Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1053 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.9
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food/Dining 8.2
Sort by

Sacha from Netherlands
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Majestic Majapahit!
the garden is just marvellous, and the beautiful interior design of the hotel... just splendid
It really is a 5 star hotel and deserves every star!
Reviewed October 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Yi from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed one night in October 2014
Positive Experience
Excellent service by hotel staff who go the extra mile, good location near Tunjungah Mall and comfortable room at an affordable price
Excellent. Hotel staff were always ready to serve and go the extra mile to meet my needs.
Reviewed October 27, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

MOHAMAD from Singapore
Couple
Stayed one night in October 2013
Grand hotel
The architecture designs
Grand hotel in the city, nearby shopping centre.
Reviewed October 24, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Felix from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed one night in October 2014
Good Stay
Good hotel, comfort, good area
Reviewed October 22, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Dennis from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Cool and comfortable in tropical Surabaya
The ambience, the beautiful surroundigs, the attentive staff
Excellent. We stayed only 2 nights at "The Maj" and I wish it could have been much more. Our room was cool and comfortable, there was a wide variety of offerings at breakfast. The beer was icy cold in the bar while the pool was a very quiet spot and when we stayed it was delightfully free of children! The hotel is steeped in history, both colonial and regarding incidents surrounding Indonesian independence. The feeling of history is palpable and it feels as if one could bump into the likes of Joseph Conrad at the bar, The Maj would have to be one of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Paul from Australia
Business traveler
Garden Terrace (Room Only)
Stayed 7 nights in September 2014
Charming and historic hotel
Ambience, staff service and location.
Reviewed October 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Antony from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed one night in October 2014
The best heritage colonial hotel in Surabaya
Location, Value for Money, Room
Stayed one night here and the experience was totally remarkable.
Reviewed October 16, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Chris from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 14 nights in September 2014
Would stay here again!!!!
1) The architecture of the building & 2) the landscaping was nice & well kept. There is no number 3...
The rooms were okay however, there was algae & mold growing in our Executive Suite. Mosquitoes were abundant the entire 13 days we were there, regardless of the fogging that was performed. Not even the rainy season as yet. The pool also had a lot of algae between the tiles were the grout lines are. The scum gutters were full of filthy slim (Algae) growing on the plastic grates. The restaurant is nowhere near international quality, it shows in their breakfast presentation or lack their of. They are in desperate need of a European Chef/manager. All in all, I would never stay there again after staying at truly Five Star hotels such as the Shangri-La and Sheraton in Surabaya. I would not give this hotel 4 stars even, it rates 3 stars in my book and I have stayed at over 50 different hotels in Indonesia so, I know what I am talking about. Majapahit, please hire a new General Manager as soon as possible or become the local hotel they you seem to be now.
Reviewed October 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Greg from New Zealand
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
The best hotel (character) in Surabaya by far...
Colonial historic architecturally designed htel, friendly staff great restaurant and excelent room
I am a regular customer of the Majapahit Hotel. I'd only ever stay here when in Surabaya. Its colonial charm is very relaxing with its gardens. Great for an evening drink after work in the garden. Staff are always friendly and attentive and not officious like most 4/5 star hotels, who simply don't personalise their service. The room is spacious and well appointed. The walk through suite is excellent for entertaining. A very nice room
Reviewed October 11, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Monique from Belgium
Couple
Stayed one night in October 2014
Very nice hotel with beautiful architecture
Full of charm, lovely place, good food
Reviewed October 10, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: