Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 257 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.8
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 6.3
  • Food and dining 6.7
Sort by

kathinka from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in March 2012
Good location but over prised
The advantages of this hotel is its location and its different facilities in and around the hotel
I had problems with the AC, the room was not very clean and there is no good room service and in general I found the hotel not worth the amount I had to pay. The nice thing however was that as I had to leave very early next day the breakfast was packed for me and ready for me to take along.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stuart from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Good location but in need of a refurb
Central location with nice restaurant overlooking Colombo harbour
middle of the range hotel in need of update , clean rooms and comfortable beds , ideal for a few days stop-over in colombo . friendly helpful staff , nice restaurant on fourth floor overlooking harbour .
Reviewed February 22, 2012

david from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in February 2012
rooms very poor.badly lit.to expensive.
none
the most over priced hotel i ever stayed at. the staff seem to want to extract all of your cast. if you have a complaint they all of a sudden cant understand you.
Reviewed February 08, 2012

Tony from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in January 2012
Colonial Style Hotel that has seen better days.
Location - right next to the harbour
colonial style hotel that has seen better days - but still a pleasant option at these prices. being next to the harbour you get great views of the port and i would recommend having a beer overlooking the harbour. dining is quite expensive - even though the food looks good. the blue leopard 'night club' is an experince and like most of the hotel frequented by indian business men.
Reviewed February 01, 2012

miaobo from China
Couple
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in January 2012
quiet beach wonderful buffet
buffet is really good
we did not know that there are two beaches in pattaya and this one is the comparely quiet one. this hotel is at the end of the quiet beach which is really far away from the entertainment area, if you like quiet this one is good for you, if you don't find a hotel on pattaya beach!
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Cecile from France
Solo traveler
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Very old hotel... too expensive
Well situated
It must have been a nice hotel in the past but is now falling appart: there were a hole in the bath, the A/C is very noisy, there were aunts in the room, the windows were so dirty I almost didn't get light from outside! And the worst part: You had to pay for Internet, even if the room are already very expensive.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

David from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Suite
Stayed 4 nights in December 2011
A piece of colonil history
The history of the place, good view of docks, reasonable location
Liked the history of the place and the staff were very helpful but the hotel has seen better days and is now a little 'tired'.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

grehme from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
great period furniture
fantastic views of the port
i enjoyed my stay at the grand oriental hotel .the decor is fantastic with lovely paintings and beautiful period furniture.the room was very spacious and clean.the meals were very tasty and the service was very good.room service was prompt and very friendly.the travel desk was helpfull and changing money was no problem.i would highly reccommend a stay at this delightful old hotel.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Shriya from Australia
Group
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in December 2011
Nice hotel with spacious rooms.
Big rooms, clean bathrooms, friendly service.
my friend and i had a pleasant stay at the hotel. it is close to many of the other big hotels in colombo and is walking distance from galle face green. there are lots of foreign exchange dealers closeby. hotel could do with a renovation.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Chih from Afghanistan
Couple
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed one night in December 2011
Hotel with history
Famous brand
The hotel was once the best in Colombo 100years ago. I will never stay in this hotel if I have a chance to visit Colombo again as the room was really too old. Only hot water was available in my room. I was free upgraded to a delux room but still was not attracted - sorry
Reviewed January 10, 2012


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: