Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 69 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 6.9
Sort by

Annette from Denmark
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Great Hotel
Good service, friendly staff, centre for guided tours
Reviewed February 10, 2016

David from Israel
Couples
Superior
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Great atmosphare and helpfull information center
Orgenized a 2 day trek. Aranged shared taxi to Mandalay.
We stayed only for one night before the trek.
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Sinead from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Excellent value, helpful staff
Great hot shower, treks organised very easily, onward travel organised & booked at no extra cost
I really enjoyed it. I arrived tired after a long journey & was glad to be able to organise an overnight trek reall easily, within an hour of getting there. They hold your bag for you in a locked room while you are trekking. My only complaint would be the restaurant. Staff unwilling to throw in a few veggies into my chicken curry even when I offered to pay extra. Not the best service compared to the rest of the hotel.
Reviewed November 29, 2015

Azrrik from United States
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
not a great value
clean
the air con barely cooled the room and was so noisy it kept us up half the night. it also leaked water. there was never any hot water in the shower. the internet was so slow it was useless.
Reviewed May 05, 2015

Tibo from France
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Impressive staff and good trekking
Fantastic staff, good location, good hikes
Reviewed April 27, 2015

Hebah from United States
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Great Place if You Need a Taste of Home
Beds, Location, Food
Loved everything about it. Upgraded us for free even when there was a misunderstanding. The staff were so nice. TV, soft beds, great little town, trekking awesome, and so comfortable.
Reviewed April 13, 2015

jessica from Australia
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
tops
goid hsipaw base
Short and effective
Reviewed January 13, 2015

Natalia from Poland
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
Good place for trekking arrangements
Location close to the dining area, experienced guides available for consult / trek arrangements, responsive personnel
The greatest benefit was the trekking know-how available on-site, treks could be arranged basically one day in advance, very proffesional and flexible guides. Staff in general were very helpful, breakfast was also good but we would not recommend the restaurant - overpriced, service - non-existent. The room was also quite pricey - too much for its cleanliness level.
Reviewed December 19, 2014

Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Perfect location and comfort for exploration
Good value rooms. Attentive staff. Excellent breakfast.
Good choice of accommodation if you want good quality at a very reasonable price. Staff were very friendly and reacted quickly to any questions/problems you had. I had a problem with a leaking shower and they immediately moved me to another room. There was no trying to fix it whilst I remained in the room. Breakfast was buffet style and a good choice of Myanmar and Western food. Probably one of the best breakfasts during my 3-week stay in Myanmar. If you want to go trekking from 1 to 3 days then the hotel is a good place to arrange that with guides who visit during the afternoon/early evening between 4pm and 6pm. Transport from the hotel meets the train from Mandalay. However it can get full as most people head to this hotel or the guesthouse of the same name next door. If there's no room then it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the station and easy to find. Having been on the train for 12 hours it was good to stretch the legs.
Reviewed December 07, 2014

Charles from United States
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Simply the Best
The friendliness of the staff, their attention to detail in providing services that travelers need, and the good value of the spotless rooms.
It is a rare and pleasant surprise when traveling that you come upon an establishment such as Mr. Charles Hotel and Guesthouse. Mr. Charles two daughters and son-in-law do a magnificent job in providing travelers with everything they need. Their attention to detail, their daily friendly smiles, and their going out of the way in order to make your stay there a pleasant one is seldom seen in other places. An example is the guides who meet there every morning to answer questions and make suggestions about all the treks available. It was by far the best place I stayed in during my month of traveling in Myanmar. And a very good value for the beautiful accommodations. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed December 05, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: