Above average 5.9
Based on 114 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Above average



based on 114 reviews
  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Facilities 2.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 6.1
  • Service 5.2
  • Value for money 6.5
  • Food and dining 5.0
Sort by

Orchida from Indonesia
Groups
Standard
Stayed one night in August 2013
a budget backpackers hostel near to the station
location, location, location
backpackers group who need a cheap hostel with strategic location, quite clean room & the important thing is the easy access
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nikolay from Russia
Couples
Standard
Stayed 22 nights in July 2013
Weird hotel
Internet, location
It was terrible stay in all my experience. I made a big mistake moving from more cheap and clean hotel to this one just because it situated closer to the place i need to visit every day. It was more expensive and dirty. Shower has smell like toilet went from drainage because people using their shower to pee instead going to toilet which is shared. No hot water, so u must be prepared to take shower with cold water. Being at bed u can feel all the springs in mattress by ur body and beddings was in terrible condition too. They said they currently under renovation, but even renovated rooms in terrible conditions. If u'll be "lucky" and get non-renovated room u'll receive real shock as me at my 1st night. They have TV in rooms but signal so bad, it's really hard to watch it. And in my case i got remote control from different tv which wasn't worked with my tv. Breakfast in hotel is very simple and better even don't try it. In the kitchen where cooking that food a lot of rats. And other guest tell me that they using expired ingredients for cooking. Anyway, location of hotel is good, Surabaya Plaza Mall is nearby and it provide free wifi which speed could be from 0 and up to 3mbps. But it's really a bit overpriced. You can find at Agoda cheaper hotels with more clean rooms and get more comfortable stay at all
Reviewed August 02, 2013

Ramesh from Malaysia
Solo travelers
VIP
Stayed one night in January 2013
short stay
clean, centrally located and easy access to shopping malls
Confortable and the staff were helpful with directions
Reviewed July 25, 2013

YONG from China
Couples
Standard
Stayed one night in July 2013
terrible
location location location
except location I have nothing positive to share about. If it's not we are going to catch the early morning train I will never stay there... the hotel around the corner(just one street away) with a little bit higher price turned out to be much much much better. Next time I will definitely NOT stay in Sparkling Backpacker.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Christal from United States
Couples
Standard
Stayed one night in May 2013
Friendly and accommodating staff
Staff, they turned on our AC before arrival and made sure we had breakfast in the morning
Reviewed May 06, 2013

astrid from Malaysia
Couples
Standard
Stayed one night in March 2013
I was glad that it was for a night's stay only
The staff were friendly
Never again as the toilet was bad with cracked tiles and doors that cannot be closed. At least there is hot water available throughout the day. The lobby area is quite dusty and the furniture were shabby.Although the outlet is near a shopping mall and the availability of taxis, it is only suitable for the single backpackers who are used to the rough life
Reviewed April 30, 2013

DONG from United States
Solo travelers
Standard
Stayed one night in April 2013
location
location, easy access to train station
later night arrival, easy to find it by ourselve.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Zahar from Malaysia
Groups
Standard
Stayed one night in April 2012
location is good but the room need improvement
location, and very cheap
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Daniel from United States
Solo travelers
Standard
Stayed one night in April 2013
Very low end budget stay
There was only one good thing about this place. It was close to the train station.
No toilet in room (there was a shower hose and sink but no toilet. The toilet was on the next floor but did not have toilet paper. The internet was too slow to even check email. I would say, "you get what you pay for" but at a night it was still not a deal.
Reviewed April 06, 2013

TEE from Malaysia
Solo travelers
VIP
Stayed one night in February 2013
Good location but no good hotel
Near by train station
Location is good. But the hotel need a lot of improvement. Breakfast is simple and may be not so enough if you are late coming down. Not recommend stay here
Reviewed March 03, 2013


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: