2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 1958 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1958 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.2
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

KUA from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Good
Good location
Reviewed December 25, 2015

Mageswari from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Happy Holidays
Great swimming pool, near to seaside with many wonderful sea sports, night pasar malam
We had a generally a good stay. Since I was there with kids they automatically gave a additional bed for child FOC. The breakfast spread was nice but the menu never changed so for 4 days we ate the same food. For 4 stars rated hotel i expected more cleaniness in the hotel. They dont really replenish the toiletries till ask. But overall had a comfortable stay.
Reviewed December 25, 2015

CHRISTINE from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
The room & toilet is very dirty when we check in.
The beach
The room is only ready at 5pm for us which I have book 3 room seaview. The room & toilet is very dirty when we check in. We feel disappointed. We also requested for late check out as we got our room late when we check in. The staff Is not friendly and they actually have to get the manger to talk to us. After that we told them about the room bad review they agreed to give us check out at 1pm. Overall I'm disappointed. We also request for room services for water and food it take about 50min.
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Chay from Malaysia
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Satisfied, bathroom no good
Bed, Pool side, breakfast
boiler got problem in the morning, so felt very cool and cant take shower due to solar issue or boiler malfunction.
Reviewed December 23, 2015

Shu from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Hill View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Family Friendly Hotel
Kids Eat Free, Spacious, Amenities
Staff are generally very helpful. It was peak season when we were there but never felt crowded, there was enough space and facilities for everyone.
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Keehan from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Hill View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Good hotel for family with young children
Good facilities and activities for young children. and
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Golden Sands !!
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Low from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
This is a revised experience to us
the swimming pools, the beach & the adventure zone
Me & my wife were here almost 13 years ago but the experience was so so. I cannot remember what's great about the hotel except the then water sports. Few years back we came by for lunch but were made to wait for lunch for almost 1 hour & we had a complaint against the F&B management, the manager in charge came apologise to us & gave us a free treat on the lunch. He cited there were shortage of staff at that time but he understands that should not be a reason to make their customers displeased. We were happy with his explanation, apology & the management free treat on lunch. That is the reason after numerous year when we have the chance to visit Penang Island again, we make sure we book into this hotel. Kudos to the good management service.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

AZROL from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Hill View
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
My preferred accommodation in Penang
Comfortable, good location and the beach
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La Penang Hotel is a nice hotel. I love the place. An example of a great hotel. Welcome was great. It is almost a back to nature surrounding. All the staff from management until the cleaners was friendly. Location is very good (near Pasar Malam Batu Feringhi). The beaches are clean, not crowded, a beach for a decent family picnic. Pools are large, well mainted. Room are very comfortable. Overall it was a great hotel for a holiday. Wish I could stay there for the whole week.
Reviewed December 20, 2015

Chia from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Hill View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Good but can be better...
Value for money, location and room size
The room was of a good size with comfortable bed. Bathroom was alright. I would prefer a separate standing shower. But it was good to have a bath tub. Swimming pool was great with children's and adults pool. Disappointed with the beach as it was not crystal clear water. Sand was rough. A lot of water sports took place. Not a nice place for a swim.
Reviewed December 19, 2015

Garrent from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Value for money
Location, Facilities and Breakfast
Reviewed December 19, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: