2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 931 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 931 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4
Sort by

Habib from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
party on the beach
Building , Food and private beach
I really enjoyed my stay in mount lavinia hotel , I m food lover and food served in hotel is delicious. Friendly staff who take care of u.
Reviewed April 23, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

ling from China
Couple
Ocean View
Stayed one night in April 2015
good
old
Reviewed April 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

David from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Old charm but showing its age
the breakfasts, the staff, the ambience
Very pleasant stay but the hotel shows its age - the bedroom lighting was quite dime by modern standards, and difficult to read at night. The bathrooms fittings show their age by way of the scratched and chipped bath tub, noisy exhaust fan, and fixed shower head that could not be turned or height adjusted. Wooden parquet flooring in passageways make for a lot of noise when luggage trolleys are wheeled up and down, and the room doors are not very well sound insulated so one can gear everything happening in the corridor outside! Not quite a 5-Star hotel, but a good 4-Star hotel by international standards. Cannot match the 5-Star standard of other more modern hotels in Colombo.
Reviewed April 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Dilshan from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed one night in April 2015
Poor customer service with mangers
Pool area view
I go once a week. Did booking with last week first time with u all not anymore this hotel Manager handling issues not professional
Reviewed April 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Dennis from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Some of it facilities not up to date
Sea view, pool and front view of hotel
Reviewed April 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

colin from Australia
Solo traveler
Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Great beach stay
Good location good food great ambience
My third stay and as always it feels like a home away from home
Reviewed April 05, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Claire from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Ocean View
Stayed one night in March 2015
lovely old hotel impersonal service
location, sea views, lovely old characterful building
I stayed one night. My room was well appointed but very damp presumably from the sea air. The hotel was busy, but I felt the service really lacked the personal touch and was brusque, especially the front desk. Nobody asked whether I had enjoyed my stay, and I was not made to feel like a valued customer, just a number. This was the first time I had felt this in a month long stay in Sri Lanka. The dining experience was similar, the service felt tired and in need of an overhaul. I guess that because of the hotel's location and long standing reputation, they get bookings without effort. For me it was the service that was not five star. A shame because it could be so different, and the building deserves more.
Reviewed April 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Prem from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015
Excellent
Service. Food. Clean
Very pleasent
Reviewed March 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

gordon from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed one night in March 2015
The hotel deserves a little TLC.
The hotel is in a great location has real colonial charm and comfortable
The hotel is in need of some modernization and refurbishment. Although relatively clean the bathrooms feels dated and some of the fittings and plumbing are not working properly. It deserves some slight modern twist on the colonial atmosphere and glamour. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food offer was good and well priced generally.
Reviewed March 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

susan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Last two nights of Luxury
Breakfast was brilliant/ Loved Seafood on Beach/ Excellent Staff
Downside was building work that woke us up at 8am Also there was confusion about one person staying when I booked for two
Reviewed March 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: