Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 259 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 7.6
  • Room comfort and quality 6.8
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for money 6.3
  • Food and dining 6.7
Sort by

Chih from Afghanistan
Couple
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Hotel with history
Famous brand
The hotel was once the best in Colombo 100years ago. I will never stay in this hotel if I have a chance to visit Colombo again as the room was really too old. Only hot water was available in my room. I was free upgraded to a delux room but still was not attracted - sorry
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Lim from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
hertiage lovely hotel with big room
heritage design
stay in master bed room, support big room with a old fasion bed. the pillion is soft & bed is just hard enough for a good sleep. location at centre location, convenience to walk to beach & other historical building. resturant at top have view to the port, but only container port not the city or beach view
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Natalia from Belarus
Group
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Nice hotel, but dark rooms
Historical place, good location, but not very cozy
It a confusion at the very beginning as the hotel didn't get our Agoda reservation confirmation. But everything was resolved, personnel is pretty helpful, location is good, but not the best one in the city. I think that the hotel can be more cozy and some renovation is advisable. Aircon was very noisy, so we were not able to use it at night.
Reviewed January 09, 2012

jocelyne from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2011
Dirty and very tired
Large rooms
Old colonial style hotel, couldn't wait to get out of thete
Reviewed January 04, 2012

suresh from India
Couple
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
worst experience
ancient memory
overall experience with the hotel is far below my expectations .Room service was pathatic I will never stay in this hotel anymore nor reccomend to evem my enemy.
Reviewed December 08, 2011

Florian from Germany
Couple
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
Old hotel, renovation recommended
Good location
we stayed in goh for one night and for this it was ok. the rooms are huge, but amenities are sparse. we had a standard room, which had a nice old charm to it, but mainly because it was old and in need of renovation. bathrooms are very small. internet is not for free. the check-out procedure was pretty annoying as you have to go to two counters to get your bill and then the cashier to pay. as there is only one cashier we always had to wait.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

EDLIN from Philippines
Group
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
very nice hotel
location, food, and friendly staff
we had a pleasant stay, the staff are very friendly and warm, the room with antique fixtures are very spacious and clean. We enjoyed the buffet lunch at Lanka restaurant and the very fabulous italian buffet dinner at the harbour restaurant with a very beautiful view of the colombo port. shopping is nearby and sites, too.
Reviewed November 08, 2011

John from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2011
A grand old hotel with great staff
professional staff, large rooms, where everything works, comfortable beds,and good restaurents
It was my birthday and my son had called from Australia to make some surprise arrangements which were carried out with care and attention to detail.
Reviewed November 03, 2011

TALAAT from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in August 2011
Good location and clean comfortable rooms
Location in city center. Nice clean rooms
The hotel overall is good in cleaniness. Room service is a bit slow. Food is not the best but that is common in most resuarats and hotels. Room service staff were very friendly. Some of reception staff were a bit indifferent, others had trouble with English. The price is a bit higher than what it actually deserves.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

ABDULTIF from Kuwait
Group
Standard Room - Breakfast included
Stayed 3 nights in September 2011
no comments
nothing
Reviewed October 02, 2011


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: