Excellent 8.4
Based on 34 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 34 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 8.3
Sort by

Bjarne from Denmark
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 12 nights in February 2015
Fantastic hideaway with a spectacular housereef.
Housereef, island og staff
We had a fantastic 12 days here, where we enjoyed the housereef and island bigtime. Hope to be back soon
Reviewed March 06, 2015

Erik from Denmark
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Super nice!
Location right at the beach, Blue water for snorkeling, Small - only 36 rooms,
Awesome, but expensive.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

N from United States
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Refreshing private resort island
Access to the beach, coral reefs and peaceful atmosphere
Our bungalow was right on the beach with an incredible house coral reef less than 50 m from the shore. The resident manager (S. Blackett) greeted us upon our arrival to the island; a warm and welcoming greeting. We were well taken care of at every step along the way. Check in and check out was a breeze. We did the half board which included an amazing wide variety buffet breakfast served daily and a four star five course dinner served every night. Makunudu is one hour ahead of the main island time of Male so plan accordingly. We did the complimentary Snorkel Discovery. The snorkel discovery trip was about a 15 minute boat ride from the island and the snorkelling lasted well over one hour. It was so worth it. The complimentary dive lesson from the Dive Center was provided in the main lagoon area(Claudia from Belgium, what a kind woman, she was amazing). So glad I tried it. Also, we did the complimentary Night Fishing Excursion and yes, my wife landed two red snappers out of the four fish caught that night. Another trip well worth taking is the Manta Ray Excursion, only 20USD per person. The boat ride was about 45 minutes from the island. We were able to see and swim with three giant manta rays for over an hour; it was a first in my life and not soon to be forgotten. I estimated the wing span of the mantas to be approximately 3 to 3.5 m. The massage therapy specialists were so gentle, amazing and kind. Quite frankly, I have had a lot of massages over the years and these two ladies were by far the best massage specialists I have experienced. We truly enjoyed their hospitality and professionalism. One last thing. The resort is really practicing a sustainable approach to all that they do. They truly get it and have established protocol to help keep the island operations running as sustainable as possible. And last but not least, the access to nature is unparalleled at Makunudu Island. We will be back to Makunudu and hope to make it a yearly stop.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Frantisek from Czech Republic
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in July 2013
Amazing relaxing island
Diving, snorcheling, relaxation
Very relaxing place, rarely unspoiled ocean and beaches, romantic athmosphere of indian ocean island. Definetely recomended for divers due to splendid dive sites (sharks, stingrays, huge manta-rays, turtles etc), local reef good for snorcheling, but rather shallow (with low tide watch your belly :), reef drops to about 20m at least 100-150m from shoreline, so this is not very comfortable for freediving. Crystal clean water, especially out of sand banks, where visibility drops a lot due to whirling sand, otherwise visibility perfect more then 30m, sometimes unbelieveable views on dive, hovering on safety stop and seeing the whole walley bellow with sleeping sharks, mantas flying around .. sometimes encountering dolphins, crew will stop the boat, jump into and just swim with them, getting very close - I was 2m from group of 15-25 dolphins, though they were not in mood to play, still exceptional experience. Bungallows ok, small lizards inside (making annoying sounds during night), clima cool, half board not enough when diving, limited possibility to buy snacks, expensive water and non-alcoholic drinks, not even included in allinclusive - for adventures you can boil water and make tea (free). Windsurfing free, catamaran rides also free. Dive-ocean agency - very good stuff, nice and experienced. Not much to do except diving though. Sun glasses necessary (2x to cover lost - happened to me - luckily they were back next morning sticking from sand exactly where they were splashed to the sea :). Robinson Crusoe feel overall, no disco etc. very calm and time to think or just relax. Recomended for the price !
Reviewed August 07, 2013

irem from Turkey
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in March 2013
relaxing. excellent snorkeling. old rooms.
excellent snorkeling. position of the rooms. close to airport
makunudu island is a nice and small island with excellent snorkeling opportunity. They also offer free snorkeling trip. We had our 5 year old boy with us and he was the only child on the island.But it is a child friendly hotel and beaches are suitable for children. We also had no problem with the food regarding the child and they were kind enough to ask if we needed anything extra for the child. Food was a little above avarage. especially nice dinners.The only downside of the hotel is the rooms are really old. This standart does not really match the price. But if you're ok with less comfort ande more nature u will be fine.
Reviewed April 03, 2013

Jeremy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Perfect hideaway
Try the Sand Bank Affaire!
This was not my first trip to Makunudu island: I holidayed there twice before, in 1990 and 1994, and was highly impressed on both occasions. So, after 19 years absence, I was intrigued to find out if the place was the same as I remembered... Well, little had changed, except that this place was even better than I remembered! Peaceful, beautiful and relaxed. The staff are unobtrusive, friendly and smiling (our waiter - Ahmed has worked on this island for 25 years). The HB-included activities, night fishing, and reef snorkelling are great fun (even on previous diving holidays I never got up that close and personal to Manta rays and giant turtles). The restaurant food in particular is excellent, and we opted for their special Sand Bank Affaire excursion: A must-do private lobster dinner for 2 on a tiny sandbank miles from anywhere in the middle of the Indian Ocean. This is a perfect destination for couples or for holidaymakers who are looking for peace and privacy. There's no swimming pool, no discos, no televisions, telephones or wifi. They even have their own "Makunudu time zone", so you really do feel like you've gotten away from it all.
Reviewed March 09, 2013

Hiroshi from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Good
Good
During my stay in this hotel, I was able to spend very comfortable.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Michael from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
great scuba diving spot
scuba diving, food, beautiful surrounding ocean
The resort is literally a tiny plot of land in the middle of the Indian ocean. The beaches are perfect and the water is full of life. I saw a huge turtle one morning while snorkeling in 4 feet of water right outside my bungalow. The scuba diving is also great, which is the main reason i went to the island. The food is also well prepared, and the chef will accommodate to any specific food allergies/concerns you have which was also very nice. Only downside for me was the island had no wifi and you have to pay $5 every half hour to use the one computer that does have internet on the island. Also, if you are not a fan of lizards and ants, then you probably will not like the bungalows since you will definitely see some of them crawling around. Its no big deal though, it comes with the territory.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Barend from Netherlands
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Quiet Spacious Resort with Excellent swimming
Superb snorkelling and food off excelent quality.
We stayed 5 days on this islandresort and enjoyed very much of it. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We would choose this resort again in the future.
Reviewed October 04, 2012

Florence from France
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Fabulous "robinson crusoe" island
Small, simple but tasteful, friendly, with a great dive school!
Given I was traveling on my own, I was a bit worried about finding the right place to stay and Makunudu was perfect. If you like a more intimate and low-key atmosphere, this is the place. The bungalows are set back from the beach: none of these rather overwhelming water villas here...its the Maldives like it was a few years back and retains a very natural feel to it. The island is small and with 36 rooms in total, everyone still seems to have their own private beach. Snorkeling is amazing and the dive school is just superb. The food is also good (with the exception of desert...) and the cocktail bar on the beach at sunset is heavenly.
Reviewed July 24, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: