Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 350 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.5
  • Location 7.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food and dining 8.2
Sort by

Katerina from Russia
Solo travelers
Stayed 12 nights in June 2015
Great experience
Tranquillity, lots of water (cold and hot, pool), helpful staff
I used the hotel as a base for my everyday adventures in the surrounding area for 11 days in June. And it turned out to be the best base I ever had. The personnel were very friendly and always willing to help you to solve your problems and listen to your stories. Their reliable taxi-drivers arrive right on time and are ready to pick you up and bring back to the hotel any time of the day you arrange with them. The same price (180 MYR return) to get to Bako National Park, Semenggoh Nature Reserve, Matang Wildlife Center. 80 MYR to the airport. It takes about 1-1.5 hours to reach any of these destinations depending on traffic (rush hours are naturally the worst). The best trail to Mount Santubong begins a couple kilometers from the hotel making it possible to reach the summit or just follow the middle trail along the mountain. The sea nearby is not good for swimming as it is dirty, very shallow, full of big poisonous jelly-fish. Yet, sunsets are enchanting. The pool in the hotel serves perfectly to relax your aching muscles after a long hard hot day. And it is right on your doorstep. Conditioner and ceiling ventilator in the room function perfectly and noiselessly. Bathroom is amazingly comfortable with plenty of cold and hot water (strong pressure), shampoo, soap, shower gel, body lotion, daily changed large soft towels, constantly renewable toilet paper. Beds are large and cozy - good for stretching and enjoying a few idle hours. Muezzin in the mosque some 500m away lull you into sleep creating a unique unforgettable authentic atmosphere of local village. The hotel is located in a secluded part of the village Santubong. Local people are very friendly, helpful, and unobtrusive. Food is fresh and aplenty. One must beware of tiny red ants that jump at every edible speck appearing in the room. No mosquitoes inside. In short, it is a great choice for independent, active people tired of nasty civilization with its noisy crowds.
Reviewed July 05, 2015

Lionel from Malaysia
Couples
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Nice place to relax and unwind
Relaxing atmosphere, attentive staff, swimming pool
We enjoyed ourselves. Was a good place to get away from the hustle and bustle. The food was tasty and the staff friendly and helpful.
Reviewed June 27, 2015

YEN from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Cosy Stay
Food, peaceful ambiance, nature
We came back at the Vilage House and nothing much has changed. It is still peaceful and well maintained, but some fixtures int he room require some attention. We really like the fact that it's immaculately clean. Staff is very friendly and goes for the extra mile. The best thing is the food. It is absolutely amazing! The best food we had in Sarawak! If you don't like hard bed this is the not place for you. I found the beds too hard which resulted in a lack of proper rest. On a hot day the air con units in the room were having difficulty keeping it cold. Other than that: a great stay and highly recommended!
Reviewed June 26, 2015

Rosliza from Malaysia
Couples
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Calm and composed
Food, staff and architecture
Perfect to ease the mind off from the city life
Reviewed June 21, 2015

ADELINE from Malaysia
Families with older children
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
My stay
It was quiet, breakfast was just nice. No kids.
When we read the reviews, we did not know that they were very strict. Our in laws who wanted to just have a look at the place could not enter the premises. It has no lobby or waiting area. As we are Kuching residents, there was nothing much for us to do there besides swim and take photos. The beach was not that great. For that amount of money, I'd rather go somewhere where the main target group are not tourists.
Reviewed June 14, 2015

LII from Malaysia
Couples
Village Double
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Fantastic place to relax
Peaceful, beautiful
Reviewed June 09, 2015

Min from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Too much rules & regulation
Relax, Rules, Regulation
Reviewed May 20, 2015

Ezrie from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Confortable, good location
Confortable, good location
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Jackie from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
good for relax..especially for city ppl
not much ppl...quiet...n clean
excellent
Reviewed May 08, 2015

Kate from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
My surprise stay
Ambience, quiet and service
Reviewed April 08, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: