Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 129 reviews
  • Cleanliness 5.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.2
  • Service 5.8
  • Value for money 5.6
  • Food/Dining 6.3
Sort by

Andres from Spain
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
friendly staff ..poor standards
nice area
I think this hotel is overrated, My stay there was good and staff was friendly but I felt that I pay a lot for the standars of the hotel, got a very nice rooftop ....
Reviewed March 07, 2013

Yulia from Israel
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Good Location, nice rooms, don't expect too much
Location
I traveled in India in the beginning of 2013 and had to spend 1 night in Mumbai. After making some research I found out that the best place to stay in this city is in Colaba which considered as the touristy and young area. Hotel Strands has great location!!! Exactly 2 minutes walk from the gate of India where you can take some boats trip and the main shopping and restaurants road in Colaba, The famous Victoria train station is near by as well. Very nice to walk during the day. The Marina drive is not far as well (about half an hour walk or 3 minutes by rickshaw)- very nice place to have a dinner or just to see the sunset. The rooms are ok, don't over expect. It's not luxury but there is hot shower and and clean bed which is very very important. I stayed in better places in India but for Mumbai standards (in terms of prices and facilities) I do recommend this place and will stay there again on my next visit in Mumbai. Very important- if you getting there from the airport the taxi suppose to cost not more than 500 roupies including everything (tolls, parkings etc...)!
Reviewed March 03, 2013

malcolm from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
great location
good room
this hotel turned out to be much better than it looked from the outside. room was very good and bathroom but electrical fittings a bit ancient. desk staff were very helpful. restaurant was a bit disappointing and could be so much better given the fantastic location
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Deborah from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Bad service, bad attitude.
Location
The attitude of the front desk staff is terrible. I had sent several requests asking them to change from double to single occupancy. The day I showed up, they claimed to have never received those emails. Finally they agreed to charge for single occupancy only. Then never did. When checking out the attendant asked me to pay for a room I had already paid for. Then he proceeded to spend 5 minutes digging through his files, couldn't find the record, and asked ME to procure proof of payment, all while I needed to leave to catch a flight at the airport. There's no wifi in the rooms - only in the lobby. The rooms are decrepit and smell of cockroaches. It is a good area to stay in, however. There are lots of small hotels in the immediate area that have got to be better value for the money.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ilaria from Italy
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Excellent position, very clean, well equipped room
Cleanliness, silent rooms
we spent only a night in this hotel but we found it very clean and the room was well equipped with toiletries and other useful things (not a sure thing in mumbai). the staff was very helpful (even if sometimes they expected a tip for silly things).
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Pushpinder from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 7 nights in December 2012
Lovely Hotel
sight seeing
The stay in this hotel was lovely. The hotel was just across the road and you can see the sea. The shopping was great in walking distance.
Reviewed January 04, 2013

Arthur from India
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Great Location - Average Hotel
Great Location
The hotel has a pretty awesome location. It faces the Arabian sea, has an awesome view and is just a few meters down from the Taj. The rooms and service are average at best. If you're someone who will be out in South Mumbai and need place to crash, I would recommend this one.
Reviewed January 03, 2013

Priya from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Excellent place to stay...
The hotel staff is very friendly & accommodating with requests.
I have stayed at Strands twice already & my stay has been very comfortable..The hotel staff is great & considerate of customer needs. Would love to come back again.
Reviewed December 06, 2012

Jian from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Horrible, dirty, tiny, overrated... Do not go ther
Near by the gate if India
It's is very tiny, dirty, and overrated hotel. Do not go there if you want to enjoy your trip.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Tobias from Germany
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2012
Great Location and friendly staff
Location
Rooms are ok, Location is excellent and staff is very friendly an helpfull!
Reviewed November 20, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: