Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 308 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Location 7.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 7.2
  • Food and dining 6.5
Sort by

Sharon from United States
Family with young children
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2009
Pleasant stay in Vientiane, Laos
Good location, interesting lobby with artwork, pleasant hotel staff. The rooms were very large and comfortable, many channels on the tv in many languages, the air conditioning worked very well and was quiet, free internet access!
The floor in the bathroom flooded whenever you took a shower because it was all open, sometimes no hot water at all, the breakfasts were not good because there was very limited selection of foods, especially for vegetarians.
We enjoyed our stay at the Ramayama Gallery Hotel. It was within easy walking distance for my husband and myself to the Scandinavian Bakery and the downtown area(about a 15 minute walk). Our daughters, 10 and 13, thought it was too far to walk regularly though. The hotel was very comfortable and pleasant. We just did not enjoy the food there. The pool was ok looking, but it was too cold during our stay (December 20-23).
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Martin from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2009
Nice hotel
Rooms were large and spacious, bathrooms were clean. Reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke exceptional English. Restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate Western tastes. Free internet.
Hotel did seem a little dated. Appeared to have taken over a pre-existing hotel and just painted over the old signs rather than sprousing the place up as a whole. The swimming pool area wasn't particularly great - you wouldn't want to spend much time there.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

James from United States
Group
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
My stay at the Ramayana Gallery Hotel Vientian
I really enjoyed the size of the guest rooms, and loved the hand painted murals as well as the unique decor. It was also walking distance to the morning market.
The only one I had was very small, the location was a bit far from the river, however there were plenty of local transport waiting outside the hotel.
Upon entering the hotel you are struck by its unique apperance. The large loby and friendly staff greet you right away. When going to your room the hallways were painted with colorful murals and the light fixtures down the hall were quite unusual and pleasant. You enter a very large room with hardwood floors, a sitting area by the window and plenty of room for you and your belongings. The bathroom was quite large as well and my room had a shower without the tub. I had only experienced this type of shower once before and I so enjoyed all of the space to shower. My traveling partner's room did have a tub so better to ask for the type you would rather have upon arrival.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

AN from Vietnam
Business traveler
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Next my trip to Vientiane, I will stay here.
Hotel location is very good.
Toillet need to improve
Hotel located in the centre of city, it is very comveniance for moving. Staffs is very friendly. The Room is OK.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Linda from United Kingdom
Family with older children
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2009
Ramayana Hotel Laos
The hotel was tastefully decorated and was inpressive.The location was ideal away from the hustle and bustle of the main shopping are but within short distance of the Mekong river and its attractions. A tuk tuk was always available directly available outside the hotel a cheaper and more novel way than travelling by taxi.
None
The staff were very courteous from room attendents,dinning staff to the receptionists. We were treated very well at this hotel. The room was impeccable and comfortable as was the lifts and hallways. the arc de triumphe was located on the same road. Ther was plenty of good food available and the breakfast was most enyoyable with freshly cooked eggsmade to your liking. I would reccommend this hotel to friends and family.
Reviewed December 05, 2009

Linda from United Kingdom
Family with older children
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in November 2009
Ramayana Hotel Laos
location of hotel and calming influence
none
I booked for one night at this hotel but extended my stay for a further 4 nights until I was due to fly out of Laos. I was impressed with this hotel.
Reviewed December 05, 2009

Fernando from United Kingdom
Couple
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2009
Not value for money
Staff helped us to book flights & gave good suggestion for restaurant
Poor value for money. We paid about the same as for Langsuan Centre point and the hotel is very basic comparetively. They could have pick up service from airport.. We had to get a tuck tuck. The breakfast had little options and when we asked for dim sum (had finished) we got a soup instead...
Tacky Chinese decorated hotel. Room was ok. Clean and quiet.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

MASAYUKI from United States
Solo traveler
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2009
RAMAYANA GALLERY
After getting accustomed to the initial dreary room and furnishings, one can appreciate the quality of materials, bedding and effort put in by personnel to maintain the integrity of hotel.
The hotel advertised it's location as ideal for shopping...disappointed....it was difficult to locate and far away from the central Mekong river area. Taxi drivers were not fully aware of its location as I entered the city from Friendship Bridge.
Upon researching for a hotel to stay in Vientiane, first time..the advertisement was misleading and a disappointment as to there location. The hotel advertised it's location as ideal for shopping...disappointed....it was difficult to locate and far away from the central Mekong river area. On the first night I felt isolated and therefor moved to its sister Intercity Hotel next to the Mekong River which was quite unique and pleasant for the first time visitor to Vientine. I would not recommend the hotel to first time tourists in view of its location and ease of shopping and sight seeing of city proper.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Varasay from United States
Group
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in November 2009
Ramayana Gallery Hotel
Close to a lot of amenities like restaurants, markets, shops, etc. The hotel had internet. Room rates were fair.
Service was a little lacking. Some staff members seemed unfriendly and didn't speak much English. Internet connection was poor. Hallways were hot with no AC. Restaurant food was mediocre and overpriced. The outdoor pool needed cleaning and some renovating.
This hotel served its purpose. It was close to where I needed to be and it had internet connection. I was happy with my room because it was clean and the air conditioning worked well. The bed, sheets and towels were clean and the hotel maids were pretty friendly. However, there were a few things I would say could use some improvements - better food for the asking price, friendlier staff at the front counter, cleaner/updated pool, better internet connection, and cooler hallways. Overall, despite a few cons, I would probably stay there again.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Varasay from United States
Group
Classic Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2009
Ramayana Gallery Hotel the first stay
Close to a lot of amenities like restaurants, markets, shops, etc. The hotel had internet. Room rates were fair.
Service was a little lacking. Some staff members seemed unfriendly and didn't speak much English. Internet connection was poor. Hallways were hot with no AC. Restaurant food was mediocre and overpriced. The outdoor pool needed cleaning and some renovating.
I stayed at this hotel twice in the same week and here was my previous review comments: "This hotel served its purpose. It was close to where I needed to be and it had internet connection. I was happy with my room because it was clean and the air conditioning worked well. The bed, sheets and towels were clean and the hotel maids were pretty friendly. However, there were a few things I would say could use some improvements - better food for the asking price, friendlier staff at the front counter, cleaner/updated pool, better internet connection, and cooler hallways. Overall, despite a few cons, I would probably stay there again."
Reviewed November 22, 2009


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: