulty locating the main reception (no sign boards directing to the hostel from main building entrance). room was small as expected and old. air conditioned unit was not working (which is ok since it was winter). bed was making this sqeeking noise each time i moved. the blankets were slightly dirty and not warm enough. there was no constant hot water in the shower (there is a sign outside the room which states the hours which the hot water is available). aside from the good location along nathan rd at tsim tsa tsui, i would not recommend this hotel for travellers seeking slightly more comfort. i guess you get what you pay.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Robert from Slovakia
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed one night in January 2012
great location, near mtr station
location
best thing is the location, exactly right on the famous nathan rd.. you can simply reach mtr station within walking distance as well as you can walk a bit more (approx. 10 minutes) and you will reach another great spot in hong kong - famous avenue of stars. rooms are overal small, but still ok for hong kong. there are many possibilities to have a quick food around.. i can definitely recomend this hostel, but be aware! you get what you paid! this isn't a luxury place!
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Robert from Slovakia
Couple
Deluxe double room
Stayed one night in January 2012
great location, near mtr station
location
best thing is the location, exactly right on the famous nathan rd.. you can simply reach mtr station within walking distance as well as you can walk a bit more (approx. 10 minutes) and you will reach another great spot in hong kong - famous avenue of stars. rooms are overal small, but still ok for hong kong. there are many possibilities to have a quick food around.. i can definitely recomend this hostel, but be aware! you get what you paid! this isn't a luxury place!
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Robert from Slovakia
Couple
Deluxe Single Room
Stayed one night in January 2012
great location, near mtr station
location
best thing is the location, exactly right on the famous nathan rd.. you can simply reach mtr station within walking distance as well as you can walk a bit more (approx. 10 minutes) and you will reach another great spot in hong kong - famous avenue of stars. rooms are overal small, but still ok for hong kong. there are many possibilities to have a quick food around.. i can definitely recomend this hostel, but be aware! you get what you paid! this isn't a luxury place!
Reviewed January 17, 2012

LOO from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe double room
Stayed one night in January 2012
Excellent Location,No-frills Hostel
Right next to the train station
this hostel took up a number of units in a 30-storey building. the older rooms have windows and are slightly bigger. the newer rooms are smaller and don't have window. what i like about it is that the hostel is right next to the train station, which allows me to go anywhere easily. also, by purchasing the hkia train express service, i get a retun pick-up service to the kowloon mrt station from the hostel, which allow me to get to the airport within 1 hour.. that's great convenience.
Reviewed January 16, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: