Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 63 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.9
  • Service 9.1
  • Value for money 9.0
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Kai from Hong Kong
Groups
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
very good location
close to the beach, wonderful breakfast, comfy room
close the street, and you are in the beach. the breakfast provides good danish bread.
Reviewed February 08, 2014

Jaroslav from Czech Republic
Couples
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
all ok
good place
Reviewed February 02, 2014

Soenke from Germany
Groups
Standard Double Room
Stayed 6 nights in January 2014
Nice, clean place, very friendly staff
Staff, location, room quality
We enjoyed our 6-nights-stay: staff is superfriendly, rooms are good.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Jonathan from Australia
Solo travelers
Standard Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Clean and comfortable and good value
Room size, location, breakfast
The hotel is small (8 rooms), quite new and located just across the road from the beach and 2km from the station. My room was a good size with aircon and separate bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was very good. The hotel is on the busy main road but the rooms are at the back, so there's little traffic noise. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby if you want pizza or burgers but finding good, authentic Sri Lankan food in this surfing/partying town is a challenge.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Alyssa from Canada
Solo travelers
Standard Single Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Good location, friendly staff, clean room
Cleanliness, customer service, nice bathroom
Great stay. Nice room and new bathroom with hot water. I had AC in the room but I didn't need it. Breakfast was very good with eggs, tea/coffee, unlimited toast, and fruit. Staff were very friendly. Wifi was fast in the reception/restaurant area but slow in the room depending where your room is. There are nice chairs to relax on in front if your room. Very bright rooms with big windows. Room is very quiet and away from the busy road. I had paid less at another hotel in Hikkaduwa but you get why you pay for. I would recommend this hotel.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Suphachai from Thailand
Solo travelers
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2013
Centrally located, clean, budget hotel.
Clean, nice simple breakfast, close to beach.
Tandem guesthouse sure does live up to its reviews; simple budget room yet clean and comfortable. The guesthouse is only 30 seconds walk from Hikkaduwa beach. It's centrally located, close to nightlife spots and local restaurants, as well as easy access to tuk-tuks and public bus. The owner and staff were friendly and helpful, as you would expect almost anywhere in Sri Lanka. Breakfast is made fresh at the time you're seated. I couldn't ask for more the price I paid. Highly recommended for budget travelers.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Louise from United Kingdom
Couples
Standard Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Clean, friendly, very helpful, lovely people
Cheap price for very clean and chilled out room and very close to beach & restaurants.
The Tandem Guesthouse was a very nice place to stay. The staff were very friendly and ever so helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean, great bathroom, have air con. The only downside was the shower pressure.
Reviewed September 09, 2013

Matt from Australia
Couples
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
clean simple basic accommodation
clean simple basic accommodation
we stayed here for a night on our trip west from Tissa, it was fine but unremarkable, good for a night passing through
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Robert from Australia
Solo travelers
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
Nice
Staff, Location, Value
Fantastic place with great staff and a nice quiet location.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Laura from Canada
Couples
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
Very close to the beach
location, clean room, big room
Reviewed May 21, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: