Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 259 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.8
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 6.3
  • Food and dining 6.7
Sort by

Jamal from Singapore
Couples
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in August 2012
stay away at all costs!
It's a historic hotel.
The lobby certainly looked grand, so I thought it might be ok. I was wrong. They charge about $3USD per hour for Internet when other hotels are giving away free. No pool. The window wall in my room on the 3rd floor was moldy green in some places. The sheets are cheap polyester, the mattress thin and pillows hardly filled with stuffing. The toilet is typically budget hotel but much grimier and dirtier. Breakfast is a pathetic spread that never gets replenished, so if you stay here, come early. If there is one place among the many hotels I have ever stayed in, this one has the distinction of being the worst. There are budget hotels, one star, no star hotels, backpacker motels that give better value than this hotel. My wife and I moved to a different hotel after spending one day at Grand Oriental.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Timothy from Australia
Couples
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
beautiful grand old hotel
enormous rooms
This is such a gorgeous, old hotel! The rooms are huge, with a four poster bed and enough room to play football! The hotel is quite old and probably in need of a bit of a touch up - new paint and new furniture would go a long way. We're not fussy, so this didn't bother us at all. For the price and location, i doubt you could do much better. The staff were very helpful, although there were a few small problems with the language barrier. All in all, i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is fairly relaxed about things. If you want a clean, new style of hotel, this isn't for you.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

David from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Close to fort station, otherwise very poor
Firm bed, wireless in room (password sent by text)
room was small which i didn't mind. bathroom was very tired and not very clean. the room faced onto what seemed an industrial complex. the noise of moving vehicles, what sounded like rubbish being collected went on to the early hours of the morining. one of the noisiest rooms i have ever stayed in. way over priced for the room. i only stayed here as i had an early train to catch. given i got no sleep i may have as well just slept in the station!
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Shane from Australia
Business travelers
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012
Old Bristish Navy Type in 1857
Near the Container Yard /Harbour
It is very attractive old British designed Navy hotel and in the past it is in a harbor. But,at present, it is the area of police head quarter and with container yard development.When the time i booked the room and i requested to face the harbor and it was a big mistake. It is because the container yard is operating 24 hours and the noise of the container trailer is running pass the hotel from time to time that make me hardly sleep. The function rooms is commonly rented for the India wedding reception.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Cian from Australia
Couples
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
nice rooms, good location
room was clean, decent sized, food in restaurant was good, service is basic
best thing about this hotel if the upper level restaurant with views over the harbour, food was pretty good. rooms were neat and clean, if a little tired. as allways wifi is too expensive
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Philippe from Cote D'ivoire
Business travelers
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 10 nights in January 2012
Great Location near the harbour and central town
Large rooms, good staff but old construction
Good place for business, near all main government offices, banks, safe near central police center and staff are helpfull, large rooms .the only problem is that all the rooms are not having the same cleanless
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Sheryl from Australia
Couples
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Close to city, food excellent
lots of heritage attached to this grand old hotel. large rooms by hotel standards and you can upgrade to one of their two suites. there is no swimming pool and the airconditioning in our room was old and noisy. beds are hard and so are the pillows. bathroom is outdated, but we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. staff are very accommodating and the restaurant food in both dining rooms was wonderful and reasonably priced.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

david from United Kingdom
Groups
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
great hotel great staff
the hotel staff were brilliant made my stay
clean and tidy the food at the hotel was spot on the waiters andthe reseption staff were brilliant only there for 3 nights but will go back again no problem!!!keep rocking grand oriental loved you dave basildon essex
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Robert from Australia
Couples
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Has been a lovely hotel, good view from restaurant
central location in Colombo, helpful staff
This hotel is a bit like Cargills store, a has been. Redeeming features are few as it needs a major facelift. Also, staff from restaurant talking at high volume at 6.45 a.m. with friend in room opposite ours so the whole corridor of rooms would have heard this noise
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Willie from Ireland
Solo travelers
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Good standard service
Fairly central with some very interesting buildings near by.
I enjoyed the room which is quite spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The only negative was that sometimes the staff presumed they knew what I wanted but didn't. Not sure if this had to do with their training or their level of English.
Reviewed April 10, 2012


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: