Excellent 9.0
Based on 276 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 276 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.5
  • Service 9.6
  • Value for money 8.8
  • Food/Dining 7.9
Sort by

Christina from Germany
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016
Relaxing stay in the rainforest
Very friendly nice staff, great calm and peaceful location with many wild animals around - great experience!
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Ho from Hong Kong
Couple
Studio
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
A hotel connected to the nature
My boyfriend and I enjoy staying at Ambong Ambong so much. There were few monkeys jumping from tree to free outside your balcony. All you can hear is the sound of animals and the wind blowing the trees. Besides the comfort environment, all the staff are friendly. The hotel provided us a private driver who can send us to several designated locations such as Underwater World, thus transportation is not a problem. Hotel's owner invited us to join the cocktail party at night. It was fun and we learn a lot about Malaysia culture. We definitely will come back to this hotel, one night is never enough.
Reviewed August 02, 2016

Shaun from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
What a great place
We stayed at Ambong Ambong in May. What wonderful place. There was nothing to fault this place. The room, food and service was excellent. Because we stayed for over a week we were upgraded to a better room. What an upgrade, the room was fantastic. The staff went out of their way to make our stay . I would recommend this hotel.
Reviewed August 01, 2016

Lily from China
Solo traveler
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
fantastic hotel
every thing just best. fantastic service. all 5 star and quite and nature place.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Philip from Australia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 5 nights in July 2016
Outstanding staff
What could be a daunting (very hilly) site is made to work by an excellent team. All staff were excellent - both efficient and naturally courteous. Special mention must be made of Nizam for his commitment to customer service and attention to detail.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Felicia from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Perfect retreat
Love this getaway place! Its a little far from the activities so its perfect if you like the quietness and crowdedness of Pantai Cenang. Staffs are really lovely and very helpful in accommodating our needs. Thanks for the wonderful stay!
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Michael from Germany
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Beatiful View
The Suite was located high in the forest, on the second floor of the building. I had a beautiful view over the bay to the mountains. The room was nicely decorated and clean as one would expect form a pretty new and expensive hotel. Unfortunately quite a few things did not work so well. The welcome staff displayed quite some pushy 'kindness' and tried very hard to sell more offers, like the Spa and the Japanese restaurant. They did not care about my wishes. From the information given both seem to be pretty overpriced. The room was quite some distance over steep steps from the parking up a hill. You want a car to go anywhere, even at Pantai Cenang. You were supposed to call a driver from an ancient mobile which you were handed every time you would leave your room or arrive at the hotel as there was no telephone installed in the room. I'd preferred more independent access and of course left the mobile in the car's clove compartment in the evening. Breakfast was among the worst I ever had in Asia as freshness was concerned. It was put in the fridge the day before and not fresh by any means. That is a bloody joke/ WiFi did not work at all in the resort, although the signal showed excellent strength. They said it was a bit slow, but I say it was nonexistent as I could not even send or receive WhatsApp messages. In the morning the sliding door to the sleeping room locked itself when I was on the open balkony, enjoying the view and listening to the noise from a construction side below. I had to walk to the office in my sleeping garment in order to regain access to the room, as mobile phone and key were inside. In case someone is interested: There were 6 TV channels available, 1 Malay, 1 BBC world, 2 sports. As a frequent Langkawi visitor I say it was worth trying and the view lovely but I would neither recommend it nor book Ambong again. There are many alternatives on Langkawi that offer a much better experience at the same or lower price.
Reviewed July 02, 2016

Winston from Malaysia
Family with teens
2 Bedroom Cottage
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Great accommodation for family with adult children
- Staff were accommodating and ensuring our comfort and satisfaction. - Excellent breakfast at The Good Earth - Comfortable accommodation
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Chun from Malaysia
Couple
Studio
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Comfort indoor, nature outdoor
Great location being in the rainforest....nature is right outside your room. Everything is great.....especially the people.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

Shao from Singapore
Group
Studio
Stayed 3 nights in May 2016
Quiet and peaceful retreat
Not your typical resort. Perched on a steep hill, the hotel offers a quiet retreat from city life. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast variety was limited but sufficient for our stay for the few days.
Reviewed June 11, 2016


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: