Very good 7.9
Based on 1209 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1209 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Room comfort and quality 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food and dining 7.7
Sort by

Katherine from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Expected More - Ants all over the room
Friendly Staff, complete breakfast, nice pool area
Overall an okay stay. The room was spacious but needs renovations. There were ants crawling all over the washroom and mini bar area. When we called front desk requesting to switch rooms, the attendant said that the ants can't be avoided. Expected more for my money, would rate it a 2-3 out of 5. The staff was friendly and the buffet breakfast was complete.
Reviewed December 07, 2015

Joseph from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
A bit confusing start but a good finish
staff is polite, room is nice and spacious, 24/7 facilities
After I checked in, they told me the room was in Building 2. My wife and I went there and spent 5 minutes trying to find our room. Since the room number started with a 3, I thought maybe it's not actually in Building 2 but in Building 3. Luckily, it was indeed in Building 3 (directions were wrong and unclear). The room was nice and clean but the air conditioning is a bit old and I literally can hear the conversation of the other room because there seems to be a jammed door between the two rooms (though you can't open it or turn the knob). I woke up from my afternoon nap because their noises were loud that I thought they entered my room. Food selection was decent for the breakfast buffet especially the Filipino delicacies. Some of the appliances were a bit old though like the coffee maker and the toaster. However, their coffee shop has a limited selection of cakes and almost all of the cakes are poor in taste and flavor. Would stay here again but only for special occasions.
Reviewed November 30, 2015

Apollo from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Insular
location
Reviewed November 25, 2015

George from United States
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Upscale without the price
Staff, landscaping, security
The stay got off to a bit of a shaky start when it was announced at checkin that there were no King beds available. Staff was very accommodating in driving towards a solution and it ended up with an upgrade at no cost and a King bed. Only disappointment was the breakfast buffet. Although there were several entrees there was a lack of variety in meat. A breakfast sausage, sliced hot dogs which tasted the same, bangus fish, but no bacon, ham, or traditional breakfast offerings. Even the omelette station only had vegetables. They said we could grab meat from the buffet and they would add it to the omelette....only issue was i did not want a hot dog or fish omelette. Outside of the breakfast buffet I highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay
Reviewed November 22, 2015

Victoria from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Premium Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Davao and my hotel
Rooms were big, free breakfast buffet was great and service was good
I enjoyed my stay and the hotel staff were all very friendly.
Reviewed November 21, 2015

Nichakarn from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
A place for relaxation
Ambiance, space, Nature
Far off from the city. but it has its own beach. Low wifi signal at the far end building. no elevator - if you have big luggage you'd need to help yourself.
Reviewed November 18, 2015

Joselito from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
satisfactory
staff are very friendly
ok
Reviewed November 15, 2015

Douglas from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Grand old hotel of Davao
Location and view, well manicured grounds, good service
I enjoyed my most recent stay at the Insular, I have been frequenting this establishment on and off for the past 38 years. The Insular was once home to the Davao power elite, many a business deal was struck in the quite corners of the Zonta Bar but this is no longer the case. The rich and powerful have moved on for newer climes, leaving a somewhat aging but well maintained classic hotel with still by far the best waterfront views of any establishment in the City. It appears to have largely remade itself into a conference and events centre for local, regional and national governments. I still favour this place though it is quite, relaxing and removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown with less gridlock out in Lanag. Service is still pretty good, the staff are friendly, the grounds are well kep and the pool is in great shape. The bar out on the pier however is long gone, probably due to security concerns, Nevertheless, a safe hotel.
Reviewed November 11, 2015

Mark from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Expensive hotel!
Friendly, Nature friendly ambiance and PWD-friendly
It was a nice and relaxing stay although you can get these from ordinary hotel. Waterfront should improve the quality of their beds, ac, etc. There is nothing special in the buffet breakfast they serve.
Reviewed November 11, 2015

Patria from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Nice place , peaceful and quiet
Room availabilty, Food and Pool area
Front desk informed us that the hotel was fully booked due to several affairs and they gave away our room to accommodate other guests and upgraded our regular room to a junior suite with no extra charge.
Reviewed November 10, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: