Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 31 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 7.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food and dining 7.2
Sort by

Lui from Hong Kong
Couples
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Simple and Comfortable hotel
Free shuttle to train station available, nice staff, cosy room
The hotel is a little far from the Takayama train station, but the host was very nice and they would ask about your departure time and would offer free shuttle to the station as far as possible. Only shared bathroom and shared toilet are available. 15-minute walk to the famous Miyagawa morning market.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Benjaporn from Thailand
Solo travelers
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Near morning market
Good
Good one hotel , near morning market , shopping and Train station area
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Celeste from United States
Couples
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Lovely little place
Nice proprietors, decent location, decent rooms
Liked the place. It's a little far from the train station, maybe 30 minutes-- I wouldn't want to walk it, especially with luggage-- but it's decently placed with respect to the central town area. (About 30 minutes walking from the minshuku to the other end of town, I'd estimate.) The room was decent sized and the noiseproofing was actually not bad-- there was a group of drunk tourists singing downstairs and we could barely hear them up in our room. The baths were nice, especially the outdoors one (only big enough for one person and no one inside can really see you, too, if you're shy.) The food was-- well, very traditional Japanese, and not really my thing, but it wasn't bad-- some of the cooked fish was especially good, and so was the nabe. It was served in the common room downstairs, altho we were the only two there at the time. If you like traditional Japanese food I'd get it. Otherwise, up to you. Futon was not, unfortunately, super comfortable, even with an extra pad added underneath, and they use the buckwheat pillows, which I'm not fond of. People staying there seemed about 75% foreigners 25% Japanese, so if you're looking for a place to get to know the natives, this is probably not it. Still, overall I like it, and would probably stay here again. And the proprietors really open up if you can speak any Japanese.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Gillian from Canada
Couples
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Basic, family run inn in Takayama
free bicycle use, free train station pick up and drop off, great dinner set
This is a lovely, family run, minshuku. The rooms and bathrooms were basic but clean and well looked after. We stayed in for dinner one evening and had a lovely meal. They had many bicycles that we were able to use to get everywhere we wanted. They also offer free pick up and drop off from the train station. There is little to no English but we didn't find that we needed it at all.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

CHEONG from Malaysia
Couples
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 1 night in July 2012
Lovely hotel
Hot spring bath & free wifi
Very impressed with the place. Enjoyed the bicycle ride that was provided for free of charge. Love the hot spring bath and also the opportunity to wear kimono and sleeping the Japanese way.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Jekin from Fiji
Groups
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
great hotel! highly recommedend
good value, amazing food, lovely couple running the place
we stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. The food was very well done - all in traditional japanese style. The couple who run the place were very helpful and gave us everything we needed. they also had a mini-van which they used to drop up to the train station and in to town free of charge! this place is as good as any ryokan in takayama.
Reviewed April 05, 2012

FRANCISCO from Mexico
Families with older children
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Agradable experiencia para conocer hotel económico
Muy bien situado, te prestan bicicletas para moverte en la ciudad, te llevan a la central de trenes o autobuses
Nosotros nos hospedamos aquí porque queríamos la experiencia de un hotel tipo Japón, era el único que tenía espacio disponible, es una casa que tiene habitaciones tipo Japonés , duermes en el suelo i con edredones de pluma. Tiene dos baños pequeños tipo Japón El personal amable pero no habla nada absolutamente nada de inglés, Si te hospedas aquí te conviene reservar con alimentos incluidos, desayuno y cena, en el pueblo cierran temprano y no hay opciones para cenar. Te prestan bicicletas para recorrer el pueblo.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Luis from Costa Rica
Solo travelers
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Excelente lugar para pernoctar en Takayama
Precio y comodidad
Recomiendo este acogedor hotel. Luego de visitar Tokio con su ritmo acelerado de vida, nada mejor que tomar un descanso en este hermoso pueblito japonés. El hotel Minshuku Iwatakan cumple con todos los requerimientos para hospedarse cómodamente en Yakajama, al mejor estilo tradicional del Japón y a un excelente precio.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Emilio from Spain
Groups
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Para viajeros con poco presupuesto
barato, buena ubicación
Es el típico hotel para los que tienen poco presupuesto y están dispuestos a tener pocas comodidades. Nosotros ocupamos una habitación de 3 personas y apenas había sitio para poner las maletas... Eso sí, el personal, una señora mayor y un hombre de edad media, son encantadores. La ubicación es buena, junto al parque de Ueno, espcialmente en época de hanami, como estuvimos nosotros...
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Jocelyn from Canada
Couples
Japanese Style 6 Tatami
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Bon choix
Bien situé, vélos fournis gratuitement, bonnes recommandations de restos.
Agréable, nous avons apprécié le frigo mis à notre disposition et le café - thé gratuits dans le lobby.
Reviewed October 20, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: