Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 225 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.0
  • Location 5.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 6.6
  • Value for money 6.7
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

Robert from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Simple old-style hotel with welcoming atmosphere
Quiet and convenient location (not too far from airport0
I arrived quite late from Bangkok and check-in was quick and welcoming. The hotel atmosphere is very relaxing. The only negative aspect is that it is not close to the City Centre (but it is good for the airport). There is also free Wi-Fi in the rooms. I think this is a very good place to stay when first arriving in Colombo and it is a conenient starting point for trips to Kandy and other places inland.Rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious. Good value.
Reviewed November 25, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Chandrakala from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed one night in November 2012
Nice Experience
Good Service
A good spot to cover Colombo and start the journey to discover Sri Lanka through ..suitable for business or personal vacation trips. Friendly staff, good food, good access, and facilities.
Reviewed November 15, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Swastika from South Africa
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in October 2012
Lovely hotel
cleanliness
good service, clean hotel, enjoyed my stay there, i would definitely stay there again when i visit India. I would recommend this hotel.
Reviewed October 15, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Richard from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 6 nights in October 2012
Go for the Deluxe room
Pool is great! The staff are also brilliant.
Not the greatest location but the deluxe room was luxurious and the pool is great. Didn't eat at the Hotel but other guests said the food was fine. I would highly recommend the Hotel.
Reviewed October 11, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Karan from India
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Good hotel.
Nice restaurant and swimming pool
The stay at the hotel was comfortable. The restaurant was very nice. The staff was fine. We asked for few extra towels which were not given to us, even after telling that we will provide security for the same. This act was pretty cheap considering the star rating of this hotel. Overall, fine experience.
Reviewed October 10, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed one night in October 2012
Photo's pf hotel are very deceiving
Can't think of any
Checked in then checked out 5 minutes later! When we arrive we were told to wait for the room I overheard the staff speaking and it was because they had given our room to someone else and had asked other guests to move rooms. There was no warm welcome when arriving, the staff were hanging around doing nothing and laughing. Made us feel very awkward. The rooms were not nice, bathrooms very small and dirty. Hall ways were shabby and was not the standard i was expecting from looking at there photos. Staff werent very helpful. Do not stay here if you are expecting a nice hotel, would suit budget travelers just doesnt have the budget price.
Reviewed October 09, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Mohamed from Maldives
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
Helpful staffs and spacious room
Spacious room, cozy pool, very helpful staffs
Location: 40min away from the airport by taxi. Recommend to take budget taxi (metered one) When we arrived airport and we just took a taxi from the Airwing (there are few taxi counters at Airport) they quoted us 3000 rp, but when we departed we asked reception to arrange a budget Taxi we paid only 1500 rp. This hotel is not located in the Colombo city, but not too far from the city. Anyway you can't Travel on foot even you stay in the city, so it's okay to stay. Also hotel is on the Kandy road and just 100km away from Kandy, you can visit Kandy as a day Trip. Room: we stayed in the delux room which was very spacious, but bit dark. Wish there would be more Lights. Bathroom: clean. water pressure was not that strong, but ok to take shower. F&B: Breakfast buffet doesn't have variety of sellections, but not that bad when we consider the room rate. We had lunch once at Tulip restaurant (we saw many good comments from the review), it was not upto our satisfaction. Some food are not available even. Room service took about 20min and the portion of 1 fried rice was huge. We two couldnt finish half even. Internet: complementary wifi from the public area (i.e lobby, pool, restaiurant) with quite good speed. But not in the room. Staffs: actually we saw many negative comments about staffs, but they mostly speak good English and They try to assist what guest needs. Especially reception staffs helped us a lot. Tip: we used hotel car to go some places, but they charge more than outside taxi. You better ask reception to arrange a budget taxi. Or you can take a took took if you are okay with dust and smoke.
Reviewed October 08, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Samuel from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
Useful location and helpful / friendly staff
Price was competitive, location was handy, air -con was nice and cold, staff were helpful and breakfast was adequate.
My partner and I were drawn to this hotel because of in room WiFi availability, swimming pool and its competitive pricing. During our stay the only good point turned out to be the friendly and helpful staff. WiFi signal in our room kept dropping out (or no signal at all), our bathroom could have been cleaned better and shower did not drain properly during use, (would stand ankle deep in water during shower)room wardrobe door was falling off its hinge, were not allowed hard liquor at poolside and to use the spa incurred an additional fee, for afternoon tea we were unable to purchase a slice of cake but had to purchase the entire cake. This was the final leg of our 10 day Sri Lankan adventure and we just wanted to treat ourselves to a nice place as opposed to a simple guest house. Turned out the previous guest house in Kandy in which we paid RS 3500 per night was of better value.
Reviewed October 05, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Sunita from India
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Below expectation
Food is good
fake promises and under-deliver. internet is a part of facilities mentioned but in reality there is no internet access. Room FLOOR very dirty. Staff way far from the word " hospitality ".
Reviewed September 28, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

CHI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Well equiped hotel
Near Colombo
It's located in the main road, lots of small shops around it and easily accessible transport like bus or tuk tuk, hotel staffs are nice and helpful, bed is comfortable, a large swimming pool and a medium size gym room (but electricity occasional interrupted)
Reviewed September 23, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: