Excellent 8.8
Based on 46 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 46 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.0
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 9.4
Sort by

Sebastian from Australia
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Your private boutique island resort
The most beautiful small island surrounded by incredibly clear turquoise water. We felt like we were on our own private island as there were only 3 or 4 other couples there. Plenty of live coral and tropical fish to see whilst snorkeling. Our hut is literally on the beach so we would enjoy swimming before breakfast and throughout the day. Very attentive staff took care of us. Beautiful decor. The food was delicious every meal but we are not fussy eaters. Food is served at scheduled times. 8-9:30 am Breakfast, 2pm lunch and 8pm dinner. If you are a fussy eater make sure you sort out your meals at least a few weeks before you go by emailing them your food preferences. They will not be able to create meals or dishes with short notice because they need to ship in all the food to the island.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Penny from Australia
Solo traveler
Beach Front Cottage
Stayed 6 nights in December 2012
Luxury deserted island
beautiful getaway location with impeccable service
Worth the 2hrs+ to get there as it can't be beaten for privacy and seclusion. Gorgeous setting with beautifully decorated rooms. And because there are so few rooms the service is very attentive. Don't be lulled into an "upgrade" - the beachfront cabins are an ideal way to lie in bed and watch the sunrise & set and just a few steps into the surrounding coral reef. Bring a big appetite because you won't be able to stop yourself from eating all of the amazing food they serve up - and there is plenty of it! Perfect for relaxing - not the palce to go if you are looking for non-stop activities and adventures. Although there are plenty of things I didn't get to in my 6 nights.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

Albert from Russia
Couple
Beach Front Cottage
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012
it mas uncreadadle and friendly hotel
fantastic, terrific sighseeing
frankly speaking, it was one of the best trip in my life. it was very tiny private island. the owner are capable, profound couple. they are provide us very nice, comfortable and unprescedentable rest.we tested delicious cuisine every passing day. it were fantastic days. the staff very friendly, kindly and professionaly. we were enjoied.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Jeremie from France
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
A piece of paradise
Location, food and staffs
It has been an incredible stay. The island is beautiful, a bit long to reach but it is definitely worth it. The food is absolutely fine and delicious from breakfast to dinner; I am a food lover and having such a food in such a place is difficult to believe at the beginning. The bungalow was very nice and well equiped and the beach is amazing.. A piece of paradise
Reviewed November 16, 2012

JANET from Hong Kong
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 6 nights in October 2012
Island with a touch of Style
best coral reefs, white sand beach, good food
going to mangenguey from sea dive restauant took us 1.5 hrs by boat. while on the boat you get to see beautiful scenery of mountains and other islands. when we arived in mangenguey island, we were welcome by mangenguey staff with their umbrella. we stayed there for 6days and we felt like we were just visiting our relatives we haven't seen for long time. thank you to helena, who made sure that we have only the best food during our stay. and to richard, who gave us a tour to the island. if you want a quiet vacation, out of the city, then this is the right island to go!
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Jules from France
Couple
Beach Front Cottage
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Best Island Hotel ever in Philippines
Calm of the Island, Front beach bungalow, Food
We spent 4 nights on Mangenguey Island, Very sad to leave this even on earth… The hotel is really perfect, if you are use to travel in the philippines you will be very impressed by the quality of the service, the calm of the island, the very clean beach and the food. How come you have a parma ham and petit pain au chocolate with croissant on the island ?? The room are charming and only few on the island so you are very often alone on the beach. It's perfect without kids. Hotel resort provide snorkels. Really best hotel in Philippines, thanks to the hotel team. Please note there is 2hours boat to get to the hotel from Coron . Just contact them they will handle everything for you
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rachel from United Kingdom
Group
Beach Front Cottage
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012
Paradise island with style
Beautiful water and beach, healthy snorkeling reef, homey welcoming ambience, simple but stylish, great food, friendly staff. And no mosquitoes or sand flies!
This is the real deal. Though it may seem pricey for the simplicity of the rooms, they are simple but stylish and comfortable enough. Ours opened straight onto the beautiful beach, the kind of view you dream of. The beach is small but stunning, the water amazing, and the reef though small is very healthy - none of the dead coral so common sadly these days. The hosts are eccentric but welcoming and the food delicious (though the breakfast gets a bit samey). This island is remote, don't expect to party here. No discos no TV (the rooms in the house do have small ones), be sure to bring your own fun. There is a pool table and backgammon/chess in the bar area. And the sea crossing from Coron took me 3 hours, so be prepared for that. I came with a friend, and we both loved it. Everyone else was in a couple. They describe it as barefoot luxury and I think that's fair.
Reviewed October 06, 2012

david from United Kingdom
Couple
Beach Front Cottage
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Unique and inspiring experience
seclusion
A very special place, where the guest is literally that (ie not just a customer), with seclusion, security and personality. A chance to live like a 5* castaway. Mangenguey is not a readily 'categorisable' experience and requires effort from the 'customer'.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Genevieve from Australia
Couple
Beach Front
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Unique stunning hotel with incredible service.
one of a kind experience, charming rooms
Mangenguey is an incredibly unique experience where you get to experience Helena's dream island. The food is spanish inspired and you'll no doubt put on a few kilos! The boat ride is a bit of a mission to get to the island however again worth it once you get there. The island isn't for travellers that want a scene or party as this is a completely remote island where you're at one with the beach and a book.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

James from United States
Couple
2 Bedroom Cottage
Stayed 5 nights in March 2012
Nearly out of this world
location, food, comfort in the eco-mode
Whoever seeks quiet, natural beauty and gourmet treats should not be disappointed. Owing to sudden cancellations we were the only guests for four blissful days of sunshine. That suited me fine as I am not a gregarious traveller. There is not much to do for someone determined to lead an active life while there. Apart from swimming, snorkeling and rowing in the gorgeous archipelago the only options are surfing on the days when that is possible and a rather challenging clamber around jagged limestone cliffs at the seaside to a cave complex, which unfortunately we did not see after abandoning the attempt in the face of heavy waves. A nature walk around the not too high hill behind the resort is an easier alternative. The water is crystal clear, the reef only 30-40 yards offshore full of colorful life, and always there is the next meal to look forward to. Helena's cooking is truly outstanding. Some may complain that the breakfast of fresh fruit, assorted breads of the highest quality and coffee is boring after a while, but not I. The double suites on the second floor of the main building are a step up from the cottages to an impressive level of luxury. These would be especially attractive for a party of four.
Reviewed April 15, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: