2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1359 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1359 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Mike from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Charming hotel in great location
Location
A beautiful old building giving a taste of bygone days. One wing has been updated with the rest to follow shortly. Just as well, as our room has not been updated since the 1960s. In the meantime, clean and comfortable though. Sundowners on the terrace are a must (but they are for bus loads of tourists from other hotels though).
Reviewed March 03, 2013

Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Colonial Charm
A sense of history
The Galle Face Hotel gave us an insight into the British colonial era with all its strengths and weaknesses. The hotel is situated by the sea facing west and the wonderful sunsets are a feature of staying there. You can well imagine the British administrators and military staff enjoying their gin and tonics as they sat on the terraces overlooking the sea. A bygone era and a good job too but interesting as a historical record. The current staff are excellent and the service first-class as you would expect from a hotel with a high reputation and a cost to match. We particularly liked the public areas with many objects of interest and a record of the famous people who had stayed there. The rooms are large but the fittings have been left in their original condition ( to be authentic I suppose) but this meant many of them were the worse for wear e.g. The enamel in the bath was worn. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay there and if you want a touch of luxury combined with a sense of history, we can very much recommend you stay here
Reviewed March 03, 2013

Ian from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Iconic colonial grande Dame of Columbo,
The original features and size of the rooms
We enjoyed one night in the classic wing, but the rooms in the regency wing were better and overlooked the hotel garden. All staff were helpful and checked us in early after a long journey to Colombo. This hotel central and by the sea and has fantastic views and character unrivalled by other Colombo hotels. Kite flying on the galle face green was memorable and fun! Would love to go there again.
Reviewed March 03, 2013

Stephen from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Great character hotel on the ocean
Hotel location
We visited as part of a group for the cricket world cup and the hotel was a great base for that. There is a lovely bar area close to the ocean which provides great breezes. The hotel has bags of character and staff were friendly and provided great help in organizing transport and agendas. Only let down was the food, which at times was poorly cooked.
Reviewed March 02, 2013

Natalie from Australia
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Massive Room but very tired decor
Location
We booked a triple room which was enormous and easily fitted the four of us. We were quite disappointed by the decor which was very dated. However the location was great and drinks on the lawn and the seaside pool where great. I have heard the newer wing is better I would not recommend this hotel to friends.
Reviewed March 02, 2013

Laetitia from France
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Good hotel with good service
Breakfast area
We had huge rooms in the classic wing. But need urgently to be refreshed and some maintenance. Efficient and smiling staff
Reviewed March 02, 2013

anne-monique from France
Business traveler
Stayed 6 nights in February 2013
Historical sea front landmark hotel
You sit peacefully in a piece of history
Marvellous location Great pool Wonderful service Great breakfast and attention to detail Fast response to clients' requests
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Rathy from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Lovely hotel with great location
views from the verandah and pool
convenient location and great for relaxing and galle face and dutch hospital restaurant precinct.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

JAMES from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Lovely hotel but overpriced room
Situation on the beach. Old colonial atmosphere.
Lovely location but cool reception. Spacious room but overpriced as it had no view whatsoever. Travel desk very unhelpful. Only interested in hiring expensive cars out to tourists. Good service in bars and restaurants.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ralph from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
A great escape from the city
The courtyard garden restaurant.
We were promised a hotel with a faded colonial grandeur. In some ways we were disappointed. Our room had a view of the sea and Galle Face Green which was good, and was the biggest hotel room we've ever stayed in. But, it was very basic, and badly laid out so it really felt too big. The staff were fine, and the room was clean and neat, just didn't seem to have much charm. However, the courtyard is superb. Colombo is not the most welcoming city, and it's great to escape it all to gaze out at the Indian Ocean with a cocktail. Breakfast was good too.
Reviewed February 23, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: