Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 161 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Room comfort and quality 9.2
  • Service 9.2
  • Value for money 8.7
  • Food and dining 8.2
Sort by

pravin from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
enjoyable stay
excellent service and food
Reviewed February 15, 2016

Trevor from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
A Peaceful Retreat
Tamarind Hill is in a working Tea Estate and the Assistant Managers cottages have been converted to spacious, simply furnished rooms. The view is superb and breakfast is included. It is a couple of kms out of town but three wheelers are readily available if you don't have transport. The TH does not offer dinner but there are many dining options in Ella which will suit all tastes.
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Pace from United States
Family with older children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
A Sri Lankan gem just outside the city
1. Staff was so friendly and helpful. 2. Food. 3. Pool.
Our stay at the Tamarind Hill was great. The property is absolutely beautiful and very intimate with only about ten rooms. Though the hotel is not very close to the center of "town," we had a driver, which made transportation ok, and I'm sure the hotel would arrange for that if you ask. The pool was great; we went in the afternoon and there was nobody there! We had a nice large pool to swim laps in! The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They always asked about our day and we had a chance to converse with a couple of them about our trip and Sri Lanka. Shantha helped us at all of our meals, and he was especially helpful and kind. He is a very hard worker! The food was delicious and well-priced. We had the rice and curry every night, and you get so much delicious food without breaking the bank like you can at some other hotels of this caliber. Hotel serves all meals and staff is always available for anything you need. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. There is one suggestions: with the dengue fever problem in Sri Lanka, they should consider enclosing the shower area completely from the outside. We could close the windows but there were small openings above the windows where mosquitos could come in. It would be wise to also have a mosquito net for the extra single bed. Thank you for a great stay!
Reviewed January 31, 2016

GILBERT from France
Family with older children
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Nice Hiden place
Building, calm, remote
Very nice and relaxing stay in a historic building. nice staff. less than 10 mn away from Galle Fort
Reviewed December 25, 2015

MICHAEL from India
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Great hotel. Great colonial ambience.
Very relaxed, olde world feel. Great ambience. Good food very affordable
Reviewed September 24, 2015

Ye from China
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Hotel management are dishonest, that's it.
Hotel management are dishonest, that's it.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Jose from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
SLH Tamarind Hill with big service.
The place is just lovely to top that off the staff was trying very hard to please without expecting a tip or anything! Also loved the touch of animals roaming around the property!
Perfect! The hotel, staff and service was just perfect. If I had to complain about anything was to screen the bathroom to avoid Mosquitos coming in. And too much flies but the. These are something that I might be difficult to control.
Reviewed June 14, 2015

soon from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Staff services hospitable . Small touches
Hospitable . Small touches like the residence rabbits , monkey , periodic visit of peacocks give surprises , the spa need improvement may be s library etc
Relaxing
Reviewed May 07, 2015

Vinita from Canada
Family with older children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Food was not good at all. Location was not value
Not satisfactory
Reviewed April 10, 2015

Joan from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
A
Staff
Had a great time,staff very helpful and frienzdly
Reviewed March 30, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: