Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 160 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.0
  • Service 6.4
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food and dining 5.4
Sort by

trenton from United States
Solo travelers
Double
Stayed one night in September 2013
convenient for one or two nights
location, convenience, decent
this is a hostel. the location is real good. 5 minute walk to metro station. 10 minute walk to myeongdong. 5 minute walk to lotte department store. many restaurants and pubs in area. the room was a basic hostel. bed was decent, toilet and shower was also decent. it was clean. no towels or necessities provided. wifi in room there is a security code to enter the building. if i'm not mistaken there was a communal kitchen as well.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Chan from Singapore
Couples
Double
Stayed one night in September 2013
Very Near to subway
Free Wifi Available, Free international Call
Hotel was conveniently located almost next to the subway station. hotel was decently clean. Shower head was spoilt and leaking. Water leaked out from the toilet into our room. Other than that, all was great.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bradley from United States
Business travelers
Double
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
You get what you pay for
price, location, helpful staff
The hostel is clean and well run. It is well worth the money and the location cannot be beat.
Reviewed September 09, 2013

Anjelica from United States
Couples
Double
Stayed one night in August 2013
Low price, low frills
Price, location, staff
I stayed at the Myeongdong Hostel twice. First, be aware: the sign on the front says in English "Seoul Backpackers Hostel." It only says Myeongdong Hostel in handwritten Hanguel on a small piece of paper, taped to the front door. This caused me to pass by it twice. Night 1, boyfriend and I stayed in a double room. We were in room 301. It actually had a double bed and a single bed, and the bathroom was just a walled off section of the room with see-through walls. This was a bit inconvenient. No towels or toiletries are provided, but there is a TV. The bed was so hard that I couldn't sleep. Ther was one small window, probably 20"x20". Night 2 we stayed in 404, another double room. This one was much smaller than 301, but the bed was also much softer and I was able to sleep quite comfortably. Again, no toiletries at all, but this time I asked for towels at the front desk and they were given to me cheerfully. 404 smelled a bit closed up, but the AC worked fine and it was aired out easily. Again, there was only a very small window, so no natural sunlight. That said, I really liked this hostel. It was super cheap and a very good location, whether you are meeting at Lotte for the DMZ tour (as we were) or going shopping. The staff have native-level English and they are very, very helpful. They do take a 10,000W security deposit, which we didn't have to pay the first time as our first booking was through Agoda. I didn't wander around the facilities much, but they have a fridge for use, too. Definitely this is a frill-free place, but the cost and the location can't be beat.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

DANNY from United States
Solo travelers
Double
Stayed one night in July 2013
CONVENIENT
CLOSE TO SHOPPING DISTRICT, CHEAP, QUIET
OVERALL IT WAS OK BUT THE BEST WORD IS CONVENIENT.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Wing from Singapore
Families with older children
Family
Stayed 5 nights in July 2013
Great for Budget Travellers
Location, Inexpensive, Train station at doorstep
Myeongdong Hostel is centrally located near the famous Myeongdong shopping area. If you like to explore the city on foot, it is also within walking distance to Dongdaemun, Namdaemun and Seoul Station. I checked into a clean family en-suite room, with limited room amenities. However, beware that there are no elevator in the building, so expect to carry your luggage up to your assigned level (we were on the 5th floor!). Do roam around the neighborhood as you will find some authentic Korean restaurants patronised by the locals near the hotel at a reasonable price.
Reviewed August 05, 2013

Samuel from Singapore
Groups
Family
Stayed 6 nights in June 2013
Friendly helpful staff, facilites could be better
Friendly helpful staff, right next to train station, near shopping district
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, able to speak English, was extremely beneficial to navigating around Korea and locating areas off the usual tourist routes. Location is also extremely convenient, right beside a train station and the shopping district. Cons: Facilities are bare minimum, but functional.
Reviewed August 04, 2013

Kristine from Philippines
Groups
Family
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Shop, Walk, touristy Fun
Shop All You Can
Hostel is located across Lotte Hotel Myeongdong. Yes no elevators but those are short flights of stairs. Metro subway entrance is right around the corner.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Jamese from United States
Couples
Double
Stayed one night in June 2013
Good location
location, price, and convenience
Reviewed July 06, 2013

SHI from Malaysia
Couples
Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Worst. Toilet too smelly.
Near shopping area
I stay a day before visiting Jeju Island then back to the same guesthouse when back from Jeju Island. I found the toilet is smelly when staying at the 1st day and when we back there to stay for another 3 days, the toilet bad smelly getting worst until not able to sleep well and we have to on the ventilator all long day to reduce the bad smell. The WIFI is down 2 out of 3 days and no one taking action on it even I mentioned twice.
Reviewed April 19, 2013


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: