Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 297 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.7
  • Service 7.5
  • Value for money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

ISMAIL from Oman
Business travelers
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Alalwi
Cleaning
Reviewed August 18, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

shayomie from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Standard
Stayed one night in February 2015
Nice Hotel.......
Room,location
We had a nice stay , with the kids it was too hectic to enjoy the Hotel...... Staff friendly,service was a bit slow.
Reviewed July 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Anna from Netherlands
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Long gone glory
Friendly staff, tastful diner, nice view
The appearence of this hotel is nice, with spacious clean rooms and a great view over Kandy and the surrounding hills, but in our opinion this hotel is largely overpriced and it lost its promised grandeur a long time ago. The staff is doing its best, but I had the feeling they are rather inexperienced. When we arrived our room smelled strongly after smoke and they suggested to get a spray to make it fresh. The a/c wasn't working and it took an hour before they understood it really was broken and they called a manager (?) who barely spoke English and 'repaired' the thing by opening the ventilation door with a long stick. After that it worked but we still couldn't set the temperature. We chose this hotel for, among others, the pool and the massage available; by arrival it turned out the pool was under construction and there was no masseuse. Breakfast was really expensive and not very tastful (only Sri Lankan coffee for example). The corridors are very noisy and because the badrooms have openings to the corridors, everything that happens in them is audiable in all the other rooms in that part of the hotel. People chatting and shouting, keys turning and doors opening and closing: it kept going until late in the night and it started early in the morning. Also noise from outside (road, trainstation) is audiable. Dinner in the hotel is expensive but the food is excellent. In short: if they would reduce the price this is a fine place to stay, if you don't mind noise in the rooms and things being broken or simply not available.
Reviewed July 17, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Jeganathan from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Good Stay !!
Food, Friendly Staff, Quick Service
Very pleasant staff. Good food.
Reviewed May 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Juliet from New Zealand
Couples
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015
Great Location
Views, Pool, Staff
From entering and receiving our welcome drink this hotel was great. Pool large with plenty of lounges. Buffet breakfast plenty of options. The view from our room and restaurant was overlooking Kandy. Bit of a steep driveway for walking but nothing too much for all the experienced tuk tuk drivers. Small gift shop open all hours!
Reviewed April 11, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Emma from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Standard
Stayed 7 nights in February 2015
Excellent hotel & lovely staff!
The staffs were so helpful & friendly. We were traveling with my 14 month old daughter & they were constantly there to help, suggest activities for us & cater for her diet.
Great stay, and good location. Staff were lovely & helpful. They were always able to help with suggestions for itineraries. Food was good but basic however it was made up for with their overall friendliness
Reviewed February 22, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Dammika from Sri Lanka
Business travelers
Standard
Stayed one night in February 2015
Comfortable Stay
Staff, Location, Price
Quick Check-In, Clean & Comfortable room, food was good and was served fast. Efficient and friendly staff.
Reviewed February 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Helene from France
Groups
Standard
Stayed one night in December 2014
Good hotel with nice swimming pool and view
Food, view, swimming pool
Nice hotel with a nice view on Kandy. We had a nice buffet dinner. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. It was just a bit noisy in the morning as our rooms were just below restaurant. We came by car, it might be a bit difficult to reach if by foot.
Reviewed January 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Chandana from Sri Lanka
Families with young children
Standard
Stayed one night in December 2014
Boring Stay
Nothing to sing about
Boring & uneventful
Reviewed December 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?

Alesya from Russia
Couples
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Hilltop is good to stay for a couple of days.
Excellent breakfast! Clean. Nice view from the room.
Reviewed December 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: