Very good 7.4
Based on 30 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 30 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Location 7.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.9
Sort by

Neil from United Kingdom
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013
Amazing hotel, amazing place!
Food, cleanliness, pool, location!
Amazing time here! It was excellent! All inclusive is great - cocktails and food was top quality! The diving is incredible - Axel was excellent - quite expensive though (around 100dollars per dive all in). Our only problem was they booked our return flight to Male a day before by accident. MAKE SURE YOU CHECK YOUR FLIGHT DETAILS ON ARRIVAL! However they solved the problem to our satisfaction. Thankyou soooooo much Equator Village!
Reviewed February 26, 2013

ilaria from Italy
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
almost no beach and very dirty
good for snorkeling and diving
We arrived at Male airport and the plan transfer to Gan Island was 2 hours later than what agreed with the hotel, but at least we stayed in the lounge with aircon and something to eat. Nice welcome at the arrival in Equator Village, but soon started the 'tip issue'... the reception even give an instruction paper with the details about it. I didn't expect everybody to be so pushy about that, especially in such a budget place. The all-inclusive option is nice until you discover food is very basic and almost no fish is served, very surprising in Maldives... it still a good option for the drinks. The worst part is about what is expected to be the best thing: there is almost no beach (around 5 to 10 meters according to the tide) and it's so dirty that you avoid it... plastic bottles, cigarettes, food all over. Luckily it seems fishes and crabs are not affected yet, and you can easily see them from the small pier. If you want to take a bath you use the swimming pool, quite depressing. It seems Addu atoll is very famous for diving, so it can be a good choice if you want to invest money on that rather on the hotel. Two snorkeling trips are included, but not so impressive.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Ervan from Switzerland
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 8 nights in January 2013
Village camp for elderly
Cheaptr
Watch out the diving center will try to charge you as much as possible and get the money you saved by eating German or Russian buffets...
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Matthew from Italy
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 8 nights in December 2012
The resort for those who hate resorts
Staff, Location
The Equator Village is a great way to visit the Maldives for those who want all the comforts of a resort (all inclusive meals and alcohol) and still be free to explore the culture of the local inhabitants.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Dileep from India
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in December 2012
Lovely Hotel and service with a smile
Friendly Staff and we like the food
It was nice to stay with Equater Village. Probably this season for europeans not for asians. I think monsoon is the best season for Asian. We would like have a lady spa massager there was only one men is handling spa..! rest everything is good.
Reviewed January 03, 2013

Mazlim from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
Simple yet lovely
One of the few hotels you can stay in the Maldives (out side Male) and yet interact with the local populations
My stay here was fantastic. The staffs were friendly. However, there are rooms for improvements. I think they need to have a "concierge" who can entertain for guests requests. Cost of internet connection is ridiculously high in this day and age.
Reviewed September 04, 2012

Samuel from United States
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Very interesting place!
Inexpensive, down to earth
The Equator village is very different from the other, totally fabricated resorts in the Maldives. It was once an RAF base during WWII and the place is huge, and you reach there by domestic flight, which is cheaper than the air taxis. Most importantly, the British connected several island via a causeway, which means that people actually live thrre, so you see an active, if laid back community. The rooms are simple, not like the luxury resorts, but they pretty much let you take as many free snorkeling trips as you want, twice a day. The staf was nice and the living area is beautifully gardened, the pool is nice, but why use it when the house reef is just offshore. Definitely will return here, but this is not your idyllic paradise island. It is very much a real place with a history.
Reviewed May 02, 2011

Julia from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011
Amazing service, but a budget resort
The staff absolutely made my trip.
The entire animal kingdom residing in my room. The food was pretty bland as well.
OK, let's be realistic here. For what you pay to stay at this resort you really shouldn't be expecting the Ritz. So, not to much of my surprise, my room had a slightly higher bug and vermin population than I would have preferred. The room was immaculately clean. The problem was that there was a huge gap (almost 2 inches) between the door and the ground that allowed the critters to get in. Also, I found that the food was pretty bland. It was never offensive, but you definitely got sick of eating it after a few meals. On the plus side, I loved the pool and the spa. Both were unexpectedly lovely. And, most importantly, the staff at this resort was the friendliest I have ever dealt with in my many years of traveling. They were kind, helpful, funny, clever and engaging. Every single person, from the landscapers who offered the best option for a meal on the island (a fresh picked coconut), to the room attendants, to the front desk and wait staff were kind and immensely friendly. Hands down, the best part of my stay were the people.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Mui from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010
位置 Good ,area good. Hotel ok.
Not expensive , compare other in Male hOtel.
May be open one more different resturant food for choose, I will again to go this Hotel sure.
1) The area seaside south really great better than Male . 2) Island have some small store we can choose other shop buy some thing and eat some thing , not same in Male some lsland they only have Hotel shop no choose,so all expensive buy everything no choose. I did stay in Male Bandos Hotel , they dont have any choose for us. ever the price no made since need to buy.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

Marie-Christine from France
Families with older children
Standard Room
Stayed 6 nights in August 2013
les maldives authentiques et confort
un très bon rapport qualité-prix, des prestations loisirs sympathiques et gratuites (sorties snorkelling, BBQ, vélo, billard...), un très bon buffet et un personnel accueillant
Nous avons apprécié la facilité de la liaison entre Malé et Gan, avec une réservation avion assurée par l'hôtel plus une navette. Une collation est assurée à l'arrivée et au départ même en dehors des heures de repas et la nuit. Pendant le séjour, aucune ambiguïté sur l'offre payante. Les prestations intégrées dans l'offre "all inclusive" sont nombreuses et clairement indiquées. L'hôtel est original du fait de son histoire, il a l'avantage de permettre un accès aisé aux villages et à la partie "habitée" de l'île. Une visite en vélo est absolument à faire, mais attention, les vélos fournis par l'hôtel sont en assez mauvais état. On n'est donc pas enfermé dans un complexe hôtelier. Des sorties snorkelling sont proposées deux fois par jour, ainsi qu'un BBQ sur une plage d'une petite île une fois par semaine. Celle-ci offre un spot de snorkelling superbe. Par contre, le site desservi tous les jours avec le petit bateau de l'hôtel est moins intéressant. La plage de l'hôtel est restreinte. Il est clair qu'elle est en deçà de ce que l'on trouve habituellement aux Maldives, mais il est possible d'y faire du snorkelling avec une faune aquatique variée et abondante ( des requins juvéniles nombreux lors de notre séjour). Cet hôtel est une très bonne extension à un séjour aux Maldives sur une autre île ou sur un bateau et offre de ce point de vue un très très bon rapport qualité-prix. Comme seule destination, il a l'inconvénient de ne pas montrer toute la beauté des plages et des fonds maldiviens.
Reviewed August 26, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: