Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 208 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 7.5
  • Room comfort and quality 8.1
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

amy from Canada
Solo travelers
Rice Field View
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
lovely family, lovely place
the delicious breakfasts!, the quiet location, the people - such great staff
I have not been in Bali and surrounding islands for two weeks and have not had any food as beautiful and delicious as the included breakfast at Gunung Merta. The family and staff are beyond lovely and so helpful and the best service I have had in all of indonesia. I would highly recommend staying here and only left after three nights because they were booked up. The location is a little outside of the main hub but the walking is nice and the cheap transport is always availble. I walked and enjoyed it.
Reviewed February 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Michelle from Canada
Couples
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Great staff who went above and beyond
The staff were extremely attentive, good value for money, not far from main road.
Great. Welcome drink upon arrival. Easy checkin. Friendly staff - when we came home at night we found all of our lights to have been turned on and the incense was lit. At first, we thought this was odd, but actually came to appreciate the extra care. As well, shortly after we would arrive to our room at night, the staff would knock on our door and get our order for breakfast the following morning (which was delicious and filling). Very beautiful grounds as well - they definitely take pride in their place. Overall, highly recommend. The only issue we had was that the wifi often cut in and out, but not the end of the world when you're on holiday.
Reviewed December 29, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

AG from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed one night in November 2013
Very nice, value for money, good location.
Location, room rate, comfortable room.
The room was comfortable, with nice bed and balcony. The pool was great. The staff (especially pak Wayan) was very friendly, helpful and efficient. I had a good time staying there.
Reviewed November 11, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Kerri from United Kingdom
Groups
Rice Field View
Stayed one night in October 2013
Best accommodation in 8 months travelling!
Friendly Staff, Lovely room with a view, great pool
We absolutely loved our stay here! My boyfriend and I have been travelling Asia for 8 months and this has been the best place we've stayed so far- taking into account the beautiful peaceful garden, the lovely huge clean room, the amazing green views, the nice clean pool and of course the amazingly friendly staff. My parents joined us on this part of our travels and their standards are higher than ours (we've got used to slumming it) and they were equally as impressed as us. It is luxury accomodation on a backpacker (maybe flashpacker) budget! On arrival we were told that they had overbooked due to a problem with Agoda, but after a welcome drink and friendly apologies we were moved to another (more expensive) hotel for one night- this was no problem as it was a genuine mistake and they were very apologetic and as they drove us to the other hotel it was no problem for us. Although the other hotel was technically an upgrade as it was more expensive (it was very nice too) we actually still preferred Gunung Merta and returned the next day for an enjoyable 4 nights (again, they picked us up for no charge). The rooms were a little rough around the edges, but in the nicest possible way which just added to the character of the place. the views from the balcony were beautiful- hard to believe we were so central in busy Ubud! It was a 10 minute walk into the centre, not too far but far enough for peace and quiet. The best part was the lovely staff- so welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them and they always welcomed us with a smile. We felt like part of the family by the end of our stay and will definitely return here when we come back to Ubud.
Reviewed November 10, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

tamara from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in September 2013
Comfortable and close to nature.
Attentive staff, nice swimming pool, away from hustle and bustle.
I stayed at the Gunung Merta bungalows and very much enjoyed my stay there. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The pool is nice to cool down and relax, perfect way to take a break from the hot weather.
Reviewed October 17, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

ARMITHA from Indonesia
Groups
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
large room, clean swimming pool, and comfortable
large room, clean swimming pool, quite
I love this hotel, because the room is large and comfortable. The swimming pool is clean and located in front of my room. This hotel is in quiet location. Love that.
Reviewed September 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Patrick from Australia
Couples
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013
Nice place but NO Wifi for 3 days
View from balcony, pool, breakfast
We were actively seeking hotels with pool and wifi so when we were daily told that there was no wifi we got a bit pissed off. With no wifi tv would've been good but only local channels. Breakfast was quite good and beer on the back balcony overlooking the greenery was real nice. Staff were great but no recompense offered for lack of wifi.
Reviewed September 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Elizabeth from Singapore
Solo travelers
Rice Field View
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Simple, Value
SImple, Value, Clean
It was pretty good and nice. Hotel is pretty clean, far away from town. Good fresh air. very basic rooms, but good for the price you pay.
Reviewed August 23, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

karen from Australia
Couples
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
very pleasant
staff, food, location
only stayed 2 nights, basic accommodation with pleasant surroundings and very nice people to deal with
Reviewed August 21, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Jenna from United States
Couples
Garden View Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
A relaxing and peaceful stay.
The staff was incredibly attentive, the breakfast was delicious, and the gardens and accommodations were lovely.
I would highly recommend this hotel for the price. Our room was more like a two-story bungalow with two balconies, one with a view of the inner garden and the other with a view of the valley. The room included a refrigerator and T.V, which was a pleasant surprise. We walked to everything and did not even need to rent a bike. The breakfast selection was great, and you could even order in advance and have it ready at a certain time. Very charming and wonderful place to stay in Ubud.
Reviewed August 15, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: