Very good 7.9
Based on 128 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 128 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.8
  • Food/Dining 6.2
Sort by

David from United States
Solo travelers
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed one night in June 2015
great value...love staff...super hospitality...
location...price...friendly
Excellent. 2 nights. Very friendly. Great value.
Reviewed June 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

hee from Malaysia
Couples
Japanese Style Twin A
Stayed one night in May 2015
Comforable palce to stay in this small town
Confortable Japanese Style Room
This is my 1st time staying in this hotel. I get a jap Style room sleeping on Tatami Floor with comforter. The room size is good compare to any rooms size you can find at this budget in the city. The place is quite and you can really get some good sleep and relax all the time. However the location is not so easy access. The reason i choose this place is because im driving and i have no problem getting around .
Reviewed May 31, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

khoo from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed one night in April 2015
Old but nice japanese style
Comfort, share bath, hot water pool
Reviewed April 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Leslie from Australia
Couples
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Isolated Hamlet
The room size
Ryokan Matsukaze is a bit of a hike from Matsumoto Station, apparently there is another line that can take you closer to the hotel once at Matsumoto Station. Give it a try, or face the 15 minutes plus walk. Once inside the ryokan you are left to your own devices, and on the positive side there is quality functioning wifi. You have a TV and fridge so if you want to stock up on snack foods that is convenient. In that case the nearby seven eleven is even more convenient. Sadly there are no quality restaurants in the vicinity of the ryokan so you'll have to track back to the station for good tucker.
Reviewed March 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

William from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2015
LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!
Absolutely spotless. Genuinely sweet-hearted staff. Cannot beat the price.
This was my second stay here. I adore this place. The photos don't come anywhere close to capturing how clean and comfortable it is. I have extensive travel experience and I have never seen a place that comes close to their standards of tidiness. The family who runs the place are cute and friendly. The place is really quiet and laid back. Nothing fancy here, but I prefer it that way.
Reviewed February 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

ViVi from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2015
Too far away form station.
clean
Really far away from the station or other place. Not recommend.
Reviewed February 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Phyllis from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Quiet location and good service
Quiet location and good service
The hotel is located about 20min away from JR Matsumoto station on foot. I'm a solo female traveller and although I know that Japan is relatively safe, I still felt uneasy when walking back from the station at night, as the neighbourhood was quiet and dark. Nevertheless, the hotel is located in a quiet area and good for people who are looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle near the station. The shared bathroom and toilets are clean, although you'll have to wait quite awhile if someone's soaking in the hot tub. My room reeked of smoke even though it was supposed to be an entirely non-smoking hotel. I could smell strong smoke in the morning and night.. not sure if it's my neighbour even though he denied it. I spoke to the owner and he was very apologetic about it and said he would speak to the guests about it, but I guess there was little he could do. The smoke kind of spoiled my stay, but the good service from the friendly and helpful staff made up for it.
Reviewed January 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

William from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
This is the place to stay in Matsumoto!
Spotless. Friendly. Location.
This place is a gem! I've stayed in dozens of hotels and ryokan all over Japan, and this one is absolutely the best. It is so clean that it makes the others look shabby. Seriously—this place is as sanitized as a hospital. The photos don't do justice... to be honest I expected it to be a little run-down, but it's ultramodern. The bath is really cool! And the staff could not be nicer. The women at the front desk were funny and friendly, with lots of personality. The neighborhood is quiet, but a 15 minute walk from the train station. Loved it!
Reviewed November 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

CHING from Taiwan
Groups
Superior Japanese Room
Stayed one night in April 2014
ryokan matsukaze
ok
Reviewed November 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Patrick from France
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Frindly and affordable ryokan
Spacious room, Friendly staff, 10 minutes from station
About 10-15 min from the JR station. The staff can only communicate in Japanese but they try their best to communicate with you and are really helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious enough.
Reviewed October 15, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: