2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1358 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1358 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Carolyn from United Kingdom
Family with older children
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Over priced with unresponsive staff
The pool, the sap and the location
We had to move room twice as they lost the booking , showed us a room overlooking a garbage skip then one the size of a postage stamp. Half the hotel is closed for refurbishment so the terrace is dusty .We were given the wrong bill at lunch so check ! We had to constantly chase up our drinks order. Check in was slightly chaotic. Overall disappointing with poor service.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Gaurav from India
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014
private beach
private beach
Room was ok. Beach was good. No other facilities.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Mary from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed one night in April 2014
The Galle Face is wonderful
location of sea, salt pool and great breakfast
Reviewed April 23, 2014

David from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Very dissapointing
location
Very dissapointing, currently being refurbished, we should have been told. All the gardens were closed, only one small patio and restaurant were open, but the price was the same.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nare from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed one night in April 2014
A nice Castle hotel but under renovaation
Breakfast, spacious bedroom and bathroom, friendly staff
1. Appreciated to the staff who helped me to catch the early morning train time with the follow up call and taxi arrangement. 2. Breakfast is very enjoyable 3. Bedroom and bathroom is as spacious as suite 4. Good price, but didn't inform me it was under renovation. Half of building is under construction
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Richard from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Historic hotel but currently under renovation
Architecture, design, location
The only disappointment was the renovations, but it's not just the Galle Face, half the city seems to be under reconstruction at the moment. The work effectively put two thirds of this historic hotel off limits and the reduced numbers of rooms available also meant I couldn't get a full sea view. But the noise hardly carried to the part of the hotel that remained open and the architecture, calm atmosphere, tastefully furnished room, sea-facing swimming pool and excellent breakfast were a joy. It was easy enough to get to other places in the city by simply walking out and flagging down one of the many three-wheelers that circulate constantly.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Vicki from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
2 days in Colombo
Have room, excellent staff, good good
We had booked 2 days at the hotel to relax before returning home and that's what we exactly did. We spent the days around the pool, had dinner one night in the restaurant 1864 we had wonderful western and Sri Lankan food excellent service. Next night we headed down to the Cinnamon a Grand to the buffet as with only 1 restaurant open during renovation at the Galle face., this was only a 5 min walk. Hotel let us use the spa facilities after check out at noon to shower before our midnight flight home. Took a hotel organised taxi to airport for 3,500 rupees.. This hotel is a old worldly type hotel and very charmi with lots of character. Another interesting thing to do is walk along the beach front promenade to look at all the little booths at night selling their seafood.. We were not game enough to eat from them but they looked enticing.
Reviewed April 08, 2014

Alexander from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed one night in March 2014
Hotel under major renovation - very disappointed
Sunset drink, good restaurant , reasonably priced
Very poor because of rebuilding work had at least 50% of hotel and facilities closed. Should have been warned at time of booking by Agoda!
Reviewed April 01, 2014

MARK from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
the best way to spent the end of the holiday
room . swimming pool luxsery
apart of the fact that the menu in the room tell you of food and drink you can get in the hotel. and then when you try to order it the restaurant/bar by the pool they tell you it is not passable because it's on a different system, we loved it, and hope that they will finish the renovation of the two third of the hotel that was not used by the time we come back to stay again.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Heather from Australia
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Friendly, comfortable hotel with good facilities.
Terrace is on the ocean. Hotel has a strong sense of history. Staff extremely friendly.
Very enjoyable stay, despite the original half of the hotel being closed due to restoration.
Reviewed March 29, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: