Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 144 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 8.5
  • Service 8.7
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food and dining 7.7
Sort by

Li from China
Group
Apartment Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
nice house, nice staff and food.
nice house, nice staff and food.
nice house, nice staff and food. but the beach is not as good as mirissa, not many people on the beach
Reviewed July 17, 2014

margaret from Ireland
Couple
Beach Cabana 1
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Loved the location. It is relaxation heaven
The beach, location ( next to Wijaya Beach Restaurant) and the quality of the cabanas
Very good and we will definitely go back there, Renate ( the owner ) went to great efforts to service us well. Ensure you inform her if you are a late arrival as it is a small premises and not open late. And we were there in "low season" - it would even be more fabulous Dec-April!
Reviewed July 02, 2014

Jatin from Canada
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
Excellent location and beautiful View
The View, The staff and the owner
It was a very pleasant surprise when the owner greeted us and showed us to the cabana. The view from the cabana was unbelievable and it was like staying right on the ocean. We then moved to Cabana no.1 which had even a better view and even though the seas were rough, there was a nice spot to safely enter the water. We checked out to go to Galle fort, but returned to Rockside again for another night and this time booked the Sea Side room B1 which had AC. The AC makes a big difference and it still had a beautiful view of the ocean. The breakfast was very nice and the owner lives right there and is extremely helpful for any kind of help required. A tuk tuk driver called Samba helps out whenever needed. Highly recommend this place.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Debra from New Zealand
Couple
Beach House A Sea View Apartment A1
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Very clean, big room.
Cleanliness and proximity to beach
We had an upstairs apartment which was very big and spotlessly clean. Fresh towels, and beach towels everyday. In Thalpe itself, there is no shopping/markets. However Unawatuna is about a 5 minute tuktuk ride away. Beach infront of the hotel is very calm, and resembles a man made pool due to the reef. Only down point was the train track runs very close to all the hotels along Thalpe beach.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Tariq from United Kingdom
Couple
Beach Cabana 3
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Beautiful, chilled, awesome!
The porch of the cabana looking across the Indian Ocean under the palms :)
Exactly what we wanted and more with our own private cabana, great service from friendly staff, peaceful environment at a great rate!
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Timothy from United States
Couple
Beach Cabana4
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Relaxation at its Finest
Location, Staff, Cold Beer
My wife and I have just returned from Sri Lanka and a highlight of our trip was the stay at Rockside Cabanas. We highly recommend reserving a bungalow-it'll cost more and there's no A/C, but listening to the waves lap against the shore, which is just a few short steps away was sublime. The beach fronts a rich area for marine wildlife, with corals abundant-we would wade in water waist deep and be surrounded by tiny, colorful fish while crabs scampered over the rocks; if you climb out to the big rock early in the morning/at twilight, you can see sea turtles coming in to feed. Galle Fort is a 20 minute tuk tuk ride away, with drivers located right outside the gate-both nights we stayed, we indulged in the history, view, shopping, and dining. One last comment-one day for lunch, we walked down the beach to the nearest restaurant and had a delicious meal, one of my favorite ever dishes (seafood pasta). Huge thumbs up for everything about Rockside Cabanas!
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Robert from Australia
Couple
Beach Cabana 3
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Quiet and secure felt very comfortable surrounding
Nice surrounding gardens peaceful right on the beach
The rooms were very clean and spacious the grounds were beautiful and it was a great place to unwind on our 2nd last day in Sri Lanker the beach was safe for swimming and surfing the food was very good as well
Reviewed April 07, 2014

Eija from Finland
Couple
Apartment Double Bed
Stayed 6 nights in February 2014
Good basic accomodation to sleep the nights
Clean, beach close, local staff
The owner treated guests like children - felt like she was keeping on eye on us (friendly way, but felt weird), checking the contents of our bags... She did not put efforts on customer satisfaction - it felt like we were just another job for her. Still we did not let her ruin our vacation feeling. The local staff was performing utmost friendly and deserve positive comments. The other food was lovely, but breakfast very basic. Lovely terrace to enjoy the meals. Very good money - quality ratio! The vicinity of railroad was not disturbing despite the whistles of train even during nights. We enjoyed the calmness and quiet. Still would not likely recommend to friends, because the lack of feeling being on a relaxed vacation atmosphere.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

nick from United Kingdom
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
Great location, friendly staff, great food,
Great location and setting right on the beach, delicious food, friendly and attentive staff
It was the perfect finish to our holiday, right on an amazing beach in a relaxed setting with nice rooms and the food was very good (there are also 2 other restaurants with good food just down the beach for variety)and very friendly staff and owner. We would highly recommend a stay
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Jack from United Kingdom
Couple
Apartment
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Mediocre
Nothing stood out
We arrived to be told quite abruptly that our booking had been cancelled. We queried this and the hotel director then realised she was wrong and was referring to another booking. A nice welcome. We were also told straight away that we'd have to check out at 11am. If this is the standard time, then it's earlier than everywhere else we stayed. If it isn't the norm, then also, far from impressive. The room was average, as was the location, the surroundings, the breakfast, everything really. Just nothing about this place stood out. The experience was completely forgettable and I wouldn't stay here again.
Reviewed February 10, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: