2015
Excellent 9.0
Based on 177 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 177 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Room comfort and quality 9.4
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food and dining 8.3
Sort by

Kelly from United States
Group
Sunset Over Water Suite - Above 12 years old only
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Fire in paradise
Water
In May, 2015, 5 friends from USA decided to go on a trip to the Maldives and Dubai.We rented 2 overwater villas on the sunset side and we opened the door to a lovely sitting room, large bedroom area, beautiful bathroom and deck with steps to the water. After a dip in the ocean, we had cocktails and went to bed around 10:30.My friend Mike who was staying in my villa awoke in the middle of the night screaming that our room was on fire and we had to wake up and jump out of the bathroom window.My sister,Mike and myself were all staying in one room and the sitting room and room were completely engulfed in flames.We couldn't go out the front door or the sliding door in the bedroom since at that point,literally 5 or 10 seconds,that whole wall, tv and roof were all ablaze.The only other option was to run out the bathroom and jump out of the window into the ocean in the middle of the night.There were no alarms, I repeat NO FIRE ALARMS, so it was eerily quiet,save for the sound of burning wood and glass exploding.We weren't sure what was going on.Had Mike not woken up when he did,we all would have died.Our friends villa next store was on fire so Mike climbed up their stairs into their place from the Oceanside.He woke them up,ran out their front door and then started banging on the other villas doors. No response from the resort. The 3 couples staying on the sunrise side thought it was people partying so they were leary of opening the door.They heard Mike yelling fire so they opened their doors and panicked when they realized the severity of the situation. At this point,no staff were on scene, no alarms were going off and the emergency glass box with a pull fire alarm didn't emit any sounds.
Reviewed December 19, 2015

Garry from Philippines
Family with teens
Sunrise Beach Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Excellent Value for 5-star Luxury
Luxury, Convenience, Variety
Reviewed November 27, 2015

Samuel from Singapore
Couple
Sunrise Beach Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Paradise
Cosy, beautiful and friendly staff
Maldives itself it's a perfect location for beach vacation. The hotel simply made it even more perfect. Stay was comfortable . Staff were friendly and everything is just too good . I will never forget this place. If I were to go back again I will still choose anantara
Reviewed November 14, 2015

Samuel from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
Paradise, a place I will never forget
Heavenly, chill and friendly staff
Maldives itself it's a perfect location for beach vacation. The hotel simply made it even more perfect. Stay was comfortable . Staff were friendly and everything is just too good . I will never forget this place. If I were to go back again I will still choose anantara
Reviewed November 14, 2015

Robert from United States
Family with young children
Anantara Pool Villas
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Paradise
Kids and adults perfection
Great for kids with loads to do for adults (surfing, Sailing, fishing) -- easy boat ride from male, unreal amazing aquatic life. Could use one more restaurant that opens before 6:30pm for the little ones who go to bed early. Sticker shock on meals is expected in Maldives, but at least I saved a ton by using the agoda app
Reviewed November 10, 2015

michael from Denmark
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Overpriced !
You are in paradise, but the restaurants here are overpriced and distinctly average
The Good ! It is absolutely paradise: Palms, fine white sandy beaches and crystal clear water Our villa was built on stilts over the ocean, with access to the sea - It was lovely to step off the deck for a swim in the ocean in the mornings, which is the best time to swim. The room is nice/spacious with a large deck/terrace, overlooking the ocean and complete privacy. Sunny weather, with a lovely breeze. Beautiful sunsets and night sky on the deck/terrace Very quiet and relaxing, slept early and very well every night in large comfortable bed. Friendly staff The restaurants are all overlooking the sea, very idyllic/romantic settings. There is a separate coral island for snorkeling, which we enjoyed. The Bad ! Water is very shallow/warm, the pool was like a bathtub. The island is the resort, once round takes 10 minutes ! There are no restaurant options outside the resort (and its sister resort nearby). These are all very expensive and food is disappointingly average (except breakfast, which was actually fine). Twice we sent back the food ! Prices are about 40% more expensive than at 5-star Singapore hotels (not forgetting Singapore is now the world's most expensive city !) There are no shops or mini mart, the only alternative is the excessively-priced mini bar (US$ 9 for cup noodles) if you want a snack. The Verdict ! This is the most expensive hotel we have ever stayed at, more expensive than the Peninsular or Mandarin Oriental in HK (where we have never stayed) ! The hotel was nice, no question, but for this price, we expect 'wow' ! However, the location, scenery and water really is paradise ! We expected the restaurants/food to be expensive, but the quality was disappointing. We enjoyed our 4 days on the Maldives, which was just perfect, but if you stay any longer you quickly go stir crazy ! Make sure you ring a good book !
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Ziyad from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Sunset Pool Villas
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
The best ever
Stuff,food,view,organization
The best as well
Reviewed August 02, 2015

Hiu from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Relax and beautiful hotel
Beautiful, Relax, Clean
This hotel is very convenience, only 45mins speed boat from airport to hotel. very beautiful beach, very nice hotel staff.
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Chloe from Malaysia
Couple
Over Water Pool Suite
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Best
Great sunset view , good location and service
That was great! I will come back again
Reviewed July 26, 2015

TANG from Hong Kong
Couple
Sunrise Over Water Suite - Above 12 years old only
Stayed 5 nights in November 2014
Very clean room and good service
Very clean room and good service
Reviewed July 14, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: