Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 198 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.9
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food and dining 6.4
Sort by

tata from Hong Kong
Solo travelers
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Convenience hotel in town
Backyard hotel is pretty well located . Staff were friendly , I love the kitchen staff :) they made me feel so welcoming . Food was good in price & quality . The location is in thamal , a bit in the back of the street . Which gives the customers a way to escape from the Crowds . It only takes 5-8 mins to walk back to there :). rooftop was amazing ! My room is spacious & cool . Thanks 4 hosting me :) .
Reviewed February 23, 2016

shek from Malaysia
Couples
Super Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Comfortable stay
We are glad that we are given a much bigger room from what we have booked. The hotel just located behind the happening street which provide quieter stay. The staff is helpful. Only electricity supply is not consistent which happened to most of the hotels in Kathmandu.
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Makylee from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Best place to stay!!
Friendly and welcoming staff, rooms were equipped with towels, hot water, and were clean. This place is situated in a small alley, behind a very busy tourist street, which was nice since it was a bit quieter. The view is very nice from the rooftop of the city. There's a restaurant on the rooftop, which serve a variety of foods including western foods. All at a very reasonable price. They also served a complimentary breakfast, which was very lovely! The kitchen staffs are extremely friendly, service with a smile always! This place offers a travel agent. It's nice, they book everything for you if you like and also recommend things to see/do. They're very relaxed people, not pushy at all and leave it to you. If you need to go anywhere, they also have a car available for hire. The drivers are very friendly. He picked us up from the airport always on time and also drop us off and picked us up at various places of our request. If you stay in Kathmandu, his place is worth while.
Reviewed January 30, 2016

Ghemar from Philippines
Solo travelers
Budget Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Dont be fooled by the room details/pics
Bed and linens
The Hotel offered a tv and telephone, when i checked in, the tv is not working and no telephone. When i complained to the reception the technician came but cannot repair the problem and left the tv rceiver, extra sockets and boxes scattered inside the room. He never returnd unitl we checked out. They mentioned in the room description, a DEDICATED toilet/bath is outside/near the room, i was also given the key, but one night when i used MY toilet, somebody is inside, i dont even know why he has the key.
Reviewed December 10, 2015

teppei from Japan
Business travelers
Super Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2015
Perfect Cost performance !!
Service , Staff , Location, big room all good enough !! next time also stay here absolutely !!
everything is good ! Location is very near to center town in Tamel. all good staff service ! room is clean and big enough.
Reviewed October 31, 2015

Liam from Ireland
Solo travelers
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Great value
Location, Value and friendly staff
Great value accommodation and location
Reviewed August 18, 2015

Clay from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015
Right on target for value
Staff was attentative. Breakfast good. Off Main Street, so somewhat quiet.
Reviewed August 07, 2015

Patrick from United States
Couples
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Excellent and Recommended
Staff attention to guests, location, great value
I will stay at Hotel Backyard when I am in Kathmandu again. The service is great as well as the tour planning. Every staff member goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

Patrick from United States
Couples
Deluxe Double or Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Great Value with Welcoming Staff
Helpful Staff, Perfect Location, and Organized Activities
The staff of Hotel Backyard was very accommodating and did everything to make sure every aspect of our trip was enjoyed and memorable. The moment we woke up for breakfast we enjoyed the warm greetings of the staff to make our meal fit to our needs. Attentiveness did not end here, but the staff were very careful to ensure my interests were met into planning each day of my stay in Nepal were satisfied. Exceptional tourist locations were chosen and timings were perfect during the day to witness and celebrations and traditions that we're going on. After a long fun filled day of sightseeing we were able to relax very comfortably in our well powered air conditioned clean room. Whenever we were met by staff, they always ensured our happiness by asking us how our day went and if we required anything (usually tea or coffee). The wifi signal was strong and present in our room and the dining area, which provided a good view of the mountain areas. Despite being in a country that was recently stricken by earthquakes, we didn't feel any effect of it at Hotel Backyard. We were just met with exceptional service, in a superb room, located at the heart of Kathmandu's tourist facilities. Thank Yu and will return!
Reviewed July 29, 2015

Eduardo from Philippines
Solo travelers
Super Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
A friendly hotel at the heart of Thamel
Staff service, location and price
We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Backyard. We were really treated as VIP guests. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and they speak Good English. There were not so many guests at that time probably because of the post-earthquake concerns but everything has been back to normal. We did not experience or at least feel any aftershock and the restaurants and shops are all back to business. The hotel itself was very much in good condition. The heritage sites are all open, except for Changu Narayan, and they were absolutely fantastic.
Reviewed June 30, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: