Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1106 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.4
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 7.1
Sort by

Chaturanga from Sri Lanka
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
No value for the money
Good location
Reviewed June 26, 2016

Menuka from Sri Lanka
Families with older children
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Great location
Great location ... Staff being very helpful
Reviewed June 08, 2016

hashimoto from Japan
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
front staff needs training more
had to wait for a long time without telling us a reason when we checked in. They didn't grasp our payment policy: We were already charged by Agoda but they charged us again to make sure of our payment...
Reviewed May 13, 2016

Louis from Canada
Business travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Nice Hotel but very old type. Rooms need major retrofit.
Nice Hotel but very old type. Rooms need major retrofit.
Reviewed May 05, 2016

Naithy from India
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Beautiful Colonial Property in the Heart of Kandy
Had a wonderful stay here, although we moved to the West Wing after 1 night due to the noise on the streets, and felt like we're in some old castle with winding stairways and old cracked mirrors which definitely lends this place a certain charm. The property is old and needs renovation, however, the rooms were big and spacious, good shower, aircon. Pool was well maintained with almost no one else around, offering a pleasant sanctuary surrounded by trees. Close to the main kandy attractions, however the only downside was very expensive travel quotes for cabs to places outside of Kandy - Sigiriya, Pollonaruwa and Dimbullah Temple, so would recommend asking somewhere else (we managed to find a driver who quoted us 1/3rd the price). Would recommend for its old world charm, big rooms, close to key attractions and the pool!
Reviewed May 04, 2016

Barbara from United States
Couples
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Enjoyable 170 year old hotel...and wood
It was as we expected. A feeling of yesteryear from the white cloth napkin dining room to the old Otis elevator to the old wood throughout. If you need your bed turned down or choc on your pillow, this may not be for you. We were looking to revisit a time in the Past and it was delightful, yet it had some modern comforts. Our room was a lot of beautiful wood, good A/C, windows that opened, small refrig that actually made ice. The breakfast (and dinner) buffet was ample and extensive. It is right in town and walkable to anywhere. One comment might concern the pricing. We booked online and stayed for 4 days (and this was over high demand New Years). It was so nice we decided to extend our visit. When checking with the desk we were given a price almost double, but would discount a little. When checking online at sites we found 4 different prices. That is 6 different prices for same day, same room, all higher than our original and more than we were willing to pay so we moved on. Lastly the pool was a nice addition after spending the day outside in high heat. It was clean, large, underused and towels provided.
Reviewed April 21, 2016

surendra from Sri Lanka
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
not bad
good stay and value for money ...good location ...nothing to complain about ......go for it ...
Reviewed April 19, 2016

Susan from Australia
Solo travelers
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great location if you don't mind traffic noise.
Stayed for 2 nights in twin room which had a view of the lake but unfortunately had noise from the traffic, which started fairly early in the morning. Also woken by the monks chanting from the Temple of the Tooth, but that was quite soothing. The room itself was quite charming if you like colonial style, but it did have all the creature comforts. The dining room didn't have much of an outlook but was still pleasantly charming and the buffet dinner and breakfast had a good selection. It was nice to have a pool, though the pool area could have done with a bit of an update, it was still pleasant enough and surprisingly quiet. The best feature of the Qeens is its location right in the centre of town , next to the Tooth Temple and across from the lake . We had dinner one night at the Suisse Hotel and that seemed slightly more attractive in the dining room, pool and bar area - don't know what the rooms are like, but the Queens location is better.
Reviewed April 08, 2016

michael from United Kingdom
Couples
Suite
Stayed 6 nights in March 2016
Will go else where next time
To start I had to pay $200 more than the agoda price, room was huge (suite) but had nothing in it , shower had no anti scald , either roasting hot or cold, room staff were efficient and friendly ,pool was ok but not well staffed part from the attendant for cleaning and towels, the hotel seems to cater more for the coach tours and passing trade other than regular guests, breakfast was decent enough but all other sittings were buffet more for the coach tours. The staff were friendly ,but some seem to lack in training to be more efficient in there duties to please guests. The hotel travel company was very good and well priced. The hotel does need a face lift ( upgrade) , guest are paying good money for poor surroundings. There plenty potential for this hotel with proper management guidance.
Reviewed April 04, 2016

lalith from Sri Lanka
Business travelers
Standard Double Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
bad experience
i was on a buinsess trip ac was out of order ..fan was making noice... staff never took a serious interest to help very unhappy
Reviewed March 15, 2016


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: