Very good 7.6
Based on 86 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 86 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 7.9
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.0
  • Food and dining 6.3
Sort by

Effa from Singapore
Couples
Standard
Stayed one night in October 2013
Industrial chic hotel
Concept,affordability and uniqueness
My stay at Kong Heng was smooth other than getting lost and been charged a hefty cab fare due to the direction.Do bring along mosquito repellent.My legs are literally fed by Mosquitos.The hotel has a very unique concept and it will wow everyone.
Reviewed October 16, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Meng from Singapore
Solo travelers
Standard
Stayed one night in October 2013
Excellent design
Design, location
Not the kind of hotel for everyone - the bathroom is connected to the room, and only separated by a curtain - which means the smells do permeate into the room. The interior design of the hotel has kept many parts of the old building and incorporated new elements in a way that is aesthetically pleasing. i love chilling out in the lounge area on the third floor. Do bring insect repellant when you are at the lounge - it is open air, and there are mosquitoes.
Reviewed October 08, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Lai from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Standard
Stayed one night in September 2013
It is a art & unique design of the atmospehe.
Design, concept & Atmosphere
Overall consider best. Recommended for the people who like art, design & concept. It is not the room with a very good services or facilities but you can enjoy some different with others hotel.
Reviewed October 05, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Tseng from Singapore
Families with young children
Standard
Stayed one night in September 2013
Interesting and unique
location, design and concept
All was quite well except it was quite hard to locate the place at night when we arrived at about 7:30pm and it was raining quite a bit as well which made it even more unpleasant. Gate was also locked and it was only with the help of the staff from the adjoining hip Plan.B restaurant that we managed to contact the person to open the gate. Not a very nice welcome or first impression.
Reviewed September 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Loh from Malaysia
Couples
Standard
Stayed one night in September 2013
Funky cool design, relaxing and good experience.
Very unique design hotel, close to Ipoh heritage walk and good food around.
Reviewed September 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

soffie from Malaysia
Families with young children
Standard
Stayed one night in August 2013
Sumardi is everything
location, culture, design
If you are in honeymoon, want to appreciate Ipoh in 1960's or just want to have unique experience, this hotel welcomes you. Otherwise, you might be surprise with what you will have compared to the price of the hotel. What I adore most is Sumardi, the hotel staff who is very friendly and helpful. Not suitable for Muslims. No qibla direction, the bathroom, toilet and bedroom are separated by curtains that you will think twice before you do business in toilet. Even you will be greeted by a huge dog in front of the reception. In addition, it's difficult to find the hotel and I have to call the hotel twice to make sure where is it is.
Reviewed September 03, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Teck from Malaysia
Groups
Standard
Stayed one night in August 2013
Extraordinary stay in a beautiful 'shophouse'
1. Clean 2. The cosy community area 3. It's strategic location in Ipoh Oldtown
Overall it was a pleasant stay except the noise from the street & restaurant downstairs. My night sleep was disrupted with sounds of dog barking, passing cars & motorcycles.
Reviewed September 01, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Hassan from Malaysia
Couples
Standard
Stayed one night in August 2013
Relaxing getaway.
The hotel concept, relaxing common room and uniqueness.
It was an overall great stay, pretty relaxing. The price is quite expensive considering the lack of amenities available at this place. But the design and uniqueness trumps it all. The bathroom separated by the curtains is awkward so sharing with someone you're comfortable with is a must. The thin walls were pretty obvious, I heard my neighbour doing business in the toilet at night and conversations. Luckily my neighbours weren't that noisy. It does get noisy in the morning once the restaurant starts business but it was tolerable. The best thing is the common room, I quite liked hanging out on the hammocks. The pillows were rather uncomfortable though. There's an upscale restaurant next door so food is always near. Overall, a great place to unwind and would definitely come again.
Reviewed August 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Iain from United Kingdom
Groups
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Sekeping Kong Heng has fantastic potential.
Mardi, their man-of-all-trades; the common livingroom upstairs and its potential for being an art boutique hotel.
Someone should have prewarned us that the connected coffeeshop 'Kong Heng' underneath the hotel, touted for its fabulous local food, would be closed and under active renovation works! I think the hotel itself was also under serious works. There was no reception area to speak of. It was literally a hole in the wall by the stairs up to the hotel. Mardi, who seemed to be the sole representative of the hotel, was apparently their man-of-all-trades and he was very friendly and did his best. We have no complaints about him but we never saw another member of staff so that if we had needed anything at night, we would have been lost. The hotel itself has its special charm and has great potential. It's a shame nobody warned us about the works and how deserted it would be. My daughter and I had the distinct feeling the whole time that we were the only 2 guests! Having said that, I would return,if I ever needed to go back to Ipoh, provided I was sure that Sekeping and the coffeeshop below was done with all their renovations!
Reviewed August 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

SOK from Malaysia
Groups
Family
Stayed one night in March 2013
fun and unique experience
the architecture, the kopitiam next door, and the living room space that great for group
the family room has 4 single beds that placed at a large space with 2 sides ceiling height safety mesh that grown with vines. Natural ventilated and airy at night but have to sleep in the mosquito net. behind there is the so called 'parents room, comes with air cond. the bathroom and the toilet is a challenge, as there are openings between the wall, and one can see each other, and there is no door at the bathroom.
Reviewed August 20, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: