Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1123 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food and dining 7.9
Sort by

Edmon from Philippines
Families with young children
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Old, dimly lit rooms
near the beach, shuttle service, quiet place
The rooms are quite small for tripple sharing and they are dimly lit. Not very suitable for young children because of bugs. We were quite unsatisfied with the "value for money" of their buffet; they have very few choices of food. and since the dining place is just right next to the shore even birds are accessible to their buffet. for ala carte, it took them 45minutes to prepare our sauteed vegetables.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Edmon from Philippines
Families with young children
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Overrated... didn't meet my expectations
near the beach, has a pool, shuttle service
It totally didn't meet my expectations... it's supposed to be a world class hotel. The rooms are quite old. Their system is a bit chaotic, some stuff would give out false information (e.g. they called us 3 days before the visit and they informed us that we could check-in at at 10am so we took the 8am boat ride going to the island and when we get there the front desk told us that our room will be available at 2pm. having small kids with me it is really a difficult situation.)
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Diorelani from Philippines
Families with young children
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
relaxing (except for the renovation part)
nice beach, a lot fishes, preserved island
we spent an overnight stay in pearl farm to celebrate my husband's birthday. it was actually our first time there and was really excited. however, i received an email regarding their renovation weeks before our stay. honestly, i was disappointed to know that the swimming pool near our hilltop room was being renovated. i just wish that they informed the guests prior the reservation. but since it was too late for us to cancel, we just had to go with it. i was thinking of having a dinner by the beach or pool for my husband and my dad who will also celebrate his 60th. so, i emailed the office and asked for their rates. i was again disappointed to know that they were asking an additional Php2,000 for the arrangement on top of the dinner buffet. i thought it was too much so i declined. on the day we were there, we bought some biscuits, water, juice and softdrinks for my kid because he's picky with his food. the officers/attendants from the wharf was strict and had to confiscate the softdrinks but allowed everything else after explaining that it was for my son. when we had our dinner i was hoping they could at least give my husband a slice of cake or maybe any kind of dessert as complimentary since i mentioned that it was his birthday. but unfortunately nothing came not even a group of waiters to just greet my husband and dad. i've been to several hotels/resorts all over the philippines and i must say that this hotel is not even close to my standards. here are my comments: pros: if you want out of the busy city and just have a quiet stay with your loved ones this is the place to be, it's not crowded. it has beautiful beach, close to nature, polite staff. still a must try (even if they need a lot of things to change, a day trip will do) if you're in davao cons: the resort is a bit old. small tv, no internet in the room, wifi was only at the lobby area (it was near the temporary restaurant but the signal was so poor it couldnt even reach the resto) the food is so
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Kenneth from Philippines
Families with young children
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
excellent stay.
location itself to the city, if you love nature you'll this hotel.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Kenneth from Philippines
Families with young children
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
excellent.
wifi connection is poor
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Angela from Philippines
Groups
Samal House
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Relaxing stay
good ocean view from samal suite, good facilities, quite surroundings
Overall, our stay was fantastic. The buffet meals has a wide variety of options. Fantastic ocean view from samal suite
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Anina from Philippines
Couples
Samal House
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Awesome ocean view
Clean, Organized, Very friendly and accommodating staff
The resort is very well maintained. You can see the staff making sure the guests' needs are entertained and that the resort (including the shore) is clean. The entire place gives a cozy and peaceful feel. The only thing that is probably a downside is the expensive food.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Anina from Philippines
Couples
Samal House
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
awesome location and service
great customer service, nice balcony view, clear waters,
The Samal house was very cozy and I loved the fact that it's built on water and it has a very nice view. The customer service in the resort is very excellent. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was delicious but super expensive. The room had a few cockroaches too. Nonetheless, my stay was pleasant. I like how the resort is well-maintained and generally clean.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ronius from Singapore
Solo travelers
Samal House
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Lovely resort, great place to relax
Beautiful waters, great service, good food, fantastic massage
There are so many resorts in the Philippines, this was my lucky pick. The service was really great from the time I reach the resort from their dedicated jetty on Davao. The waters are so clear you can see the fishes swimming in the waters so clearly. The little hut that I stayed was perched just above the waters so you can listen to the sound of waves which is absolutely lovely. The hut faces the open sea, so you get a great view of the open sea. Everything worked well and I get to enjoy the privacy and relaxed stay, except for a bird which happen to have made a nest somewhere in a hidden area of the hut and making some noise occasionally. The food is really good. The massage was very relaxing too. There is also water sports services at the resort so you won't be bored with the stay there. Enjoyed every minute of my stay there :)
Reviewed March 10, 2013

pacita from Philippines
Families with young children
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Lovely hotel and service is excellent
The creation of native houses turns a perfect paradise room hotel
great apportunity to stay to well organize ,classic and historical design hotel.the staff is really there if you need them.they wear smile and greetings allways.food is really good ,,,beautiful place if you want to be away from the city.
Reviewed March 01, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: