Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 72 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.7
  • Service 6.9
  • Value for money 6.6
  • Food and dining 5.8
Sort by

David from United States
Solo travelers
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Good budget hotel near the riverfront
Location Restaurant Staff
Pretty good place for the price. I have had worse in Vientiane for a higher price. Much better than the guesthouse. Not really a guest friendly hotel, but some staff were understanding. Not too far from the bar scene.
Reviewed May 02, 2013

Philippe from Canada
Solo travelers
Deluxe Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
It was a short and pleasant stay.
Great River View, Close to Center, close to restaurants.
I went to Vientiane like thousand of tourist doing a visa run from Thailand. I chose this hotel for its proximity to the Mekong river I heard so much about since the sixties. My stay was pleasant although the breakfasts were nothing to write home about. There are many nice restaurants for breakfast in Vientiane so there was no bid deal there. The hotel is pleasant enough and I might return for another Visa run...Who knows.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

wallop from Thailand
Business travelers
Deluxe Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
small roon
near to the mekong reiver
room is small and also near to the karaoke very noisy
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Shaun from United Kingdom
Couples
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Good Location
Location
The hotel is situated along the Riverside walk to the west on the town centre. The hotel must of been one of the top places to stay years ago, but it is now dated. However, the room I got was a big room with a good size bathroom. There was a view of the river from my window. The staff were very helpful and very polite. There were families staying there, also men with younger ladies and a old gay man with a young Laos boy. If these kinds of things bother you stay away, as it is a friendly hotel in that manner.Some hotels in Laos are not. The river was at a low point, yet still a nice walk along the side. The hotel is only 5 or 10 minutes walk to bars and restaurants. The breakfast was basic, after the first day, we opted to sleep in instead.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Kelly from United States
Couples
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Close to the river AND a Karaoke bar
Cost effective for one night
The hotel itself was nice enough. The staff was helpful and found us a ride that DID show up at 4am to take us dutifully to the airport. A/c was included and there was a mini frig(we're vegetarians and tend to travel with food, so this is a plus for us). There were a few things working against the Mekong Sunshine: It is near a karaoke bar and we were hoping to sleep before our flight out (and yes we used our earplugs). There were smoking rooms on the same floor as non-smoking which seemed to cancel out the request for a non-smoking room. Last, but not least for some, there is no lift (aka elevator) so you may want to keep that in mind when booking here: The 4th floor was a long way up. We left before breakfast was served, so we can't speak to the food offerings.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Newman from United States
Couples
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Waste of Money - gross!
Close to the river
i cant believe they charged that much for what we got. Literally the worst hotel i have stayed at in the past 3 months of traveling around SE Asia. The bathroom stunk, there were tons of mosquitoes in the room. The remote control did not work for the TV. The sheets were dirty. Go somewhere else - there has to be a better value for the money within a few blocks.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

john from Australia
Couples
Standard Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
very helpfull staff but they over booked
close to river
arrived and rooms were over booked which meant we spent an hour looking at 3 other hotels till we found one suitable which was an inconveince after 12 hour flight from australia. rooms were nice and big and staff friendly
Reviewed January 06, 2013

David from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 8 nights in December 2012
Good location, a bit noisy.
Good staff, comfortable rooms.
Liked the staff & the room &rates were reasonable. Good location by the river. The only negative is the karaoke bar next door. Could get noisy, though it was good about shutting down at a reasonable time and sleeping wasn'tva problem. I would stay here again.
Reviewed January 06, 2013

Sukhy from Malaysia
Groups
Standard Triple Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Nearby to the Night market
Beside the Mekong river and located nearby to some clubs,pubs and restaurants.
Basic hotel, nothing special. Located beside a happening pub. Walking distance to the night club and the 400 years old night market.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Candice from United States
Couples
Standard Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Clean hotel
Clean, good WIFI, hot water
This is your basic hotel. It has everything you need, but there is nothing special. This is reflected in the price. The location is close to the night market. `The breakfast is okay.
Reviewed December 27, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: