Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1123 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.7
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food and dining 7.9
Sort by

wolfgang from Germany
Couple
Samal House
Stayed 7 nights in February 2013
The best romantic week ever
warm, sea, nice people
I wanted to cancel the reservation, when I read some comment in internet. But I´m happy that I didn´t.We have never had such a romantic week before. Excelent weather, friedly staff...even when they renovated one part of resort, we didn´t have any negative experience. Every night life music, we joined the special "party" to celebrate chinese New Year and also Valentines´ day. For this I would give 11 points from 10. But it had also some minus: e.g. - very poor WLAN, almost impossible to use internet. No internet in Rooms, by pool, beach. When you were lucky, 1 in 5-times you could open some web-pages... Second minus is for expensive lunch or dinner breakfats. I think per person is quit much to much. and you have no other possibility. Ok, you did. you could have a cold pizza or other meal from menu list.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Mikael from Philippines
Couple
Samal House
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Great hotel in Davao
Big rooms!
Service was outstanding. Staff are always very helpful, especially on the needs concerning my toddler son. We stayed Samal room. It was simple and comfortable. I believe I will always choose Samal as my accommodation every time I go there. Food was delicious albeit expensive. The food spread during buffet was not as much as the main restaurant was under renovation, but they are tasty nonetheless. This is the getaway that I will never get tired of going to. Pearl Farm ensures privacy and quiet while enjoying the most simplest of things: eating, swimming, sleeping.
Reviewed February 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Jonathan from United Kingdom
Family with older children
Samal House
Stayed one night in January 2013
Lovely place but a bit old.
Friendly staff.
It was a plesant stay even if they renovating the main hotel location. pool, restaurant and the pagoda.
Reviewed February 25, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Jenanne from Canada
Couple
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Some ups and downs but wonderful staff
The staff were very helpful
The hotel in its prime is an amazing place but unfortunately the management decided to renovate 2/3rds of the hotel during Chinese New Year holiday which is absolutely nuts in my mind. This caused over half the resort to not he accessible to guests and have a make-shift front desk and restaurant set up. They made due and the service did not suffer. It's a gorgeous part of the Philippines and very relaxing HOWEVER writing about guests secretly on the accommodation list is unacceptable for full reason that they may see it , which I did. They knew thy had messed up and dealt with it accordingly but I was still hurt and upset that it happened Overall it was a nice stay but would not go back unless the renovations were completely done DO NOT EAT AT THE MARINA RESTAURANT WHEN YOU'RE WAITING FOR THE ferry to the island'!!! Completely gross and a fortune!!!!
Reviewed February 23, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Mattias from Switzerland
Couple
Mandaya House
Stayed one night in August 2011
The Classic Hotel for Davao-visitors
Quietness, Vegetation, spacious and comfortable Rooms
We stayed at a Mondaya House a little away from the center pool and reception. The room was spacious and comfortable and we really enjoyed the nature and vegatation that was set up around. For the price, we got what we wanted but also not significantly more. Service is not so proactive, more in the sense of "ask and we will help you". Nontheless, i'd recommend this hotel to everyone who visits Davao (especially couples!) with a bit more budget at their disposal.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Mohammed from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Samal House
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
marvellous location and ideal for couples.
Great location
We stayed only 2 nights but the the whole experience was wonderful. If you have children with you, you need to keep a careful eye on them to avoid them straying on to the balcony overlooking the sea. My only complaint is that the evening buffet dinner was very expensive since you are a captive customer.If there were other restaurants nearby, I was unaware of them. On balance, a very relaxing stay.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

julie from Philippines
Couple
Mandaya House
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Loveliest hotel in Samal Island
They have a private island exclusive only for hotel's guests called malipano island which is really beautiful
The resort is really great with very accommodating and nice attendants. The facilities are way way better than I expected. The food is just so expensive, and they will charge you corkage fees if you bring outside food/snacks. The water sports activities like jetski, wakeboarding (yes they do have a wake park along the beach of the private island called malipano) which they are promoting have their own charges too. (Even kayaks). The buffet breakfast is good too, with lots of choices. The resort is very secured with their guests, you can't leave and join island hopping of other locals without signing a waiver. Overall, if not for the expensive food, and activities I'll give this hotel a perfect rate.
Reviewed February 19, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Lolita from Philippines
Group
Hilltop Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Peace and Quiet
Soooo friendly and attentive staff
We were a group of six college classmates who just wanted to enjoy being together without the usual crowd of beach merrymaking. The Samal pearl farm is simly the perfect place for us. We were free to lazily hang around and laugh, eat and enjoy the beautiful scenery and the ocean breeze. The food we ordered for dinner and snacks tasted good. We would have enjoyed more variety in the complimentary breakfast, although, the choices were rather plenty. I particularly liked the sweet fruits and the congee with garlic and century egg toppings. The old rooms need a bit of renovation and modernization, but the hilltop has a beautiful view and value for money.
Reviewed February 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Jovanah from Philippines
Couple
Samal House
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
great hotel with great service!
Great for both solo and family travelers! will definitely check in again.
Reviewed February 18, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

RAFAEL from Philippines
Group
Hilltop Standard
Stayed one night in January 2013
Great location but expensive.
Nice place to relax
Good thing the room was upgraded to Samal otherwise hill top rooms are quite far. Not a lot of physical activities to do. Good for honeymooners. Good buffet selection. Dining was expensive if not included in the package.
Reviewed February 08, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: