Exceptional 9.2
Based on 40 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Exceptional



based on 40 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.6
  • Service 9.6
  • Value for money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 9.1
Sort by

Kitty from United States
Solo traveler
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed one night in June 2012
Hard to imagine a more perfect hotel
Attentive service, gorgeous location, amazing spa, phenomenal food from Tunisian chef, excellent wine selection
many of my friends had stayed here and raved about this luxury hotel, but i was always reluctant to stay at a self-contained resort outside of town because i so enjoy being in the centre of luang prabang. on this holiday my friend and i chose the best of both worlds -- three nights at the three nagas right in the centre followed by one night of total pampering at la residence phou vao. it was the right order, because nothing can top la residence phou vao and indeed we never left the grounds because it was pure heaven. i can hardly wait to get back. absolutely everything here is perfect. the suite itself had me giggling at all the lovely touches -- flowers on the toilet and the toilet paper holder??? the spa was perfection and the food was absolutely perfect. one could run out of superlatives here. just one tiny detail sums it all up: i travel with some small dolls that my little niece gave me to photograph all over the world. when i came back from dinner, the person who had done the turn-down service had arranged them sitting up on their own little seat made from a linen towel, complete with a red carnation. now that kind of attention to detail spells a great hotel!
Reviewed July 04, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed 4 nights in April 2012
Beautiful Hotel. Fabulous staff
The location. The Pool
a wonderful stay. lovely room, which was spacious and well equipped and had the spectacular view over luang prabang. the hotel is quite small and feels very intimate, with nothing being too much trouble for the excellent staff. we loved being able to flop into the pool after the heat of the day's activities. although the hotel is slightly out of town, the hotel's transport options worked seamlessly and we never found this to be a problem. if i had one complaint it would be that some of the pricing on trips seemed a bit on the high side, perhaps because everything is rounded in usd. however all the excursions we took were sensational. mainly just the two of us plus a guide, terrific organisation and lovely picnic lunches
Reviewed May 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

joseph from Australia
Couple
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed 6 nights in January 2012
Oasis of calm with beautiful views
Large rooms with balconies, and mountain view rooms worth it for the views.very attentive and helpful staff..restaurant of high standard.
luang prabang has a unique old world charm, a unique mix of a huddled temple town and a preserved colonial town, wonderfully unhurried, and relaxed, in a glorious settingbbetween the rivers..la residence is a greatbway to visit, just out of the main town section, so even calmer for that!
Reviewed January 28, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Gregory from France
Couple
Garden View Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Fabulous hotel with fantastic service
Quiet & very relaxing
Great place for a short break. Fabulous historical city, beautiful temples. Great staff very smily & welcoming. Other than that: Tad Sae waterfall, night market, sunset on top of mount Phousi, cruise on the Mekong... plenties of activities for a WE. Rent a motorbike, most convenient to travel around
Reviewed January 26, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Nguyen from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed one night in August 2011
Good hotel. kind of boutique.
very good service. quiet and relaxing.
it is really a first class service. I like the hotel though i was not given the right view that I wanted.
Reviewed December 07, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

Alain from Sweden
Couple
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Great Hotel but ripping you off...
great service, great view
We went there for a lovely romantic week-end and we had one. The hotel is located on top of a hill with a great view on the mountains. The service is excellent but... Obviously the GM is struggling with making his financial targets and we get charged for any extra peanuts. We booked a junior suite for almost per night, had a romantic 500 candles dinner for 170 USD per head, but got charged 550USD for a bottle of champagne and some extra hundreds of USD for the dinner setup. Having spent almost 2000 USD in 2 days between the room and the dinner, I found it hard to be denied a check out time at 13:00 instead of the standard lunch time (they proposed me to book a room for ...1 hr !!) and got charged 10 USD for a laundry bag that I mistakenly took off the room...
Reviewed November 02, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

William from United Kingdom
Couple
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Beautiful Hotel in Wonderful City
Quiet and very comfortable
This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting. The rooms are fabulous and the staff very friendly and attentive. Transportation to down town is free and very useful. It is top end and top dollar but a great place to relax for a few days if budget and itinary allow.
Reviewed October 12, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

Yoki from Indonesia
Group
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed one night in September 2011
Orient Express Hotel Indeed....
Pak Ou Caves Personal Tour, Restaurant and Romm
I enjoy my stay at La Residence Phou Vao, which was started with the Pak Ou Caves tour arranged by them. It was perfect, lunch in the island is the best part for us. We enjoy the room with fantastic view and also the unique bath tub. The infinity pool in the spa area is gorgeous and they do make some interesting flower arrangement. Restaurant is great as they really open and wait for us as the last guest there, which we appreciated. However spa services could have been improved by providing drink during before or after spa.
Reviewed September 11, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

roger from United Kingdom
Couple
Mountain View Junior Suite
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011
Gorgeous
Fabulous location -quiet and great views 15 mins from town but courtesy bus,lovely rooms,lovely pool,lovely spa,lovely breakfast,great staff
my husband wished he'd remembered to pack a siut or jacket for breakfast!Staff were very nice. Pricey for drinks and meals. Great place for a treat
Reviewed February 08, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

John from Australia
Couple
Garden View Junior Suite
Stayed 6 nights in September 2009
What a gem !
SETTING, VIEWS, FOOD QUALITY, BEAUTIFUL STAFF WHO ALWAYS ADDRESSED US BY NAME
Sorry! Cant find anything negative about this one.
This incredible boutique hotel is really something!Under the caring and ever watchful eye of hotelier Philippe Bissig my wife and I Felt we were guests in a private home. La Residence Phoh Vao is so unique its worth the trip to Laos just for the experience. We are a couple of foodies and rate the Lao inspired French cuisine at the top of the best we have tasted and an excellent wine list, all at sensible prices.Infinity pool, and pampering Spa for the girls
Reviewed September 26, 2009
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: