2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 932 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 932 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 8.4
Sort by

Philippa from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Most stunning vue from our balcony
Lovely hotel, food and view were both outstanding, rooms are quite dated but clean. The rest of the hotel is beautiful example of colonial style.
Reviewed April 17, 2016

Ole from Denmark
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
Service degrading
Hotel is surviving on reputation rather on actual performance. Service personel and waiters are often confused and need more management attention. According to street rumors the reason might be that the personel don't get their fair share of the service charges !
Reviewed March 26, 2016

sourav from India
Family with young children
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Fantastic Location and great breakfast
Room was nice with a view view of the sea. Breakfast spread is really great. It has a private beach access and a great seafood restaurant on the beach. Only one complaint, our room was not ready even at 4pm, when the check in time is 2pm.
Reviewed March 12, 2016

PAULINE from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Superb
location, pool, food
The most beautiful colonial hotel with high standards, stunning and beautiful location, staff superb, food astonishing in its diversity, wi fi brilliant, rooms so comfy, staff helpful and attentive,historically wonderful. One downfall was minibar/fridge, which was unsuitable for a deluxe room and stopped working, but was mended within 4 mins of informing staff it did not work. For its age it ran like a smooth new vessel, butas being built 1806 it was aging beautifully, just remember it is not a new 5 star but deserves every star. 2 beaches, one beach with fish market and restaurant, beautifully romantic , both beautiful gorgeous pool, terrace bar pool area bar and dining area, morning afternoon and evening every area was just a joy being there.
Reviewed March 09, 2016

Roy from Norway
Group
Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Good
Beach, Pool, food
Good
Reviewed March 09, 2016

John from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
Reliving colonial history
Architectural beauty, beautiful site, colonial charm
I had a wonderful stay at the Mount Lavinia Hotel.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Zabarie from Malaysia
Couple
Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Near to Train Station
Great Staff
100m next to Mount Lavinia train station. Great staff performance and nice ocean view.
Reviewed January 18, 2016

Amy from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
Old rooms in serious need of renovation
Pool, beach, facilities
Mount Lavinia Hotel was our final few days after a month long trip in Sri Lanka. Given the ratings, I was expecting 5 star luxury. Upon arriving at the hotel, the exterior and internal public areas and lovely and as you would expect. The staff are dressed in uniforms with a colonial feel, and the hotel seemed amazing. However once we were shown to our room, I was seriously disappointed. Our room was old, with cracks in the walls, a musky smell,
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Geeta from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Pricey and overrated
Buffet
I ordered a Deluxe room with ocean view and bath tub. The first room I was given, I could barely see the ocean and there was no bath tub. I could see a couple of mosquitoes in the room. I requested a changed and was given a room that had a bath tub but had hairs in it. A guy came in to check the minibar then insisted he send someone to put oil on the door to the balcony as it was squeeky and wouldn't open well. Most of the staff were nice, but at the buffets they all seem stressed and I wasn't offered tea/coffee for about half an hour.
Reviewed December 21, 2015

HUSSAM from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe Direct Ocean View
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Ocean view.
Stuff performance, ocean view & food.
Rooms furniture need to be replace it was very old and looking bad toilet need a renovation.
Reviewed December 13, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: