Very good 7.7
Based on 5357 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 5357 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food and dining 7.0
Sort by

christine from Malaysia
Families with older children
Superior City View
Stayed one night in May 2015
Value to stay
Clean and good warm service
warm service and Clean environment
Reviewed July 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Namyun from South Korea
Families with young children
Deluxe Hot Deal
Stayed one night in January 2015
Good for family trip
View, Massage package, Room
It was ok about massage package for my parents. Sightseeing was ok. Breakfast was terrible. Average hotel.
Reviewed July 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

TG from Australia
Couples
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Good value and very comfortable
Cleanliness, location and value
This is my choice of hotel in Penang every time and this recent visit still invalidates my decision to stay there again. Love the clean and comfortable but firm beds. The complimentary fruit bowl and soft drinks replenished daily are a generous touch and shows guests that they are more than just bodies with a credit card. I am glad that the hotel has kept up the standard since it was refurbished a few years ago.
Reviewed July 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Sing from Singapore
Business travelers
Superior City View
Stayed one night in July 2015
Feedback
Clean, comfort and easy access to places
Good
Reviewed July 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

KOH from Singapore
Couples
Superior City View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
A bit overprice for this hotel.
Location is ok for young people, but too far for young or old people to walk to shopping centre.
Average
Reviewed July 03, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Linda from Singapore
Couples
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Though this hotel is not new it is well maintained
1. The bed 2. Laurel Cafe 3. Room rate.
The stay was pleasant except the air conditioning in the room cannot be adjusted though the thermostat is installed in the room. Rooms are huge and mini bar is free, excellent especially in this hot weather. Location is great as it is near eateries.
Reviewed July 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Pauline from Singapore
Groups
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Penang Stay @ Evergreen Laurel
Huge bed, fruit basket
First I was met with rude front desk staff who was the Manager but didn't behave like one. She was rude and expected me to know why I should give her my credit card and sign the check-in forms without properly explaining to me. I immediately wrote in my feedback form but no one during my stay responded to my feedback! The only saving grace was the sea-facing room and the huge king size bed. I didn't eat in the hotel so I couldn't comment on the food quality. However I feel the hotel is too far from Gurney hawkers and malls. The walk to these places was long and sweaty as weather was really hot in Penang.
Reviewed June 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Graham from United Kingdom
Couples
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Looking a little tired these days.
Clean room, free soft drinks in minibar, complimentary morning newspaper
I have stayed here many times as I visit Penang regularly and like to get value for money. But I have recently changed to another hotel in a similar price bracket that I now prefer. But I returned to the Evergreen Laurel because my first preference was fully booked. The room is certainly clean and there is reasonable speed WiFi and everything works. But the carpet was worn, the furniture dated and the lifts are so slow. I don't eat there because I think the Western food in the cafe is poor quality but my local friend thought the Malay Buka Puasa buffet was OK. The bar/lounge is a reasonably pleasant spot as the Filipino band is not too bad - the guitarist plays a mean rendition of Carlos Santana's Black Magic Woman. Car parking s free for guests and plentiful - which is good as the hotel is basically in the middle of nowhere on Gurney Drive so you need transport to go to any shopping centre or nightlife - unless you fancy a 15 minute walk to Gurney Paragon. Its OK, but not really 5-star any more.
Reviewed June 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Shek from Malaysia
Couples
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Good Stay
spacious room, location, value for money
The hotel location is good, I booked a room facing the sea, quite a nice view, room is spacious, but the fittings inside the room just seems old but well maintained. Didn't have any food inside the hotel so rated 3. (Penang has lots of food!) Overall, I would give it a 4/5 rating
Reviewed June 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Lye from Singapore
Families with young children
Superior City View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Enjoyable stay
The hotel is clean, big and staffs service was excellent.
Hotel to select for a short holiday
Reviewed June 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: