Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 258 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.8
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 6.4
  • Food and dining 6.7
Sort by

Katy from United Kingdom
Couples
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in April 2011
Vey bad experience
proximity to the train station
this was the most expensive of all the hotels we stayed in while visiting sri lanka and was unfortunately the worst. the staff were unpleasant- very unwelcoming. room was small with no towels or hot water- when the staff were informed of this nothing was done. i would not recommend this hotel.
Reviewed May 02, 2011

Andrew from United Kingdom
Couples
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in April 2011
Filthy rooms behind a 'Grand' reception area.
The best thing was leaving!
The Receotion area looked promising. As we were taken up to the 3rd floor our hearts started to sink. Views from windows showed squalor. The room we had was filthy, smelly and noisy. It was almost impossible to use the toilet due to lack of space - if you dared to use it.The floor was greasy and thick with dirt. Windows, walls, shower, furnishings, the same. We could hear everything happening in the room next door through and air vent on the ceiling.When we going to bed I found that my sheets were crumpled, had hairs on, and hadn't been changed.I removed the sheets to find a mattress which defies description. I dressed and went to reception and we were moved to a different room which was marginally better in that the sheets were clean, the bathroom a little bigger and quiet but it was far from clean. The hotel claims to be one of the oldest in Colombo - I don't think it has been cleaned properly since it was built.
Reviewed May 01, 2011

Thomas from Ireland
Families with older children
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 2 nights in April 2011
Basic Hotel in ok location
Near Street Markets
Dishes left in the corridors for 2 days; not impressed.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Aji from India
Business travelers
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in April 2011
Poor service
Hotel is located in port area
it is not a good hotel .Rooms are smaal and old ,
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Sanjiv from India
Solo travelers
Deluxe
Stayed one night in March 2011
Great Location
Friendly staff
Nice cosy property,rooms are well done & all things function well. Friendly staff. Rooms price should include breakfast.
Reviewed April 08, 2011

Con from Australia
Families with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in March 2011
Very good hotel with staff that tried hard
The hotel is very quaint, tall ceilings in the room and quite comfortable, very clean and had a great view of the container harbour
Overall very comfortable hotel with staff that tried hard to provide good service. The staff were all friendly and spoke English very well.
Reviewed April 01, 2011

Shamundiswari from Singapore
Solo travelers
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in March 2011
Nice hotel and service with a smile
Comfortable rooms
Centrally located, the hotel is close to the City Centre, making it easy for tourists to get around. Rooms where spacious and comfortable, although there where some minor issues i.e: thin walls allow you to overhear your neighbours and water presure in the shower is weak. For the price, it was quite surprising that breakfast wasn't included as well. Internet connection in the business centre was also lagging.We had to frequently request front desk staff to assist.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

MOHAMED from Singapore
Business travelers
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 6 nights in February 2011
Good location but the aircon need to be change
The view was nice
The room aircon need to be change its like the olden days type
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Frederico from Portugal
Business travelers
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in March 2011
The hotel is big, the rooms are ugly and old
The hotel has a large historical component
The hotel is a historic building is very big, the rooms are ugly and old.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Alistair from India
Couples
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in March 2011
good service and lovely rooms
period furniture design, large rooms
The rooms are nice and spacious. Room service and house keeping were prompt. The staff was gracious. Early mornings they were a bit sleepy. The hotel is close to the various shopping and siteseeing locations. Most places were within a radius of 3 kms. You can have nice walks along the ocean face which is very near to the hotel. The deluxe rooms don't give a direct view of he ocean like the restaurant or suites but the view is decent.
Reviewed March 08, 2011


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: