Very good 7.8
Based on 196 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 196 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 7.0
Sort by

Vicki-Ann from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Relaxing by the beach
right on the ocean's edge, great poolside
Rooms were very small, but the bathroom was a lovely size, if only I had somewhere to hang my wet bathers so that they would dry for another day's use, would've been really useful. Staff were fairly on the ball and address my queries promptly. With adjoining rooms to the teenage kids, it was good to keep an eye on them. At the time of booking we required a third room, but couldn't get one, to be told on the day that we had other relatives coming that they could accommodate us. In the end, we booked our relatives down the road to another resort, as they had promised us an available room, we didn't like the fact that there was no spare room when we were booking, and felt it wouldn't be fair to the other hotel to therefore book a third room with them. Apart from that they were quick to respond to insects that had gotten in over night. Although the general standard of the linen and bath towels smelt really horrible, they had blood stains on them (not from us at all) and this did dampen our experience. The location was fantastic, albeit smaller rooms, but they need to buy new linen and let go of the shabby feel once and for all.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

susanne from Sweden
Families with older children
Stayed 13 nights in December 2013
Fantastic
bed,saff,view
Fantastic, kindly,serviceminded staff,lovely food,lovely view,lovely beds, everyting was best! New year party att the hotell was outstanding I vill be back!!!
Reviewed January 13, 2014

fredoline from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed 1 night in December 2013
Nice Stay
Beach, the view and affordable
Reviewed January 09, 2014

Levanya from South Africa
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Good location, but hardly value for money
The resort is literally on the beach which was great. The Christmas Eve dinner was beautiful.
Apart from it's excellent location on the beach, we were quite disappointed with this hotel upon arrival. The entrance is right on the busy main road which makes it look very dingy. We booked a superior room that was on the side of the road, and was incredibly noisy. You will not get a good night's rest if you are in a room on this side of the hotel. The price we paid was far too much for this hotel as it is not well maintained. Below is what was wrong with our room : - Cupboards were dirty - All the fixtures in the bathroom and room were rusting and dirty. I tried to open my room door and the whole door handle fell off because it was rusted. - Our bathroom basin did not drain well. We had to run the tap very slowly for it to drain properly. - We rarely had hot water to shower with because many rooms share geysers. - Furniture in the lounge areas is dirty and needs to be replaced. What made our stay slightly better was the effort the staff put in to the Christmas Eve dinner. The spread was great and they organised an outside dance floor for the guests. The chef cooks really great food, but the menu is far from traditionally Sri Lankan, and a lot more expensive than local restaurants in the area. The breakfast spread was ok, not the greatest. Also, while the beach was great, there are tons of boats on the water in front of the hotel and there is a strong smell of diesel coming from them throughout the day. This makes relaxing by the pool very unpleasant. Overall, Coral Rock was avarage and not value for money. It could be a lot better if the rooms were better maintained and if the roadside rooms were soundproofed. I would not return here until this happens.
Reviewed January 08, 2014

Lei from China
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Ocean view large room with great services
Sea view room, beach pool with great sunset and breakfast
My boyfriend and I spend five nights at this hotel and had an amazing time over New year holiday. We had a super delux room with ocean view on the 1st floor. The room is spacious and well designed with sea view. Super clean and a very big bathroom. We enjoy the simple design but yet cozy style which makes us feel at home. The balcony was also very big right above the pool with such beautiful sea view although it's so close to the beach so sometimes we have to close the curtain as people could look into our room from the beach! The area is quite part of the beach where many boats parked but the quality of beach is still good. The hotel invited us to their New Year Eve Gala which was really well organised with an amazing international buffet. They have decorated the pool area amazingly and had a DJ for the night! Plus organised an amazing fireworks on the beach around mid night! Overall we have nothing but good thing to say about this hotel. Will definitely come back again!!!
Reviewed January 07, 2014

Ashley from United States
Couples
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Relaxing stay located on the beach
Breakfast, sea view, location
Clean room with a comfortable bed, located on the beach. Great buffet breakfast.
Reviewed January 06, 2014

Keerthie from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
It was a memorable expierience
Friendly staff
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Elmar from Germany
Groups
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
It was the best we had in Sri Lanka.
Friendliness of the staff, Cleanliness of the rooms.
It was really very ageable. Everything was very clean.
Reviewed December 06, 2013

Sampath from Sri Lanka
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Nice and friendly hotel directly at the sea
The room had a great view of the sea, staff were very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was good and reasonably priced
Our stay was great: with great view of the sea and direct access to the beach we frequently went for a swim in the sea. The hotel is just next to the Coral Sanctuary, which offers the great opportunity to see loads of different, colourful fish while snorkeling. The restaurant is nice: the breakfast was nice and diverse, for dinner it offered good value for money (in comparison to other restaurants in the city). The hotel has friendly staff, who were very helpful.
Reviewed December 01, 2013

vishwa from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Best stay in Sri Lanka
Staff, food. Location
Attentive friendly staff. Great welcome. Beautiful food. Will certainly visit next time in Sri Lanka.
Reviewed November 24, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: