Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 2105 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.9
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 6.8
  • Food and dining 6.3
Sort by

Caiyun from Singapore
Groups
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Not value for money
Centralised location in Singapore
Overall, it was not a value for money stay. Had stayed in several hotels overseas with cheaper per night rates, and were more comfortable than Hotel Royal. 1. Paid for extra bed, but the makeshift bed was uncomfortable. The bed was only set up after check-in was completed and had to call the reception to ask why the room had only 2 beds. 2. Ground floor lobby has cigarette smell, assuming its from the KTV lounge on that floor. 3. The toiletries such as liquid hand soap were not replenished when finished This should not be the standard for a self-rated "4-star hotel". 4. No security control for guestrooms floors. There is no need to tap the room card when using the lift to access the guestrooms floors. There is also no security guard at the lift lobby.
Reviewed July 24, 2015

Simon from Singapore
Solo travelers
Executive Suite
Stayed 7 nights in July 2015
Rather old building
Seriously, cannot think of anything.
Did not expect much.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Valentine from Malaysia
Families with older children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Hotel Royal
Very unpleasant. Firstly arrived at hotel from a flight at around 1pm and had to wait till 3:45pm for our rooms. Front desk staff cant really communicate well (staff didnt really understand english as they were either from korea or china, with some elderly locals who did nothing to help the situation) nor was the service as expected (was rude or they just plain ignore you). Sadly one of the very worst of front desk reception received. Rooms smell bad; musty, dinky kind of smell which even after spraying air freshener did not help as it came back. Pillows were lumpy foam things which was extremely uncomfortable as was the bed. They have a night club downstairs (directly in lobby area) and you tend to see lots of "sexily clad" girls plying their wares when they walk in and out of the club, which by the way is not pleasant for children if so happen to bounce into them. Secondly this hotel apparently is the hotel of choice for tour groups and you can imagine the noise levels generated whenever a tour group checks in (very frequently over the course of the day during our stay there)
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Valentine from Malaysia
Families with older children
Family Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2015
Feels like
Location
Not pleasant at all. Firstly arrived at hotel from a flight at around 1pm and had to wait till 3:45pm for our rooms. Front desk staff cant really communicate well (staff didnt really understand english as they were either from korea or china, with some elderly locals who did nothing to help the situation) nor was the service as expected (was rude or they just plain ignore you). Sadly one of the very worst of front desk reception received. Room was ok but lousy shower and lousy lumpy foam pillows that smell bad (one of the 4 that was on the bed). Carpets not properly vacuumed and dusty. Bedroom slippers were the really old fashioned heavy rubber flip flops (thought these were obsolete in the high end starred hotel world and was only used in those really low low no star hotel or hourly hotel. Bad reflection of hotel status. Overall if I had known, I would have never stay here, nor will I ever will. Avoid if possible.
Reviewed July 22, 2015

Hee from Malaysia
Families with young children
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Locality
Spacious, Cleanliness, Quiet
NO TAXI to take when going to downtown!!!!!!!! Have to use bus. If there is no taxi, hotel should provide shuttle bus service.
Reviewed July 20, 2015

Robin from Malaysia
Families with young children
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Great hotel
Spacious room, ample parking and strategic location
We travelled last year December 2014. The hotel was great and worth the money. The check-in staff was friendly and thoughtful. Though the furnitures were a bit run down, but we satisfied with the stay.
Reviewed July 15, 2015

CHAI from Malaysia
Couples
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
the bed very good
friendly staff but very slow. not enough parking lot
Great
Reviewed July 14, 2015

Yew from Singapore
Families with older children
Family Room
Stayed one night in June 2015
Ask for the new room
The new room is nice and spacious
Very good. My mom like this hotel more than fort canning hotel . Good for elderly. Comes with kitchen some more. Old people don't like transparent toilets.
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Yew from Singapore
Families with older children
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Ok stay
Average lah
Ok loh
Reviewed July 13, 2015

Ari from Indonesia
Business travelers
Family Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Great room for a family
Location, room and pricing
I'm a regular customer kept coming back because I'm very satisfied with the hotel.
Reviewed July 13, 2015


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: