Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 670 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.3
  • Value for money 5.9
  • Food/Dining 5.8
Sort by

Juha-Matti from Finland
Business travelers
Standard Twin
Stayed one night in January 2014
No free internet big - for that. Only pay wifi.
location location location
Same ok hotel like before. Still no free Wifi! Wakeup musdt have free wifi to customers!
Reviewed February 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Belinda from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2014
good location for exploring fort area
good location. good restaurants nearby, close to train station
We stayed here for 1 night on way from beaches to the hill country. It was adequate for our needs. Room's could do with refurbishment. Good breakfast. Close to train station..
Reviewed February 08, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Vicknesh from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
The hotel should provided free WiFi
Friendly staff, easy access to restaurants and the rooms are good
My stay was good. The only thing i was upset about is that the hotel didnt provide free internet for the hotel guests.The breakfast menu needs upgrade.
Reviewed January 25, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Caroline from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Standard Twin
Stayed one night in January 2014
Great city hotel.
Location, value, easy to find
The City Hotel was in a good location, clean and good value for money.
Reviewed January 25, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Daniel from Sweden
Couples
Standard Twin
Stayed one night in December 2013
A big hotel that was very impersonal. Nice rooms
Clean, central, close to the bus and railway station
We spent one night here before going to Kandy by train. The hotel had great reviews on tripadvisor, but we did´nt think it was value for the money, we rather prefer smaller and more personal hotels. The hotel had a great breakfast on the top floor with nice view but unfortunately you could´nt sit outside because of the crows. We did´nt eat any dinner, so we cant review that. The room was very clean and had a nice small balcony with city view. It had a very comfortable big bed. One negative thing was no free internet, you had to buy time (1 ticket = 1 connection) and it was very slow.
Reviewed January 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

JOHN from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
We were very happy here
Location rooftop restaurant friendly staff
Great location great rooftop restaurant good. Food comfortable room good price as usual from agoda
Reviewed January 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

David from Australia
Couples
Standard Twin
Stayed one night in October 2013
Good location affordable city hotel
Location price roof bar
Reviewed January 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

David from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2013
Good quality affordable city hotel
Location cheap roof top bar
Reviewed January 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Logandran from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Standard Twin
Stayed one night in December 2013
great base to explore Colombo
location, location, location
The hotel was old, small and crowded. The room was clean, but worn and carpets perhaps a tad musty. But the staff were nice and honest, and the location amazing. It's right next to the old Dutch Hospital - converted into a hub of swanky but affordable restaurants, bustling at night. Right infront of it is the World Trade Center (which is a great way to get to the hotel, tell tuktuks to take to the WTC), 5 minute walk from the coast and walkable to many sights around the city. I'd stay here again.
Reviewed January 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

KOICHI from Japan
Business travelers
Standard Twin
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Price unsuitable room
Nothing
It was the worst hotel for me in 2013. dirty room unkind crew slow internet connection
Reviewed January 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: