2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1359 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1359 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Garry from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Classic hotel from the British Raj
Character, staff and facilities.
This is a very special hotel and when the refurbishment of the other wings is complete it could rate amongst the best places to stay to relive times long gone without missing out on today's important comforts. Really enjoyed Galle Face and will be back soon!
Reviewed April 11, 2015

isabelle from Belgium
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
1/3 only available for works Agoda didn't mention!
Location Pool view
We were quite surprised on arrival to discover that only 1/3 of the hotel was available because of works n progress. I understand that the oldest and more classic hotel of Colombo needs a complete make over here and then. But it was not what we paid for. Those informations were in the Gale Face website but not on the Agoda one! Nor did we receive an email to announce it. We felt desapointed and not very happy about our Agoda booking. A bit of a con!! We complained about it at the reception desk and they offered us a room with sea view and not thet noisy one behind the lift shaft that Agoda reserved for us. That to say, the staff, the pool, the buffet breakfast were excellent. We were pleased by the hotel. Not with Agoda. Another little disappointment was that we mention in an email that it was my husband birthday but they didn't made it special...
Reviewed April 06, 2015

Jonathan from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Colonial hotel not yet spoiled by renovations
History, architecture, location
Reviewed April 05, 2015

Caitlin from Canada
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
A perfect end to the trip
Staff, Service, Pool
After two weeks in Sri Lanka, the Galle Face Hotel was a perfect end to the trip. It was our big splurge at the end and it paid off well. The staff were wonderful and always on their toes to help! I really loved their museum room with the profiles on the previous notable guests who had stayed there, very interesting! Would definitely return!
Reviewed April 02, 2015

Sarah from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed one night in March 2015
Terrible, overrated
Very old rooms, creaky, felt very ripped off paying what we did to stay here.
Reviewed March 28, 2015

Jessica from Australia
Couple
Stayed one night in March 2015
Faded beauty
Service, beautiful gracious old building, great buffet breakfast
This hotel is like Elizabeth Taylor, beauty fading away slightly but the glamour is still there. The beautiful colonial building, prime position & perfect staff make it easy to forget the toilet takes a few turns to flush & the unreliable wifi. Would definitely stay again.
Reviewed March 26, 2015

Harvinder from Singapore
Family with young children
Stayed one night in December 2010
Can do for a historical hotel
Location, location and location
Alright
Reviewed March 17, 2015

BULENT from Belgium
Business traveler
Stayed one night in March 2015
1/4 of hotel is in renovation..noice & 3*service
Personeel & reception
It was suprise by welcome...we had room on korner side next to house keeping , Every morning u hear all house keeping Stuff & renovation guys too...i think if U get promotion room !!i gess this is the reason , Wel we find it not honnest. Great stuff wel, very friendlly , be carefull for cap or driver they charge x 3 time more, beter get a local taxi... Nice food on restourant , wel on the beach U dont get service directly, sometimes U have to wait more than aan hour before U get a waiter..so swimming pool is fine for to be 2* hotel swimming pool... We had anyway bad expireons by welcome in colombo...so dont belive in pictures.
Reviewed March 12, 2015

Diane from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed one night in March 2015
colonial splendour
30m long salt water pool, sunset cocktails, accommodating staff
Beautiful old colonial hotel, unfortunately undergoing some renovation during our stay which somewhat impeded the beach view- however a fantastic way St finishe a wonderful holiday.
Reviewed March 08, 2015

Marco from Italy
Group
Superior Room
Stayed one night in February 2015
Very Nice hotel but be careful which room is given
Location, features, style
we enjoyed our 2 stays in this hotel. we have been placed in a quite simple room on our first stay... Not impressed On the second stay we have been upgraded to the suit and... Wow...
Reviewed February 24, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: